The best husky tour in Levi

View from a dog sled on a snowy forest track: a team of huskies running ahead between tall pines towards a low winter sun

Illustration photo: a husky team on a forest trail, not from one of the kennels compared here.

The short answer

Book the kennel that fits how you are travelling, not the one with the best photographs. Without a car, pick a tour that fetches you from the village, because some Levi kennels are outside the village and leave the drive to you. If you want a real run rather than a taster, book a longer trail directly with the operator. If you have no winter gear, book one that lends it, since some do not. Whatever you choose, you drive the sled yourself on all four.

How the operators compare

Prices are the operators' own published starting prices as of the date this guide was updated, and they change through the season.

Levisafari & co: 5 kmKeo Wilderness: 5 kmArctic Circle Snowmobile Park: 7 kmLapland Safaris: 10 km
Price €150 – the lowest price per person €150 – the lowest price per person €199 €247
Trail 5 km 5 km 7 km 10 km
Length of the tour 1.5 h 2 h 3 h 2 h 30 min
Transfer from Levi Not included Included Included Not stated
Winter clothing Bring your own Not stated Included Not stated
Group limit 8 Not stated Not stated Not stated
Age or weight rule on the listing Not for under 1s or over 140 kg Not for under 4s, over 70s or over 95 kg Not stated Child fare 4–14, adult from 15

Highlighted figures are the best in that row: the lowest price per person. All four listings price per person, so the price row compares like with like. Only price is marked: a longer trail is not better for everyone, and a transfer is only worth paying for if you have no car.

Where these figures come from
  • Levisafari & co: 5 km: A kennel with a published cap of eight, the tightest group of the four, at the joint-lowest price. The catch is that the kennel is at an address in Kittilä rather than in Levi, and you make your own way there, in your own winter clothes.
  • Keo Wilderness: 5 km: The same distance and the same price as Levisafari, with the drive from the village included, which makes it the better value for anyone without a car. It is also the only one of the four to publish an upper age limit, and its weight limit is the lowest any of them prints.
  • Arctic Circle Snowmobile Park: 7 km: The most complete ticket here: pick-up from set points in Levi and winter clothing are both included, and the trail is longer than the two five-kilometre runs. Two people share each sled, and the listing does not say how the driving is split between them.
  • Lapland Safaris: 10 km: The longest trail of the four and the dearest ticket, sold from the operator's own shop rather than a marketplace. Its product page says less than the others about what is included, so ask about the transfer and clothing before paying.

Levi has more husky kennels than a visitor can compare in an evening, and their listings are written to look alike. Underneath, they differ on four things that change the day: how far the trail goes, whether someone drives you to the kennel, whether you are lent winter clothing, and who is allowed on the sled. The table sets those out for four tours. What follows is which one to book for which kind of trip.

Every figure comes from the listing or the operator’s own page, read on the date shown under the table. “Not stated” means the page does not say.

If you have no car

Keo Wilderness. Its five-kilometre run costs exactly what Levisafari & co charges for the same distance, and the difference is that Keo collects you from the village and brings you back. Levisafari’s kennel is on Kurjennivantie in Kittilä, and the listing leaves the journey to you, which is easy with a hire car and a taxi ride without one.

The Arctic Circle Snowmobile Park tour also includes the pick-up, from a set of points in Levi rather than a single one. Check the list at booking against where you are staying.

If you have no proper winter clothing

The Arctic Circle Snowmobile Park tour, because it is the only one of the four whose listing includes winter clothing. Levisafari & co asks you to bring snow clothing and warm layers yourself. For a visitor who packed for a city break and planned to hire in the resort, that is one more errand before an early start. The other two listings do not say either way, and that is worth one question by email before you book.

If you want a real run rather than a taster

The ten-kilometre safari from Lapland Safaris, booked on the operator’s own site. It is twice the distance of the five-kilometre runs for well under twice the price, and the extra kilometres make it a run rather than a sample. If ten is still not enough, Polar Lights Tours sells a fifteen-kilometre self-drive safari from its family farm; it appears in the list of tours below the table rather than in it, because its price puts it in a different conversation from the other four.

If you want the smallest group

Levisafari & co is the only one of the four that puts a number on its group: eight. Keo, the Snowmobile Park and Lapland Safaris publish no cap at all. That does not mean their groups are large, only that you cannot know before paying. If the size of the group is what decides it for you, ask each operator for the largest group on your departure and treat a precise answer as the good sign.

If the budget is tight

A five-kilometre run at €150 is the cheapest proper ride here, and it is the same price at two kennels, so choose between them on the transfer rather than the ticket. Levisafari & co also sells a two-kilometre run for noticeably less. Two kilometres is a few minutes on the runners; it is a fair first taste for someone unsure about sledding, and a poor buy for someone who already knows they love it.

What this page does not do

It does not describe the kennels themselves, or explain why some Levi teams are pure-bred Siberians when almost every other team in Lapland is Alaskan huskies. That is the subject of who runs the husky kennels in Levi. For what three numbers decide whether any husky tour is worth its price, the Rovaniemi husky safari guide sets out the reasoning, and it applies unchanged here. Everything else Levi offers is on the Levi destination page.

What each run costs per kilometre of trail, and what four people pay, is worked out in husky safari prices in Levi.

Which ride takes a child of which age, and whether a parent has to drive the dogs, is set out in husky safaris in Levi for families.

Tours you can book

Questions people ask

What happens if we cancel?

On the two GetYourGuide listings we read in full, Levisafari & co and Keo Wilderness, the terms shown were the platform's standard ones: free cancellation up to 24 hours before the start, with a full refund. Lapland Safaris sells from its own shop, and its product page keeps its cancellation policy behind a tab we did not open, because that would have meant choosing a departure. If your dates may move, read the terms on the booking page itself before you pay rather than relying on this summary.

Is there a weight or age limit at the top end?

Yes, and the limits are not the same everywhere. Keo Wilderness lists its five-kilometre run as unsuitable for people over 95 kg and for people over 70, while Levisafari & co draws its line at 140 kg and sets no upper age on the listing. Neither listing explains its limit. If anyone in your group is close to one of them, ask the kennel directly before you book.

Can we see reindeer on the same trip?

Several Levi operators sell a combined husky and reindeer ticket, and Keo Wilderness mentions reindeer near its trail on the plain husky listing too. Those combined tours are not compared on this page, because putting a two-animal morning in the same table as a husky run would make every row misleading. Treat them as their own purchase: check how long you actually spend with each animal, since a combination ticket usually shortens both halves rather than adding them together.

Written by

Lapland Handbook Staff

Lapland Handbook is written by its editorial staff in Rovaniemi. Every price, age limit and group size in a comparison is read from the operator's own page and marked "Not stated" when the operator does not publish it. Each guide names who should not book, and names the operator that suits each kind of group, whichever it is.

More about Lapland Handbook →