Get 10% off every booking with code LH10

The best northern lights tour in Rovaniemi

Six people standing as dark silhouettes on a snowy roadside at night under a bright green aurora curling across the sky, a street lamp glowing at the edge of the frame

The short answer

Choose by what you need from the night, because no tour can promise the sky. With small children, book the short tour that accepts three-year-olds and choose its version with a warm cabin. For photographs of yourselves, book the long small-group tour that brings a professional photographer and lends boots. If you have one night and want your money back when the lights stay away, book the tour that writes that promise down. On the tightest budget the coach tour costs least, but you find your own way to it and bring your own boots.

How the operators compare

Prices are the operators' own published starting prices as of the date this guide was updated, and they change through the season.

Snowtrail: With SnacksBeyond ArcticStayLapland by busArctic GM coach
From €109 €145 €109 €72 — the cheapest ticket
Length 3 h 5–7 h 4–5 h 4–6 h
Largest group Not stated 8 — the smallest published group Not stated 50
Youngest accepted 3 — takes the youngest children 8 Not stated Not stated
Pickup Within 10 km of centre Includes outside the centre Four named points None, meet in town
Warm clothing Not stated Suit and boots Bring your own Overalls only
Photos of you Not stated Professional, edited DSLR photos DSLR photos
If no aurora No refund No refund stated Full refund No remedy stated

Highlighted figures are the best in that row: the cheapest ticket, the smallest published group and takes the youngest children. Length carries no mark, because a longer tour is a later night as well as a longer hunt. Pickup, clothing, photos and the no-aurora terms describe different products rather than better and worse ones, so they are left for you to weigh.

Where these figures come from
  • Snowtrail: With Snacks: Our own supplier. The only tour here that takes a three-year-old, and the joint cheapest with a pickup included. It is also the shortest, publishes no group size, lists no clothing or photographs, and promises nothing if the sky stays shut.
  • Beyond Arctic: The long small-group hunt with a professional photographer, boots and a thermal suit, and published start times. It turns away children under eight and offers nothing back on a cloudy night beyond the photographs of the evening.
  • StayLapland by bus: The only tour here with a written money-back promise if no aurora is captured, at the same price as Snowtrail. Pickup is from four named points rather than your door, and it publishes neither a group size nor a minimum age.
  • Arctic GM coach: By far the cheapest seat, and it will drive up to two hours each way. The price of that is a coach of up to fifty, a walk to the office in town, and boots and hats of your own. Its 'guarantee' comes with no stated remedy.

Aurora tours from Rovaniemi are sold under one name and are four different purchases. The canonical northern lights guide explains why cloud, not the tour, decides whether you see anything. This page assumes you are booking anyway and names the tour that fits each kind of group.

Every figure in the table comes from the operator’s own site.

If you are travelling with small children

Snowtrail. It is the only tour here that accepts a three-year-old; Beyond Arctic starts at eight, and the other two publish no limit. It is also the shortest, which for once is the point.

Snowtrail runs a second tour at the same price, length and age limit that starts from its Aurora Cabin, where there is a fire to wait by, and it rents winter clothing for the evening. With a small child that is the version to book, because a warm room between looks at the sky matters more than an extra hour of driving.

If you want photographs of yourselves under the lights

Beyond Arctic. A professional photographer comes along, the edited photos follow a few days later, and the group stays at eight or fewer, which is what makes pictures of your family rather than of a crowd possible. It also lends a thermal suit and boots, so nobody is shivering in the frame. Both bus and coach tours take photographs too, but in a group whose size is either unpublished or fifty.

If you have one night and want a written promise

StayLapland’s bus tour. Its promise is specific: a full refund if the team does not capture any aurora. That does not make the lights more likely, but it moves the risk of a cloudy night from you to the operator, which none of the others does. Bring your own warm clothes and check that one of its four pickup points suits you.

If the budget is tight

Arctic GM’s coach tour, at well under any other ticket here, and it will drive up to two hours each way when the clear sky is far off. Go in knowing what the low price leaves out: you make your own way to its office in town, the coach can carry fifty, and the overalls come without boots or a hat.

If you would rather walk than wait

None of the four. Nordic Odyssey runs a four-hour snowshoe tour for groups of up to eight, from age ten, with overalls and boots for a small extra charge. You spend the evening moving through the forest on foot rather than standing by a vehicle, which suits a group that gets cold waiting.

Where Snowtrail loses

Snowtrail supplies this site, so its weaker points need saying as plainly as the one it wins.

It is the shortest tour of the four, so on a night when the clear sky is far off it has the least time to reach it. Its page publishes no group size, lists no clothing and no photographs, and its terms say plainly that a night without the lights is not refunded. StayLapland charges the same and promises your money back.

Two groups are better served by a different comparison than this one. With children the question is where they wait rather than which operator drives furthest, and an aurora evening that takes children sorts the tours by that. With a group of your own, what a private northern lights tour costs per head, and what it does with the money on a cloudy night, is the comparison that matters. And if the honest answer is that you are not coming this far north at all, the odds from Helsinki are published and worth knowing before you book anything.

Questions people ask

Is a longer tour more likely to find the lights?

It can drive further, which matters on a night when the gap in the cloud is a long way off. Arctic GM's coach will go up to two hours each way and sometimes into Sweden, and Beyond Arctic says it will go the extra mile, even a hundred. A three-hour tour cannot do that. But a long tour also means a late night and more hours standing outside, and on a clear night near town the short tour sees exactly the same sky. Book the long one when you have one night and a doubtful forecast, not by default.

What does a 'guaranteed' tour actually guarantee?

Read the sentence, not the title. StayLapland's bus tour promises a full refund if its team does not capture any aurora, which is a real remedy you can hold them to. Arctic GM also calls its coach tour guaranteed, but its own explanation says only that you will see the lights while their intensity cannot be predicted, and the page names no refund if they fail to appear. Snowtrail and Beyond Arctic make no guarantee, and Snowtrail's terms state that a night without the lights is not grounds for a refund.

When do the tours leave?

Only one of the four says outright. Beyond Arctic publishes its start times by season: 20:00 from late September to November, 20:00 or 20:30 from December to late March, and 22:00 at either end of the season, with a team meeting fifteen minutes before. StayLapland gives times only for its dearer small-group tour, which starts between 17:00 and 21:00 and confirms by email by 14:00 on the day. Snowtrail says only that the pickup time in your confirmation is the start, and Arctic GM's coach page gives no time at all, so ask before planning dinner.

Written by

Lapland Handbook Staff

Lapland Handbook is written by its editorial staff in Rovaniemi. Every price, age limit and group size in a comparison is read from the operator's own page and marked "Not stated" when the operator does not publish it. Each guide names who should not book, and says so when a competitor is the better choice.

Ready to look at dates?

See dates and prices