Private husky tour in Ivalo: what is sold for your party alone

A dark dog on a long green lead bounding through deep snow between heavily snow-laden spruces and birches under a blue sky

Illustration photo: a dog on a lead in a snowy forest, not at the farm described here.

The short answer

Adults who want the trails to themselves should book the farm's private sled tour, two to three hours with a sled each, or its longer day with lunch on the way. With children, book the private farm visit instead: the sledding is on short tracks sized for them, and adults can try a run too. Book only when the date is certain, because the farm does not refund.

How the operators compare

Prices are the operators' own published starting prices as of the date this guide was updated, and they change through the season.

Sled tour, 2–3 hSled tour, 5–6 hPrivate farm visit
Price as printed €370 €690 €189 on the farm's site; €235 per person on the platform
Per person or per group Not stated; the tour is for 1–3 people Not stated Not stated on the farm's site
Who it takes Adults only Adults only Children 4–17 drive; adults may try
Length 2–3 h 5–6 h 2.5–3 h
Cancelling Non-refundable Non-refundable Non-refundable direct; free up to 24 h on the platform

Nothing is ranked, and the prices are not compared: the farm does not say what basis its private tours are priced on. Ask before booking.

Where these figures come from
  • Sled tour, 2–3 h: A private tour for one to three adults, each driving a sled over hilly trails, with coffee and cake in the hut afterwards.
  • Sled tour, 5–6 h: The same tour taken further, with lunch along the way in a hut or by a fire in the farm's tour tent.
  • Private farm visit: A visit for your group alone with a host, built around the children: family sledding on short tracks or a husky walk, then crafts and a warm drink.

Ilonka is the one farm at Ivalo that sells husky outings for a single party, and it sells two kinds.

Sled tours for adults

The private tour takes one to three people into the wilderness, each driving a sled, over trails the farm calls demanding for fitness and balance.1 A longer version adds lunch on the trail, and there is a two-night tour for those who want more. The farm’s terms restrict all its wilderness sled tours to adults, and make every booking binding and non-refundable.2

A private visit with children

The farm’s private visit is the one to book with children. Those from about four to seventeen drive short runs with one or two dogs on safe forest tracks, smaller children sit in the sled, and adults are welcome to have a go.3 The same visit is sold on a booking platform at a higher price with a free cancellation, which is worth paying for if your dates could still move.

The shared safaris near Ivalo, which take turns on the sled with other guests, are on the best husky tour in Ivalo.

Tours you can book

Priced per person

Price not stated

Questions people ask

Is there a private husky walk?

Yes, as one of the two choices inside the private farm visit: you learn to harness a dog and walk into the forest attached to it by a belt, with your host alone. The farm's ordinary walks are in small groups of up to six people with dogs, and the booking platform's walk is shared too, so the private visit is the way to walk without strangers.

Can Santa come to a private visit?

He can. The farm sells a Santa visit as an add-on to its private experiences, priced per group, for fifteen to thirty minutes of conversation and stories in its cabin, and says he can also come to your own cabin. Book the two together. What Santa visits near Ivalo cost and involve is on the private Santa visit page for Ivalo.

Can we ask the other farm for a private safari?

It does not list one for huskies. The family company sells its husky safaris as shared outings, two to a sled, and asks for bookings by e-mail. It does invite requests for private tours on its snowmobile safari, so writing to ask costs nothing, but there is no private husky price to plan with.

Written by

Lapland Handbook Staff

Lapland Handbook is written by its editorial staff in Rovaniemi. Every price, age limit and group size in a comparison is read from the operator's own page and marked "Not stated" when the operator does not publish it. Each guide names who should not book, and names the operator that suits each kind of group, whichever it is.

More about Lapland Handbook →