The best husky tour in Rovaniemi
Illustration photo: a sled dog, not necessarily from one of the four kennels compared below.
The short answer
Pick the tour for the group, not from a ranking. Couples who want the longest drive should book the longest self-driven tour, which turns away younger children. Families with babies or toddlers should book the short family programme at a kennel that provides a sleeping bag for the smallest. On a tight budget the park rides at Santa Claus Village cost least, as long as you already own winter clothing. If your dates might move, read the cancellation terms before you pay, because they differ more than the prices and one operator's own documents disagree. Nobody publishes a maximum group size, so ask before you pay.
How the operators compare
Prices are the operators' own published starting prices as of the date this guide was updated, and they change through the season.
| Snowtrail: Arctic Wilderness | Bearhill: Happy Trail | Bearhill: Call of the Wild | Husky Park 5 km | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Adult ticket | €199 | €196–201 | €249 | €110 — the cheapest adult ticket |
| Youngest child accepted | 3 | Under 1 by arrangement — takes the youngest children | 12 | Not stated |
| Maximum group size | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| People per sled | Not stated | 2 adults + 2 children | 2 | 3–5 |
| Who drives | Not stated | You, if 17+ | You, if 17+ | A guide |
| Published trail | Not stated | 6–10 km | 12–18 km | 5 km |
| Winter clothing | Included | Included | Included | Bring your own |
| Hotel pickup | Within 10 km of centre | Selected locations | Selected locations | None |
| Full refund if cancelled | Tour page and terms disagree | No full refund | No full refund | Up to 48 h before |
-
Snowtrail: Arctic Wilderness
- Adult ticket
- €199
- Youngest child accepted
- 3
- Maximum group size
- Not stated
- People per sled
- Not stated
- Who drives
- Not stated
- Published trail
- Not stated
- Winter clothing
- Included
- Hotel pickup
- Within 10 km of centre
- Full refund if cancelled
- Tour page and terms disagree
Our own supplier, and the most complete ticket of the four: reindeer and a kota break alongside the dogs, with clothing and pickup inside the price. Where it wins and where it loses each get their own section below.
-
Bearhill: Happy Trail
- Adult ticket
- €196–201
- Youngest child accepted
- Under 1 by arrangement — takes the youngest children
- Maximum group size
- Not stated
- People per sled
- 2 adults + 2 children
- Who drives
- You, if 17+
- Published trail
- 6–10 km
- Winter clothing
- Included
- Hotel pickup
- Selected locations
- Full refund if cancelled
- No full refund
The family tour, and the only one of the four that says outright that babies are welcome, with a sleeping bag for the smallest. Adults drive, children ride with them. The trade-off is the refund terms, the strictest here, and a distance quoted as a wide range rather than a figure.
-
Bearhill: Call of the Wild
- Adult ticket
- €249
- Youngest child accepted
- 12
- Maximum group size
- Not stated
- People per sled
- 2
- Who drives
- You, if 17+
- Published trail
- 12–18 km
- Winter clothing
- Included
- Hotel pickup
- Selected locations
- Full refund if cancelled
- No full refund
The longest drive anyone in Rovaniemi publishes, shared two to a sled with a swap halfway, so both adults actually drive. It is also the dearest ticket and closed to anyone under twelve, which rules it out for most families, and it carries the same strict refund terms as its sister tour.
-
Husky Park 5 km
- Adult ticket
- €110 — the cheapest adult ticket
- Youngest child accepted
- Not stated
- Maximum group size
- Not stated
- People per sled
- 3–5
- Who drives
- A guide
- Published trail
- 5 km
- Winter clothing
- Bring your own
- Hotel pickup
- None
- Full refund if cancelled
- Up to 48 h before
The cheapest ticket, park entry included and at Santa Claus Village, but a different product: a guide drives, several people share the sled, and you bring your own winter clothing and your own way there. Right for a spare hour with warm clothes already packed, wrong if you wanted to drive.
