Private snowmobile tour in Ranua: what you can actually buy

A wide frozen lake under a blue sky with a few clouds, spruce forest on the shore and footprints crossing the snow

Illustration photo: an empty frozen lake, not in Ranua.

The short answer

No private guided snowmobile safari has a price in Ranua. If private means your own machine, pay Ranua Resort's solo supplement, from 49 euros on its shorter safaris. If it means a small group, Lupland's one-hour ride on the booking platform takes at most eight. If it means only your party with a guide, write to both companies with a date and group size, since neither prints the option.

How the operators compare

Prices are the operators' own published starting prices as of the date this guide was updated, and they change through the season.

Ranua Resort: 2 h aloneRanua Resort: 4 h aloneLupland: 1 hSuomutunturi, Kemijärvi
Price for one rider €209 €304 €125 €180
Machine to yourself Yes Yes Not stated Yes
Group size Not stated Not stated Up to 8 Not stated
Drive from Ranua In Ranua In Ranua In Ranua About 102 min

Ranua Resort's figures are the adult price plus its solo supplement. Nothing is marked: none of these is private, and each is closer to it in a different way.

Where these figures come from
  • Ranua Resort: 2 h alone: The two-hour safari with a machine to yourself instead of sharing and swapping. Other guests can be on the same ride.
  • Ranua Resort: 4 h alone: The wilderness ride with a machine of your own, where the supplement is higher. Again a shared safari, not a private one.
  • Lupland: 1 h: Sold on the platform as a small group of at most eight. How machines are shared is not stated on the listing.
  • Suomutunturi, Kemijärvi: The summit ride with a solo price, about 102 minutes' drive from Ranua. A shared safari like the others.

No snowmobile company in Ranua prints a private safari, and nobody in the village sells a guide for your party alone at a published price.

A machine of your own

Ranua Resort shares each machine between two guests who take turns, and on every one of its safaris you can pay to ride alone: 49 euros more on the rides of up to three and a half hours, 89 on the four-hour wilderness ride, more on the day trips.1

A smaller group

Lupland’s one-hour ride on the booking platform is sold as a small group limited to eight participants.2 That caps the crowd without keeping it to your party.

Asking

For a guide and a trail to yourselves, the only route is a written request to either company. Give the date, the number of riders and whether anyone needs a passenger seat.

Which Ranua ride suits a first try or a long day is on the best snowmobile tour in Ranua.

Tours you can book

Questions people ask

Does Lupland sell anything private?

Its own site has a category of private activities, but on the day we read it that held a two-hour wilderness sauna for one to six people at 290 euros and a summer activity park, and no snowmobile ride. The company describes itself as focused on small-group hospitality, so a written request for a closed snowmobile date is reasonable, but it has no printed price.

Is anything private sold within reach of Ranua?

Not among the snowmobile rides this site has read in the neighbouring towns. The nearest alternative with a printed solo price is on Kemijärvi's Suomutunturi, about an hour and three-quarters away, where the summit ride costs 140 euros shared and 180 alone. That still puts you on a shared safari, so it is no closer to private than Ranua Resort's supplement.

Can two of us have one machine each on Lupland's rides?

Lupland's pages price per person and do not say how many ride on each machine. Ranua Resort states plainly that two guests share each snowmobile and take turns. If your party wants a machine each at Lupland, ask when booking whether that is how its rides work or whether it costs extra, because the answer changes the price for a couple.

Written by

Lapland Handbook Staff

Lapland Handbook is written by its editorial staff in Rovaniemi. Every price, age limit and group size in a comparison is read from the operator's own page and marked "Not stated" when the operator does not publish it. Each guide names who should not book, and names the operator that suits each kind of group, whichever it is.

More about Lapland Handbook →