Husky safari in Ylläs: which ride to book

A husky team running ahead up a snowy slope, seen from the sled's handlebar, with a pointed mountain on the horizon

Illustration photo: the view from a husky sled, not in Ylläs.

The short answer

Choose on time on the sled and on your travel dates. For a first ride with small children, the two short rides are close in price; Lapland Safaris includes the transfer and outfit and takes children from two. For the longer ride, Ylläs Experience's 6–10 km is cheaper outside its high season, while Lapland Safaris' 10 km gives the longest time on the sled. If you travel at Christmas or in February, compare against Ylläs Experience's high-season price, and ask it about transfer and cancelling before paying.

How the operators compare

Prices are the operators' own published starting prices as of the date this guide was updated, and they change through the season.

Lapland Safaris: 5 kmYlläs Experience: 4–5 kmYlläs Experience: 6–10 kmLapland Safaris: 10 km
Price €166 – the lowest price per adult €175 €235 €247
Christmas and February price Not stated €195 €265 Not stated
Trail 5 km 4–5 km 6–10 km 10 km
On the sled About 30 min 20–35 min 35–50 min About 1 h
Transfer and winter clothing Included Not stated Not stated Included
Children Over 2 Child fare 3–11 Child fare 6–11 Over 4
Cancelling €25 from 72 h, full price within 71 h Not stated Not stated €25 from 72 h, full price within 71 h

Highlighted figures are the best in that row: the lowest price per adult. All four price per adult. Lapland Safaris prints one winter price; Ylläs Experience prints a second price for 13 December to 3 January and 31 January to 28 February. Only the price row is marked: longer is not better for every child.

Where these figures come from
  • Lapland Safaris: 5 km: The cheapest ride and the one that takes the youngest children, from two. About half an hour on the sled, and the transfer and outfit are in the price.
  • Ylläs Experience: 4–5 km: A short ride with a chance to swap drivers on the way, and time with the dogs afterwards. Only adults drive. The page prints a higher price for Christmas and February.
  • Ylläs Experience: 6–10 km: The cheaper of the two longer rides outside high season, with 35 to 50 minutes on the sled and a fire afterwards. Ask what is included before booking: the page does not say.
  • Lapland Safaris: 10 km: The most time on the sled, about an hour, with a campfire after. Children from four, and transfer and outfit included, which the higher price partly pays for.

Two sellers publish husky rides at Ylläs. Lapland Safaris sells a 5 km and a 10 km ride from the resort with a transfer to a kennel about half an hour away. Ylläs Experience sells two rides at the Konijänkkä kennel, 4–5 km and 6–10 km, and books them itself.

What the two pages leave out

Lapland Safaris prints one price for the winter and lists what it covers: the transfer, a thermal outfit, the kennel visit and a hot drink. Ylläs Experience prints a higher price for 13 December to 3 January and for February, and says nothing on its page about transfer, clothing or cancelling. That makes the two short rides hard to rank on price alone: 166 euros with everything listed against 175 euros, or 195 in high season, for a ride whose extras are unknown.

If you are new to it

Both short rides give you about half an hour behind the dogs. Lapland Safaris’ takes children from two, the youngest here. Ylläs Experience lets you swap drivers during the ride and leaves time with the dogs after it, but only adults may drive, so a family of two parents and children rides with the children sitting.

For more time on the sled

Lapland Safaris’ 10 km ride gives about an hour on the sled, the most in the table. Ylläs Experience’s 6–10 km gives 35 to 50 minutes and is cheaper outside its high season. In February the two are close: 247 against 265 euros. For a longer ride, a kennel south of Ylläs sells a twenty-kilometre self-driven safari.

If your dates might move

Lapland Safaris’ Ylläs terms charge 25 euros if you cancel three days or more ahead and the full price inside that. Ylläs Experience does not publish terms on its page, so ask before you pay.

How husky prices differ between the Lapland resorts is in husky safaris across Lapland. What makes any husky safari worth its price is in the Rovaniemi husky safari guide, and the rest of the resort is on the Ylläs destination page.

What a minute on the sled costs on each ride, and what both sellers charge for a child, is worked out in husky safari prices at Ylläs.

Tours you can book

Questions people ask

Can a teenager drive the sled?

Not with Ylläs Experience. Its page says only adults may drive and that everyone under eighteen sits on the sled as a passenger. Lapland Safaris describes its sleds as shared, one person standing behind as the driver and one sitting, and does not print a driving age on the pages checked, so ask before booking if a teenager wants the handlebar.

How far is the kennel from our hotel?

Lapland Safaris gives the transfer as about 30 minutes each way, and includes it in the price. Ylläs Experience's page does not say whether it collects guests or where the Konijänkkä kennel is, so ask when booking; if you need to make your own way there, that changes the comparison.

What does a child pay?

Ylläs Experience prints child fares: 145 euros for ages 3 to 11 on the 4–5 km ride and 185 euros for ages 6 to 11 on the 6–10 km ride, both outside high season. Lapland Safaris shows its own fares once a child is added to the participants: 125 euros for ages 4 to 14 and no charge for ages 2 to 3 on the 5 km ride, and 186 euros for ages 4 to 14 on the 10 km safari.

Written by

Lapland Handbook Staff

Lapland Handbook is written by its editorial staff in Rovaniemi. Every price, age limit and group size in a comparison is read from the operator's own page and marked "Not stated" when the operator does not publish it. Each guide names who should not book, and names the operator that suits each kind of group, whichever it is.

More about Lapland Handbook →