Highlighted figures are the best in that row: the cheapest adult ticket and takes the youngest children. Most rows carry no mark because they describe a choice rather than a ranking: being driven suits some groups better than driving, and more people per sled is cheaper as well as more crowded. The published trail is unmarked for a different reason — the highlighting picks the lowest figure, and on that row the longest run is the one people are after.
Where these figures come from
- Snowtrail: Arctic Wilderness snowtrailsafaris.com read 16 Sept 2026
- Bearhill: Happy Trail bearhillhusky.com read 16 Sept 2026
- Bearhill: Call of the Wild bearhillhusky.com read 16 Sept 2026
- Husky Park 5 km huskypark.fi read 17 Sept 2026
- Snowtrail: Arctic Wilderness: Our own supplier, and the most complete ticket of the four: reindeer and a kota break alongside the dogs, with clothing and pickup inside the price. Where it wins and where it loses each get their own section below.
- Bearhill: Happy Trail: The family tour, and the only one of the four that says outright that babies are welcome, with a sleeping bag for the smallest. Adults drive, children ride with them. The trade-off is the refund terms, the strictest here, and a distance quoted as a wide range rather than a figure.
- Bearhill: Call of the Wild: The longest drive anyone in Rovaniemi publishes, shared two to a sled with a swap halfway, so both adults actually drive. It is also the dearest ticket and closed to anyone under twelve, which rules it out for most families, and it carries the same strict refund terms as its sister tour.
- Husky Park 5 km: The cheapest ticket, park entry included and at Santa Claus Village, but a different product: a guide drives, several people share the sled, and you bring your own winter clothing and your own way there. Right for a spare hour with warm clothes already packed, wrong if you wanted to drive.
A ranking of husky tours has to pretend that everyone wants the same thing. They do not. The tour that suits two adults who want to drive for as long as possible refuses the family with a four-year-old, and the tour that suits the family would leave the couple feeling short-changed. So this page does not rank. It takes the four tours above and names the one that fits each kind of group, including the places where our own supplier is the wrong choice.
Every figure in the table is from the operator’s own page and none of it is ours. Where a cell says “Not stated”, the operator has not published it, and that is reported as a fact about the listing rather than held against the tour.
If what matters is a small group
This is the dimension people most want to judge on, and the one no operator lets you judge. Not one of the four publishes a maximum group size. A tour of eight and a tour of twenty can look identical on the page, and the difference between them — how long you wait for the sled in front, whether the guide has time for you — only shows on the day.
What the listings do publish is how many share a sled, which is not the same number but is related to it. Call of the Wild puts two on a sled and has them swap halfway, so nobody spends the run as a passenger. The park ride sits you among strangers.
Snowtrail is the only operator of the four to promise a small group in writing, but it attaches no number to the promise. That is worth something and not worth as much as a figure. Before you pay any of these operators, ask for the largest group they will take on your departure, and treat a precise answer as the good sign.
If you are travelling with small children
The Happy Trail. It is the only tour here whose operator says in so many words that babies are welcome, provides a sleeping bag for them, and prices children separately from adults. Adults drive and children ride in the same sled, so the family stays together, and the programme is the shortest of the three kennel tours — which matters more with a three-year-old than the length of the trail does.
Snowtrail is the reasonable second choice here, and on one count the better one: children from three can ride, and the reindeer and the kota break give a small child something to do other than sit in a sled. Against that, you cannot find out before booking who drives or how many share the sled.
Call of the Wild is not an option, since it turns away anyone under twelve. The park ride takes children at a reduced fare but does not publish a lower age limit, so ask before you take a toddler.
If the budget is tight
The park ride at Santa Claus Village is the cheapest ticket of the four by a wide margin, and park entry is inside the price. Two things make it less cheap than it looks. You get yourself there, and you supply your own winter clothing, which for a visitor without proper boots and overalls is either a rental or a very cold quarter of an hour.
