Snowmobile safari prices in Ranua

A small wooded islet on a flat, white frozen sea under a pale grey sky

Illustration photo: a frozen shore near Kemi in Lapland, not in Ranua.

The short answer

For two adults sure of their date, Lupland's own site is the cheapest hour in Ranua. If plans might change, pay the platform's higher price for free cancellation until the day before. For a family with children aged three to fourteen, Ranua Resort's family hour is the one with a printed child fare, though its winter clothing is extra unless you stay there.

How the operators compare

Prices are the operators' own published starting prices as of the date this guide was updated, and they change through the season.

Lupland on the platformLupland directRanua Resort: family 1 hRanua Resort: 2 h
Adult price €125 €99 – the lowest adult price €130 €160
Child price Not stated Not stated €85 (3 to 14) Adults only
Free cancellation Until 24 h before None; 20% fee from 14 days Until 14 days before Until 14 days before
Winter clothing Included Included Resort guests only Resort guests only

Highlighted figures are the best in that row: the lowest adult price. All per person. Only the adult price is marked; the other rows are terms, and which terms are better depends on how sure your dates are.

Where these figures come from
  • Lupland on the platform: The one-hour ride at the platform price, with free cancellation until 24 hours before and outerwear lent.
  • Lupland direct: The same hour on Lupland's own site, cheaper, under the company's general terms, which charge a fee on any cancellation.
  • Ranua Resort: family 1 h: The resort's hour, with a child fare for three to fourteen. Paid in full when booked through reception.
  • Ranua Resort: 2 h: Two hours for adults only, on the same terms. Two guests share each machine unless one pays to ride alone.

The price of a Ranua snowmobile hour depends first on where you book it, and what the price covers changes with it.

Platform or own site

Lupland’s one-hour ride is 99 euros on its own site and 125 on the booking platform. The platform price includes free cancellation up to 24 hours before. Booked directly, Lupland’s general terms charge a fifth of the price for any cancellation made two weeks or more ahead, half in the second week and all of it in the last.1 The 26 euros are the price of changing your mind.

What a family pays

Two adults and two children aged three to fourteen pay 430 euros for Ranua Resort’s one-hour family safari.2 At Lupland the two adults pay 198 euros on its own site, and neither its site nor the platform prints a price for the children in the guide’s sled, so ask before comparing the two totals.

What the price leaves out

Ranua Resort’s winter clothing is free only to guests staying at the resort; Lupland lends outerwear on both its platform and its own-site bookings. Activities are paid when booked, and cancellation is free until fourteen days before, with no refund after that.3

What the rides themselves are like is on snowmobile safari in Ranua.

Tours you can book

Questions people ask

Why is Lupland cheaper on its own site?

Its terms say it applies dynamic pricing to certain services, with prices that can vary by season, date, availability, demand and booking channel. The own-site figures here are the ones shown on 23 September, so check the price for your date on both before booking. The platform's figure carries its own terms, including the free cancellation up to 24 hours before.

What does riding alone cost?

At Ranua Resort, where two guests share each machine by default, a snowmobile to yourself costs 49 euros more on the rides of up to three and a half hours, 89 on the four-hour wilderness ride, 129 on the six-hour day and 100 on the overnight trip. Lupland does not say how machines are shared or print a solo price, so ask when you book.

Do we need the driving licence with us on the day?

Yes. Ranua Resort asks drivers to bring the licence because the police may check it during the safari, and Lupland asks the same. Both require the driver to be at least eighteen, so a family with a seventeen-year-old should plan for that teenager to ride as a passenger rather than count on a turn at the handlebars.

Written by

Lapland Handbook Staff

Lapland Handbook is written by its editorial staff in Rovaniemi. Every price, age limit and group size in a comparison is read from the operator's own page and marked "Not stated" when the operator does not publish it. Each guide names who should not book, and names the operator that suits each kind of group, whichever it is.

More about Lapland Handbook →