Private snowmobile tour in Kilpisjärvi: fee or private product

A rider in a white helmet on a black snowmobile on a snowy slope under a clear blue sky

Illustration photo: a snowmobile in the mountains, not in Kilpisjärvi.

The short answer

For two to four people who want the Three-Country Cairn to themselves, look first at the guiding company's private cairn tour, priced from 155 euros, with a guide who sets the pace to you; its drivers need a car licence. For a larger party, or for a route the guiding company does not run, the safari company will make any of its tours private for 660 euros on top of the normal fares.

How the operators compare

Prices are the operators' own published starting prices as of the date this guide was updated, and they change through the season.

Kilpissafarit: private feeDestination Kilpisjärvi: snowmobileDestination Kilpisjärvi: sledge
Price as printed €660 plus the normal fares From €155 From €115
Party size Not stated 1 to 4 1 to 6
Driving licence Not necessary Required No driving
Start time Agreed with you 09:30 or 14:00 09:30 or 14:00

The guiding company shows its detailed price only after a date is chosen, so its figures are from-prices with no stated basis and are not ranked against the fee.

Where these figures come from
  • Kilpissafarit: private fee: Any shared tour run for your party alone, at the normal fares plus a flat fee, on a schedule agreed with you.
  • Destination Kilpisjärvi: snowmobile: A private cairn tour for one to four guests who drive, with the guide's sledge for anyone who would rather ride.
  • Destination Kilpisjärvi: sledge: The same cairn as a private sledge ride behind the guide, for up to six guests, with nobody driving.

Two companies in Kilpisjärvi will take your party out on its own, and they price it in opposite ways.

A fee on top of a shared tour

The safari company runs its usual tours privately for a flat 660 euros added to the normal fares, and agrees the time with you.1 It works on any of its routes, which is the reason to use it: the tundra tour and the long loop are private only this way.

A private tour as a product

The village guiding company sells the Three-Country Cairn as a private tour from the start, for one to four guests on snowmobiles, with the guide’s sledge for anyone who prefers to ride.2 Its drivers need a car licence and it takes a deposit per machine. For a party that would rather not drive, the same company runs the cairn as a sledge ride for up to six.3

The shared tours these are built on are compared on snowmobile safaris in Kilpisjärvi.

Tours you can book

  • A private sledge ride behind the guide to the Three-Country Cairn

    Run by Destination Kilpisjärvi

    From €115pricing basis not stated

    Length3 h

    Listed on the operator’s own site · Price read Sep 23, 2026

    See it on the operator’s site(opens in a new tab)
  • A private snowmobile ride to the Three-Country Cairn, one to four guests

    Run by Destination Kilpisjärvi

    From €155pricing basis not stated

    Length3 h

    Listed on the operator’s own site · Price read Sep 23, 2026

    See it on the operator’s site(opens in a new tab)

Questions people ask

What does the 660-euro fee add up to for two people?

On the safari company's cairn tour, two people sharing one snowmobile pay 150 euros each, so the private version comes to 960 euros: the fee plus 300 in fares. For four people sharing two machines it is 660 plus 600, or 1,260 euros. The fee is the same for any party size, so the larger the group, the smaller its share per head.

What is the damage deposit on the private cairn tour?

The guiding company takes a refundable deposit of 600 euros per snowmobile, sending a payment link the day before, or cash against a receipt, returned after the tour if the machine is undamaged. The most you can be charged for damage is 1,400 euros. The safari company's listings record a self-liability of up to 1,000 euros per accident instead.

Can children come on a private tour?

On the guiding company's private tours, from ten: a child must be at least 145 centimetres tall to sit behind a driver, and smaller children ride in the guide's sledge; the sledge tour welcomes children over ten with a parent. The safari company's private version follows its normal rules, with the sledge open to children from eight and 140 centimetres to sit on a machine.

Written by

Lapland Handbook Staff

Lapland Handbook is written by its editorial staff in Rovaniemi. Every price, age limit and group size in a comparison is read from the operator's own page and marked "Not stated" when the operator does not publish it. Each guide names who should not book, and names the operator that suits each kind of group, whichever it is.

More about Lapland Handbook →