Snowmobile safari in Sodankylä: which trip to book

A rider in a helmet on a snowmobile throwing up spray on a snowy slope, with tall spruces behind

Illustration photo: a snowmobile on a snowy slope, not from one of the trips compared here.

The short answer

For a first time with family or friends, book the private safari: your group alone, two to a machine, suits and helmets lent. If you want something to do when you get there, the ice fishing trip is the cheapest and most relaxed. If you have ridden before and want distance, book the 90-kilometre trip, one machine each, and bring a driving licence for every rider.

How the operators compare

Prices are the operators' own published starting prices as of the date this guide was updated, and they change through the season.

Arctic Wonders: privateArctic Wonders: ride and ice fishArctic Wonders: up to 90 km
Price €194 €180 – the lowest price per person €303
Duration 3.5 h 3 h 4 h
Machines Two to a machine Two to a machine One each
Group Private Not stated Up to 6
Distance Not stated Not stated Up to 90 km
Youngest 12 Not stated 12

Highlighted figures are the best in that row: the lowest price per person. All three price per person, start from the Arctic Wonders office in the village, lend a suit, boots, gloves and helmet and can be cancelled free up to 24 hours before. Only the price is marked.

Where these figures come from
  • Arctic Wonders: private: Three and a half hours for your group alone, two to a machine, with suits, boots, gloves and helmets lent. The first-timer's choice.
  • Arctic Wonders: ride and ice fish: A ride out onto the ice, two to a machine, with ice fishing gear and a warm drink. The cheapest and the gentlest of the three.
  • Arctic Wonders: up to 90 km: Four hours with a machine of your own on what the listing calls progressive wilderness trails, at most six guests, with a warm drink and a snack.

The snowmobile trips sold in Sodankylä all come from Arctic Wonders and start from its office in the village. What differs is who you ride with and how far.

For your own group

The private safari is three and a half hours with a guide for your group alone, two people sharing each machine. Overalls, boots, gloves and helmets are lent, and there is a safety briefing before you set off.

A ride with something to do

The ice fishing trip rides out onto the ice, again two to a machine, and hands you fishing gear and a warm drink when you get there. It is the shortest and cheapest of the three.

For distance

The long trip gives every guest a machine of their own for up to 90 kilometres on what the listing calls progressive wilderness trails, in a group of at most six, with a warm drink and a snack on the way.

How a snowmobile safari runs, from the briefing to the driving, is in the Rovaniemi snowmobile guide. The rest of the village is on the Sodankylä destination page.

What a machine costs once the sharing rule is counted in, and what excess each listing names, is worked out in snowmobile safari prices in Sodankylä.

Tours you can book

Questions people ask

What happens if we damage the snowmobile?

The listings name an insurance excess: 500 euros per snowmobile on the private safari and 600 euros per snowmobile on the long trip and the ice fishing trip. That is the self-liability the listings print per machine; ask when booking exactly what it covers and whether it can be reduced.

Can I drive alone on the private safari?

Only at extra cost. The private safari puts two people on each machine, and driving alone is listed as a supplement that is not included; the listing does not print the amount. The long trip already gives every guest a machine of their own.

Can children come on the ice fishing trip?

The listing does not print an age limit, unlike the other two, which exclude children under twelve. Ask before booking, and ask whether a child rides behind an adult or in a sled. Winter clothing, boots, gloves and a helmet are lent on all three trips.

Written by

Lapland Handbook Staff

Lapland Handbook is written by its editorial staff in Rovaniemi. Every price, age limit and group size in a comparison is read from the operator's own page and marked "Not stated" when the operator does not publish it. Each guide names who should not book, and names the operator that suits each kind of group, whichever it is.

More about Lapland Handbook →