Reindeer with children in Salla: which outing suits which child

A young reindeer standing on a snowy slope in low sun, looking towards the camera

Illustration photo: a reindeer in northern Norway, not in Salla.

The short answer

With a toddler or a child who tires quickly, book the half-hour sleigh ride to the feeding corral. With children who can sit in a sleigh for a few hours, book the three-hour safari, where they ride with you while you drive the reindeer. Keep the one-day safari for older children who are happy outdoors all day.

How the operators compare

Prices are the operators' own published starting prices as of the date this guide was updated, and they change through the season.

Feeding rideReindeer safariOne-day safari
How long a child is out 30 min 3 h 5–6 h
Youngest with a child fare Not stated 3 3
How a child rides In the sleigh with an adult In a parent's reindeer sleigh In a parent's reindeer sleigh

Nothing is ranked: the right outing depends on the youngest child. The fell resort's farm safari is left out because it means five to six hours on a snowmobile and prints no child fare.

Where these figures come from
  • Feeding ride: Half an hour in a sleigh behind a snowmobile to watch the does and calves fed, with children only with an adult.
  • Reindeer safari: Three hours with the child in a parent's sleigh while the parent drives, and warm clothing lent.
  • One-day safari: Five to six hours with the same seating and lunch in a kota, from January to March.

For a family, Salla’s reindeer outings all come from one park with the same rules for children, and differ in how long a child is out.

The shortest

The park’s feeding ride takes families by sleigh to the corral to watch the does and calves eat, in about half an hour.1 It asks only that children come with an adult.

A few hours

On the three-hour safari each adult drives a reindeer, and a child under thirteen rides in the parent’s sleigh. Children from three pay half, and the park lends overalls, boots and mittens to everyone.2

A whole day

The one-day safari keeps the same seating for five to six hours, with lunch in a kota, from January to March.3

Tours you can book

Priced per person

Price not stated

Questions people ask

Can two children ride with one parent?

The park's page says one adult per sleigh with children seated with a parent, without saying how many children fit. With two adults and two children, plan on one child in each parent's sleigh, and ask the park before booking if you have more children than adults, so it can tell you whether two small children may share a parent's sleigh.

Is there food a fussy child will eat?

On the three-hour safari the picnic in the Lappish hut is sausage, hot drinks and a sweet bun, which most children manage. The one-day safari's kota lunch is not described, so ask what is served. The park asks for special dietary needs to be given when you book.

Can we visit the reindeer with a baby?

The feeding ride is the realistic choice, at half an hour, with children only in the company of an adult. The park prints no child fare for it and no lower age, so ask whether a baby on a lap needs a ticket, and bring a warm suit, since the sleigh is open.

Written by

Lapland Handbook Staff

Lapland Handbook is written by its editorial staff in Rovaniemi. Every price, age limit and group size in a comparison is read from the operator's own page and marked "Not stated" when the operator does not publish it. Each guide names who should not book, and names the operator that suits each kind of group, whichever it is.

More about Lapland Handbook →