Husky safari price in Ivalo: what each outing costs a family

A fluffy brown and white husky puppy asleep with its head resting on the snow, eyes closed

Illustration photo: a husky puppy asleep in the snow, not at either farm on this page.

The short answer

For the most sled per euro, the four-hour safari costs less per hour than the two-hour one, but only if your children are over ten, since it has no child fare. With younger children, the farm's family ticket with a sled session for each child is far cheaper than any safari, though it is a short track rather than a trail. The farm does not refund, so book it only on a certain date.

How the operators compare

Prices are the operators' own published starting prices as of the date this guide was updated, and they change through the season.

Ivalo Safaris, 2 hIvalo Safaris, 4 hIlonka farm and track
Price as printed €205 adult, €160 under 10 €290 per person €145 family, plus €36 per child on the sled
Per hour, adult €102.50 €72.50 – the lowest price per hour Not stated: stay as long as you like
Family of four €730 with two under 10 €1160 with two over 10 €217 with two children sledding – the lowest family total
Driving yourself €10 less per person €10 less per person Not applicable
Cancelling Not stated Not stated Non-refundable

Highlighted figures are the best in that row: the lowest price per hour and the lowest family total. Families of four are two adults and two children. The farm's total buys a short track on the farm, not a safari, so the lowest figure is not the same thing for less money.

Where these figures come from
  • Ivalo Safaris, 2 h: The shared safari of about 12 km, with a child fare under ten and pickup from Ivalo in the price.
  • Ivalo Safaris, 4 h: The long safari with lunch in a hilltop hut, one price for everyone and only for children over ten.
  • Ilonka farm and track: A farm entry ticket, with a family rate, plus a sled session on the farm's short track for each child who drives.

Husky prices at Ivalo differ less in the money than in who pays it: every member of the family, only the adults at full fare, or a ticket for the whole family.

What an hour on a safari costs

The shared safaris cost more per hour the shorter they are. The two-hour one is priced per adult with a lower fare for children under ten,1 and the four-hour one at a single price per person, which works out cheaper by the hour and includes lunch.2 Its catch for families is that it has no child fare and takes only children over ten.

What a family pays

A family whose children are under ten has two real choices: the two-hour safari at the full total for four, or the farm’s family ticket with a sled session for each child, at under a third of that and priced for two adults and up to three children.3 The farm’s children drive a short track, not a trail, so the saving buys less time on the runners.

What you cannot get back

The farm’s terms make every direct booking binding and non-refundable.4 The family company does not publish its cancellation terms, so ask for them in the same e-mail as the booking.

Tours you can book

Questions people ask

Why does the same company show lower prices elsewhere?

Ivalo Safaris shares its phone number with an online shop under the name Ivalo Holidays, which lists the two-hour safari at 125 euros for adults and 70 for children aged four to thirteen, far below the 205 and 160 on the company's own tour page. We could not tell which is current, so this page uses the tour page. Ask which price applies when you write to book.

What do the shared safaris cost if we drive to the farm?

Ten euros less per person on either safari, which the company offers to anyone who does not need collecting from Ivalo. For a family of four on the two-hour safari that brings the total down by forty euros. The farm is about ten kilometres from the centre of Ivalo, so the saving is worth it only if you already have a car.

Are the walks and the farm visit refundable on the platform?

Yes. The platform listings of the farm's husky walk and private farm visit both allow a free cancellation up to 24 hours before. Booked directly on the farm's own website, the same outings are binding and non-refundable, and the private visit is cheaper there. The difference is the price of keeping your dates open.

Written by

Lapland Handbook Staff

Lapland Handbook is written by its editorial staff in Rovaniemi. Every price, age limit and group size in a comparison is read from the operator's own page and marked "Not stated" when the operator does not publish it. Each guide names who should not book, and names the operator that suits each kind of group, whichever it is.

More about Lapland Handbook →