Ice fishing price in Tornio: what you pay for

Several ice-fishing shelters in blue and red on a frozen river between bare trees and dry reeds, with a few anglers and sleds beside them

Illustration photo: ice-fishing shelters on a frozen river in the United States, not near Tornio.

The short answer

For the least money, the rapids outing in Tornio includes the gear and a fire. The sea trip costs most because the snowmobile and a full winter outfit are in the price, and driving a machine alone costs extra. The pond day adds transport and a meal. No shared trip prints a child fare, so ask for one before you add up a family's cost, and remember that the Tornio company refunds only with 48 hours' notice.

How the operators compare

Prices are the operators' own published starting prices as of the date this guide was updated, and they change through the season.

Nordic Safaris: Kukkola rapidsSea Lapland SafarisLapland Salmon LodgeIisland (private)
Price €95 – the lowest price shown €155 €120 From €250
Priced per Person Person Person Not stated
Gear Included Not stated Not stated Included
Winter clothing Not stated Included, with helmet Not stated Bring your own
Transport Not stated Snowmobile out onto the ice Included Not stated
Food and drink Hot drink Hot drinks Salmon soup Not stated
Named extras None listed Solo driving, €55 a driver None listed Not stated
Free cancellation until 48 h before 24 h before 24 h before Not stated

Highlighted figures are the best in that row: the lowest price shown. The first three price per person. The private trip's figure has no stated basis, so it cannot be set against the others per head. The burbot-net outing at 135 euros a head is left out to keep the table to four columns.

Where these figures come from
  • Nordic Safaris: Kukkola rapids: The Tornio company's own outing at the rapids, sold on its own site, with the ice-fishing gear, a winter mat and a hot drink by the fire.
  • Sea Lapland Safaris: A snowmobile out to the Bothnian Bay with a full winter outfit and helmet, guided fishing and hot drinks, from Kemi.
  • Lapland Salmon Lodge: Transport to a private pond in Keminmaa, the fishing, and salmon soup in a hut, over five hours.
  • Iisland (private): A private family trip on the sea off Ii, with all the equipment and a warm tent; the price shown is the national tourism listing's.

The shared ice-fishing trips near Tornio cost between 95 and 155 euros a head. What moves the price is not the fishing, which is much the same, but what comes with it.

What pushes a price up

The sea trip from Kemi is the dearest because it includes a snowmobile ride and a full winter outfit, and driving a machine on your own adds a supplement. The pond day in Keminmaa is dearer than the rapids because it includes the transport and a meal. At the rapids in Tornio you pay for the guide, the gear and a fire, and nothing else.

When the money stops being refundable

The two trips sold on a booking platform can be cancelled free until a day before. The Tornio company, selling from its own site, refunds only if you cancel more than 48 hours ahead and keeps the whole amount after that.1 The private trip from Ii states no terms on the pages read, so ask for them.

A possible extra at the rapids

Ice fishing with one rod is free in most of Finland, but the national fee table excludes rapids sections of waters with migratory fish.2 If the adults in your party turn out to need the fee at Kukkola, it is 6 euros a day for anyone from 18 to 69, a small sum next to the trip but one the Tornio outings do not mention. Children are outside it.

The trips themselves are compared on ice fishing in Tornio, and which one suits whom on best ice fishing in Tornio.

Tours you can book

Questions people ask

What do four people pay?

Four adults pay 380 euros for the rapids outing, 480 for the pond day and 620 for the sea trip by snowmobile. None of the three publishes a child fare, so these are the only totals the listings support for a group of four. The burbot nets would be 540 for four, which is also the smallest group they run for. Ask for a child price before booking: a family's real total depends on an answer the listings do not give.

Do we get money back if frost cuts the trip short?

Nothing says so. The Tornio company's terms reserve the right to shorten a programme when it is minus twenty or colder and children are on it, and they say nothing about refunding part of the price when that happens. If you are travelling with children in the coldest weeks, ask before you pay what happens to the money on a shortened day.

Is the price the same wherever we book?

For the private trip from Ii, no. The supply survey this site ran found it on GetYourGuide at 140 euros for two hours, and the national tourism listing read two days later shows it from 250 euros for three. Neither says whether the figure is per person or per group. The lodge in Keminmaa sells its pond day on one platform and a different pond-and-snowshoe package on another, so those two are not the same thing at different prices.

Written by

Lapland Handbook Staff

Lapland Handbook is written by its editorial staff in Rovaniemi. Every price, age limit and group size in a comparison is read from the operator's own page and marked "Not stated" when the operator does not publish it. Each guide names who should not book, and names the operator that suits each kind of group, whichever it is.

More about Lapland Handbook →