Santa Claus prices in Saariselkä, for a family of four

Red and green gift boxes tied with ribbons among Christmas greenery

Illustration photo: wrapped presents, not from a Saariselkä Santa visit.

The short answer

On a tight budget, the walk to Santa's house at the resort is the cheapest total for a family, and the village afternoon gives the most time for close to the same price per hour. Paying for privacy multiplies the cost per hour, whichever private option you choose, so book one only if meeting Santa without other families is what matters most to you.

How the operators compare

Prices are the operators' own published starting prices as of the date this guide was updated, and they change through the season.

Santa's houseVillage afternoonForest meetingPrivate house visit
Adult From €59.73 €159 From €165 €712.51 for up to 5
Child Sold, price not shown €79.50, ages 4–14 Not stated Included
Family of four €238.92 – the lowest total for two adults and two children €477 €660 €712.51
Length 1.5 h 2.5–3 h 1 h 1.5 h
Family of four, per hour €159 – the lowest cost per hour for the family €159–191 – the lowest cost per hour for the family €660 €475

Highlighted figures are the best in that row: the lowest total for two adults and two children and the lowest cost per hour for the family. Where no child fare is printed, children are counted at the adult price, so the resort's and the hotel's totals may be lower in practice. Lapponia Tours' cabin afternoon prints no price and is left out.

Where these figures come from
  • Santa's house: An hour and a half's walk with an elf to Santa's house at a resort, priced per person.
  • Village afternoon: Two and a half to three hours of reindeer, sleigh and gingerbread, with half-price children.
  • Forest meeting: An hour with a private meeting in the forest, priced per person with no child fare.
  • Private house visit: An hour and a half at Santa's house for a party of up to five, collected and returned.

Four of Saariselkä’s Santa programmes print a price, and a family pays very different sums for them.

The shared programmes

Kakslauttanen, the resort south of the village, prices its walk to Santa’s house per person and does not show what a child pays.1 Northern Lights Village charges children from four to fourteen half the adult price for an afternoon nearly twice as long.2 Per hour, the two come out almost level.

The private ones

Wilderness Hotel Saariselkä’s forest meeting is short and priced per person, which makes it the dearest hour of the four for a family.3 The resort’s private visit is priced for the party, so a family of five pays no more than a family of four.4

What each programme is like is compared on the best Santa Claus visit in Saariselkä.

Tours you can book

Priced per person

Priced for the whole party

Questions people ask

What does a baby cost?

The village afternoon lets children up to three in free. The resort lists infants up to two as a separate fare but does not print its price, and the hotel prints no fare for children of any age. If you are travelling with a baby, ask the resort and the hotel before booking rather than assuming the youngest goes free.

Is the resort's family ticket cheaper?

Possibly: its booking sells a family ticket for two adults and one or two children, but the page shows only the per-person price, so the family figure here counts everyone at that price. Ask for the family ticket's price when you book; if it is lower, the resort's lead as the cheapest option only grows.

Are there costs on top of the ticket?

At the resort's regular visit, transfers are arranged by e-mail and clothing is not included, though it rents a thermal set with boots for 32 euros a day. The village afternoon lends overalls, boots and mittens. The hotel includes a short car transfer and presents, and the resort's private visit includes pick-up and drop-off.

Written by

Lapland Handbook Staff

Lapland Handbook is written by its editorial staff in Rovaniemi. Every price, age limit and group size in a comparison is read from the operator's own page and marked "Not stated" when the operator does not publish it. Each guide names who should not book, and names the operator that suits each kind of group, whichever it is.

More about Lapland Handbook →