Private husky tour in Ranua: what is sold for one group

A bare hand held out to the snow-flecked snout of a white husky, close up

Illustration photo: meeting a husky, not at a Ranua kennel.

The short answer

For a husky ride with nobody else on it, book Trott Husky's seated ride on the booking platform, the only listing in Ranua that says only your group takes part. It costs more there than on the kennel's own site, so if you book directly, ask in writing whether the date is closed to other guests. Arctic Borealis sells a sled to yourself on shared rides, not a private tour.

How the operators compare

Prices are the operators' own published starting prices as of the date this guide was updated, and they change through the season.

Trott Husky on the platformTrott Husky directOld Pine Husky Lodge, KemiKota-Husky, Posio
Price per adult €200 €140 €116 – the lowest price per adult €995
Other guests None Not stated None None
Length 2 h 2 h 2 h 2 days
Drive from Ranua In Ranua In Ranua About 82 min About 65 min

Highlighted figures are the best in that row: the lowest price per adult. All price per adult. Only price is marked, and the cheapest is a drive away: a private ride an hour and a half off is not the same errand as one in the village.

Where these figures come from
  • Trott Husky on the platform: The seated ride with a musher, labelled private activity only: nobody outside your group rides. Free cancellation until the day before.
  • Trott Husky direct: The same ride on the kennel's own site, for up to five people, with a child fare. The page does not say whether others join.
  • Old Pine Husky Lodge, Kemi: A two-hour safari sold as private, at a lodge in Keminmaa, about 82 minutes' drive from Ranua by the Kemi figure.
  • Kota-Husky, Posio: Two days with a night in a cabin, run only for your own group of two to six. About 65 minutes' drive from Ranua.

In Ranua, the word private appears on exactly one husky listing: Trott Husky’s seated ride on the booking platform, where the highlights read “Private activity only”.1

The same ride, bought directly

Trott Husky’s own site sells the seated ride for 140 euros an adult, 60 less than the platform, with a child fare and a limit of five people. It does not say whether another party can share the date.2 The saving is real, and so is the gap in the wording: if privacy is the point, get the kennel to confirm it in the booking.

Further away

Arctic Borealis, the other kennel in Ranua, sells no private tour. The nearest private husky rides outside the village are a two-hour safari at a lodge near Kemi and a two-day trip in Posio run only for one group.

Which Ranua ride suits which party is on the best husky tour in Ranua.

Tours you can book

Questions people ask

Can Trott Husky's multi-day stays be private?

The kennel sells a five-day Lapland Escape and a six-day Nordic Adventure from its lodge, both for at most four people, with transfers from Rovaniemi, full board and cold-weather clothing included, at 1,600 and 1,900 euros per adult. The pages stress intimacy and small groups but do not say the stay is closed to other guests, so ask before assuming it is yours alone.

Is a sled of our own worth it at Arctic Borealis?

On the two-hour safari, two adults normally share a sled and swap at the halfway break. Ranua Resort, which resells the ride, charges a single supplement of 46 euros for a sled to yourself, and 59 euros on the full day. That buys your own team and all the driving, but other guests can still be on the same trail, so it is not privacy.

Can children come on the private ride?

The platform listing says the seated ride is not suitable for children under five. The kennel's own page for the same outing prints a child fare from three to ten years old, so the two disagree about the youngest guest. If your group includes a three- or four-year-old, ask the kennel directly which rule it applies before you book either way.

Written by

Lapland Handbook Staff

Lapland Handbook is written by its editorial staff in Rovaniemi. Every price, age limit and group size in a comparison is read from the operator's own page and marked "Not stated" when the operator does not publish it. Each guide names who should not book, and names the operator that suits each kind of group, whichever it is.

More about Lapland Handbook →