If the budget is tighter still, Bearhill runs its own short rides at Santa Claus Village for well under the price of the park ride: around half the distance, musher-driven, and on the same terms of bring your own clothes and your own transport. It is the cheapest way to have been on a husky sled in Rovaniemi, and honest about being a taster.
If you want the longest ride
Call of the Wild, and it is not close. It publishes the longest trail and the longest time on the runners of any tour on this page, you drive for half of it, and the price difference over the shorter tours is small next to the difference in distance. It is the dearest ticket of the four and worth it for exactly one kind of group: adults, or older teenagers happy to ride, whose worry is that a husky tour will be over too soon.
If your dates might change
There is no clean winner here, and our own supplier is the reason. Snowtrail’s tour page promises free cancellation up to a day before departure, which would be the most forgiving of the four. Its general terms say something else: half the price is charged from a week out and all of it in the final day. Until Snowtrail says which applies, treat the stricter one as the real terms. What the terms do add is that if Snowtrail cancels for weather or safety, you can move the date or take a full refund.
The park ride refunds in full up to two days before. At Bearhill there is a cancellation fee whenever you cancel, and the whole ticket is lost inside a week, which for a family of four on the long tour is real money to have at risk.
If you want the least to arrange
Snowtrail. It has the most inside one ticket — pickup, clothing, a kota break and reindeer as well as the dogs — so it asks the least planning of you.
Where Snowtrail loses
Snowtrail supplies this site, so its weaker points need saying as clearly as the strong ones.
It is the least forthcoming tour here. It publishes no trail distance, no group size, no figure for how many share a sled, and nothing about who drives. None of that means the tour is short or crowded; it means you cannot know before paying, and the other operators have shown the numbers can be published.
The sharpest comparison is one the table does not show. Lapland Royal Adventures sells a four-hour wilderness safari at the same price as Snowtrail, with clothing and pickup included, and its page says you drive yourself, how many share a sled and how far you go. It is not in the table because it wins none of the categories above — and it has a problem of its own, since its product page states the distance as 7.5 km in one place and 5 km in another. But on the question of what you are told before paying, it tells you more for the same money.
If Snowtrail is your choice, ask it for the kilometres, the group size and who drives, in writing. The canonical husky safari guide explains why those three numbers decide the day.
None of the four wins for a group that does not want to share the trail at all. What a private husky tour costs a family, and what it buys over a group departure, is a separate sum — and with young children the binding constraint is not the operator but the age limit, which husky sledding with small children takes in order.
Questions people ask
Does an early-season tour still use a sled?
Not necessarily, and this is the trap in booking a husky tour for October or November. Bearhill's early-season option runs from mid-October to the end of November and is described as a husky cart or sled tour, the cart being what a kennel uses before there is enough snow to run runners on. Its main winter programmes do not open until the end of November, which is the kennels telling you plainly when they expect the snow. A cart ride behind a working team is a real experience and the dogs do not care, but it is not the thing in the photographs, and if you are travelling before December you should confirm which of the two you are actually booking rather than assume.
Is a musher-driven ride worse than driving the sled yourself?
Different rather than worse, and for some groups it is plainly better. Bearhill sells a musher-driven option covering ten kilometres for slightly more than its self-driven family tour, which tells you something: with a professional on the runners the team covers more ground, and you get to sit in the basket, watch the forest go by and keep your hands in your pockets. Driving is the better memory for most adults. Being driven is the better choice if the group includes someone who cannot stand on the runners for the whole run, if the temperature is severe, or if what you actually want is the landscape rather than the work.
Can a teenager drive the sled?
At Bearhill, no: its own pages set the minimum age for driving at 17, and teenagers ride in the guide's sled instead, which is worth knowing before you promise a fifteen-year-old the handlebar. At the park rides nobody drives, adults included, so the question does not arise. Snowtrail's page does not say who drives at all, let alone from what age, so if a teenager driving is the point of the trip, get the answer in writing before you book rather than finding out at the kennel.
