Husky and reindeer in one day from Rovaniemi
The short answer
Read the reindeer half before the price. If you want to ride behind a reindeer, book a combination that states a sleigh ride and its distance, because some husky tours include reindeer only as a visit to feed them. Of the rides, a longer one led by a herder is a real outing and a short one is a taster. Then compare the husky halves by distance and who drives. If meeting and feeding reindeer is enough, a husky safari with a reindeer visit costs less and needs no combination at all.
How the operators compare
Prices are the operators' own published starting prices as of the date this guide was updated, and they change through the season.
| Snowtrail: husky safari | Raitola: combo day | Nordic Odyssey: premium combo | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Adult | €199 — the cheapest adult ticket | €214 | €290–295 |
| Child | Not stated | €160, aged 4–12 | €235, aged 4–12 |
| Reindeer | Visit and feeding, no ride | 500 m sleigh ride | 2 km sleigh ride with a herder |
| Huskies | 45–60 min, distance not stated | 7–10 km, adults drive | 5 km, adults drive |
| Length | 4 h | About 3.5 h | 5 h |
| Food | Hot drinks and small snacks | Salmon soup lunch | Salmon soup lunch and pancakes |
| Pickup | Included within 10 km | €12 per person | Included within 8 km |
| Season | Not stated | December to mid-April | December to April |
-
Snowtrail: husky safari
- Adult
- €199 — the cheapest adult ticket
- Child
- Not stated
- Reindeer
- Visit and feeding, no ride
- Huskies
- 45–60 min, distance not stated
- Length
- 4 h
- Food
- Hot drinks and small snacks
- Pickup
- Included within 10 km
- Season
- Not stated
Our own supplier. Where its tour suits a group and where it does not is set out in its own section below.
-
Raitola: combo day
- Adult
- €214
- Child
- €160, aged 4–12
- Reindeer
- 500 m sleigh ride
- Huskies
- 7–10 km, adults drive
- Length
- About 3.5 h
- Food
- Salmon soup lunch
- Pickup
- €12 per person
- Season
- December to mid-April
Children pay the lower fare only up to 140 cm tall, and the day includes what Raitola calls a Reindeer Driver's Licence.
-
Nordic Odyssey: premium combo
- Adult
- €290–295
- Child
- €235, aged 4–12
- Reindeer
- 2 km sleigh ride with a herder
- Huskies
- 5 km, adults drive
- Length
- 5 h
- Food
- Salmon soup lunch and pancakes
- Pickup
- Included within 8 km
- Season
- December to April
A small group of no more than eight, departing at half past nine, with a slightly lower adult price for groups of four or more.
Highlighted figures are the best in that row: the cheapest adult ticket. Only the adult price carries a mark. The reindeer and husky rows describe different purchases rather than better and worse ones: a visit is right for some groups and a ride for others.
Where these figures come from
- Snowtrail: husky safari snowtrailsafaris.com read 16 Sept 2026
- Raitola: combo day raitola.fi read 16 Sept 2026
- Nordic Odyssey: premium combo nordicodyssey.net read 17 Sept 2026
- Snowtrail: husky safari: Our own supplier. Where its tour suits a group and where it does not is set out in its own section below.
- Raitola: combo day: Children pay the lower fare only up to 140 cm tall, and the day includes what Raitola calls a Reindeer Driver's Licence.
- Nordic Odyssey: premium combo: A small group of no more than eight, departing at half past nine, with a slightly lower adult price for groups of four or more.
“Husky and reindeer” appears on a lot of Rovaniemi tours, and it means two quite different things. On some, you ride behind both animals. On others, you ride behind the dogs and meet the reindeer. Neither is misleading if you read the inclusions, but the headline does not tell you which you are buying.
The reindeer half: a ride or a visit
This is the question to settle first, because it is the one people get wrong.
Our own supplier’s husky safari includes reindeer as a visit: you meet them and feed them at the safari house, and there is no sleigh ride. That is a good half-day with two animals in it, and it is not a reindeer ride. If riding behind a reindeer is the point, it is the wrong booking, and the reindeer farm guide explains why a visit and a ride are different products even at the same farm.
The two combinations that do include a ride differ a lot in how much. Raitola’s is a short ride on the farm, long enough to say you did it. Nordic Odyssey’s is four times the distance, led by a herder, and takes long enough to feel like an outing. Both are genuine; they are different sizes.
The husky half
The dogs vary as much. Raitola publishes the longest drive of the three, with two adults to a sled and a swap halfway. Nordic Odyssey’s husky run is shorter and over in about the time its reindeer ride takes. Snowtrail gives a sled time but not a distance or who drives, so its husky half cannot be compared on the terms the others publish.
A combination is always two shorter experiences in the time of one longer one, as things to do in Rovaniemi argues. Choose the tour whose longer half is the animal you care about more.
The day around it
Raitola and Nordic Odyssey both serve a proper lunch, which matters on a programme of three and a half or five hours. Nordic Odyssey’s day is the longest, and part of it is the drive out. Raitola’s is shorter, but its pickup costs extra.
Where Snowtrail wins and where it loses
Snowtrail supplies this site. Its tour is the cheapest adult ticket of the three, takes children from three, and gives a family time to feed reindeer as well as a husky run and a fire in a kota. For a group who want both animals and are happy to ride behind only one, that is a sound purchase.
It loses on the question this page is about. It has no reindeer ride, it publishes no distance for the husky run and no child fare, and it does not say who drives. Anyone who searched for a husky and reindeer ride should book one of the other two.
If the reindeer half is what you actually came for, a combination is the wrong shape: the best reindeer farm in Rovaniemi compares the farms on ride length, price, pickup and clothing, none of which a combination tour lets you choose.
Questions people ask
Who drives the husky sled, and can children?
Adults drive and children ride. Nordic Odyssey lets only adults of eighteen and over drive, with children as passengers and adults usually swapping between driving and riding. Raitola puts two adults in each sled, one driving and one sitting, with any children in the sled, and offers a swap halfway. Snowtrail's page does not say who drives its husky safari. Neither combination says that guests drive the reindeer, and Nordic Odyssey's sleigh is led by a herder, so plan on the reindeer half as a ride rather than a drive.
Will the tour run if there are only one or two of us?
Nordic Odyssey requires at least two paying adults, so a solo traveller cannot book it alone, and it takes no more than eight. Raitola publishes fixed departure days rather than a minimum, running daily in December and on four days a week from January to mid-April, so the constraint there is the calendar. Snowtrail does not state a minimum. A solo traveller who wants both animals should ask before paying whether they will be sharing a sled with a stranger.
What if we have to cancel?
Raitola's terms charge €30 per activity for cancelling more than 72 hours before and the full price after that, so a combination day may count as more than one activity. Nordic Odyssey's combo page does not state its terms. Snowtrail's husky safari page promises free cancellation until 24 hours before, while its general terms charge half from seven days out and all of it in the final day, so ask which applies before booking dates that might move.
