Best husky tour in Sodankylä: which outing for which visitor

A musher in a helmet and race bib driving a team of six huskies along a snowy forest trail beside a trail sign

Illustration photo: a sled dog race team, not a Sodankylä outing.

The short answer

To drive a team yourself without owning winter clothing, book Arctic Wonders, which lends the gear and teaches you first. For a gentler first ride collected from your door, with a small child on your lap, book Arctic SISU's shorter run in your own warm layers. Families counting every euro should look at Huskygorod, the one kennel here with child fares, and anyone who only wants to meet the dogs can do that there too.

How the operators compare

Prices are the operators' own published starting prices as of the date this guide was updated, and they change through the season.

Arctic WondersArctic SISU ExperienceHuskygorod: safariHuskygorod: farm visit
Suits Driving a team yourself A first ride A family on a budget Meeting the dogs
The sled Your own, 10 km Shared, 4–5 km Own or shared, about 1 h None
Winter clothing Lent Not included Not stated Not stated
Children Age not stated From 4, on a lap Fare for 4–11 Free under 7
Getting there From the village office Pickup in a marked area Minivan from a meeting point Minivan from a meeting point

Nothing is ranked: each outing is built for a different visitor. Prices are left to the husky safari price page for Sodankylä.

Where these figures come from
  • Arctic Wonders: Ten kilometres on a sled of your own after a driving lesson, with overalls, boots and gloves lent, from an office in the village.
  • Arctic SISU Experience: A shorter first run with pickup from your address, where adults can share a sled and small children ride on a lap.
  • Huskygorod: safari: A family kennel's hour on the sled with a farm visit and a minivan from a meeting point, its first winter of rides.
  • Huskygorod: farm visit: An hour and a half with the kennel's dogs, hot drinks and cookies, with no sled and no lower age limit.

The husky outings in Sodankylä differ less in the dogs than in who they are built for, so the choice starts with what you want from the morning.

To drive the team yourself

Arctic Wonders teaches every guest to drive before putting them on a sled of their own for ten kilometres, and lends overalls, boots and gloves for it.1 It is the outing for anyone who wants to stand on the runners rather than sit in the basket.

For a first ride

Arctic SISU Experience collects you from your address and keeps its shorter run to four or five kilometres, with one adult per sled driving and a small child riding on a lap.2 It lends no thermal clothing, so it suits visitors who arrived dressed for Lapland.

For a family, or just the dogs

Huskygorod, a family kennel on the Rovaniemi road, prints fares for children from four to eleven and brings guests by minivan from a meeting point. Its dogs pull sleds from this winter; until then, and for anyone who only wants to meet them, it sells time on the farm.3 Ages, fares and who drives the sled for a child are compared on husky safaris with children in Sodankylä.

Tours you can book

Questions people ask

Is the family kennel really running sled rides this winter?

Its own page says its dogs were too young for safaris last season and that it will be ready for them in winter 2026 to 2027, and it already prices the rides. That is a plan rather than a record, so ask for a date in writing before building a day around it, and keep one of the other two as a fallback.

Does Arctic SISU's own website charge the same as the platforms?

No. Its booking page lists the 5 km and 10 km rides for 50 euros less than GetYourGuide and gives them as two hours rather than three, without saying whether the price is per person. Ask what the lower price covers before booking there; the price page for Sodankylä sets out both.

Can we meet the dogs without riding?

Yes, at the family kennel, which sells a farm visit with hot drinks and cookies and a forest hike with a husky at your side, the hike for children of ten and over. When we read its page in September it marked the farm visit as temporarily unavailable while it was being updated, so check before planning a day around it.

Written by

Lapland Handbook Staff

Lapland Handbook is written by its editorial staff in Rovaniemi. Every price, age limit and group size in a comparison is read from the operator's own page and marked "Not stated" when the operator does not publish it. Each guide names who should not book, and names the operator that suits each kind of group, whichever it is.

More about Lapland Handbook →