Private husky tour in Kemi: what is private and what is not

A cream-coloured husky with pale blue eyes sitting in the snow beside a wooden fence post, a wire fence and bare trees behind

Illustration photo: a husky by a kennel fence, not at the farm on this page.

The short answer

For a private ride with the least risk if plans change, book the farm's two-hour private safari through the booking platform, which can be cancelled free until a day before. For a longer private half-day that can be built around the dogs, a sauna and a meal, write to the farm about its own private package, but only once your dates are fixed.

How the operators compare

Prices are the operators' own published starting prices as of the date this guide was updated, and they change through the season.

Farm, platform listingFarm, own packageSwedish side, seated ride
Adult €116 €149 2,095 SEK
Child Discounted, amount not stated €105 (4 to 11) 995 SEK (7 to 12)
Length About 2 h 3 h 2 h, plus the transfer
Party size Not stated Not stated 2 to 4
Winter clothing Not stated Not included Not stated

All per person. Prices are not marked, because one is in Swedish kronor and the farm's two listings are different lengths with different extras.

Where these figures come from
  • Farm, platform listing: The farm's private safari as a booking platform sells it: about two hours for your group only, a ten o'clock start, coffee or tea.
  • Farm, own package: A three-hour private package booked by e-mail, with snacks and drinks, which the farm offers to shape around a sauna or other extras.
  • Swedish side, seated ride: A private seated ride for two to four behind a musher at a kennel beyond Tornio, priced in Swedish kronor, with a home-cooked meal.

Privacy is sold by one kennel near Kemi, the farm in Keminmaa, and it sells it twice. The ride from the Kemi safari house is a shared departure.

The two-hour private safari

On a booking platform the farm lists a private safari of about two hours for your group alone, starting at ten, with coffee or tea and a discount for children that the listing does not quantify.1 It is the version with a price you can see and a booking you can make today.

The farm’s own private package

Its own site sells a three-hour private package, booked by e-mail, with snacks and drinks, and invites you to build the rest around your party.2 It prices children aged four to eleven separately, where its shared rides run the child band to twelve, and it leaves boots, socks and overalls out of the price.

Across the river

If the farm is booked up, a kennel on the Swedish side beyond Tornio sells nothing but private rides, and its seated ride takes a party of two to four behind a musher.3 Its prices are in Swedish kronor and the transfer is extra.

The shared rides are compared on husky safari in Kemi, and the Swedish kennel’s other tours on private husky tours in Tornio.

Tours you can book

Questions people ask

What happens if we cancel?

It depends where you booked. The platform listing for the two-hour private safari refunds in full up to 24 hours before. The farm's own terms charge nothing up to 20 days ahead, half between 19 and 3 days, and the full price inside 3 days. On a family of four at the farm's own prices, a late change of plans costs the whole booking.

Can the private package include a sauna?

The farm says so in general terms: its private packages are tailor-made and it mentions a private sauna and an outdoor jacuzzi alongside the husky ride. What it does not print is what the sauna adds to the price, or whether the three hours in the listing include it. Ask for the whole package in writing before you confirm, so the price covers what you expect.

Is the ride from the Kemi safari house private?

No. It is a shared departure where two guests share a sled and take turns driving, and other guests ride the same trail. The same company does sell one private outing on request, a ride across the frozen sea in a heated sled with a glass roof, but it is pulled by a snowmobile, not by dogs, and is covered on the private snowmobile page.

Written by

Lapland Handbook Staff

Lapland Handbook is written by its editorial staff in Rovaniemi. Every price, age limit and group size in a comparison is read from the operator's own page and marked "Not stated" when the operator does not publish it. Each guide names who should not book, and names the operator that suits each kind of group, whichever it is.

More about Lapland Handbook →