Ice fishing price in Kilpisjärvi: what sets the figure

Colourful ice-fishing shelters out on a frozen lake, seen between bare winter trees and dry reeds

Illustration photo: ice-fishing shelters in Wisconsin, not in Kilpisjärvi.

The short answer

The cheapest way onto the ice is a sleigh seat booked on the operator's own site. A family of four with children of eight or more pays the same per head as adults, so four sleigh seats are the family total. The platform listing opens at a higher figure but can be cancelled up to a day ahead instead of a week. For four or more anglers, compare with the private guide, whose price per head falls as the group grows.

How the operators compare

Prices are the operators' own published starting prices as of the date this guide was updated, and they change through the season.

Kilpissafarit, own siteKilpissafarit, on the platformGrayling Land
Starting price €125 per person €145 per person €400 for one person
Family of four, all in the sleigh €500 Not stated €700
Free cancellation 7 days ahead 24 hours ahead Not stated
Pick-up within 5 km €8 per person €5 per person Not stated
Self-driving €145 shared, €195 alone Not stated +€100 per snowmobile

Totals worked out from published prices. The platform listing opens at a single figure and does not show the sleigh seat, so its family total is not given.

Where these figures come from
  • Kilpissafarit, own site: The shared afternoon booked directly: three seat prices, pick-up at eight euros a head, full refund only a week ahead.
  • Kilpissafarit, on the platform: The same afternoon on the booking platform, opening at the shared-snowmobile price and cancellable up to a day ahead.
  • Grayling Land: A private fishing guide whose price covers the whole group and rises by 100 euros for each extra person up to five.

Three things set the price of ice fishing in Kilpisjärvi before a line goes into the water.

How you ride out

On the shared trip the seat decides it: the towed sleigh is the cheapest, sharing a snowmobile costs 20 euros more a head and driving alone 70 more. The fishing, the gear, the thermal outfit and the hot drink are the same in every seat.1

Where you book

The operator’s own site shows the sleigh seat; the platform opens at the shared-snowmobile figure. The trade is flexibility: booked directly, the trip is refunded in full only if you cancel a week or more before, and not at all after that.2

How many of you there are

Children of eight or more pay what adults pay, so a family of four in the sleigh costs four seats. The private guide’s scale runs the other way, and at four people it comes to 175 euros each, more than a sleigh seat and less than a snowmobile of your own.

The trips themselves are compared on ice fishing in Kilpisjärvi.

Questions people ask

What does the pick-up cost?

On the operator's own site, eight euros a person for a pick-up from accommodation within five kilometres of its office. The booking platform's listing, when this site read it the day before, gave the same service at five euros a person. For a family of four that is a difference of twelve euros, small beside the cancellation terms, but worth checking at the moment you book.

Is there a deposit or an excess to worry about?

On the safari company's own-site page for the ice-fishing trip no excess is printed. Its snowmobile pages on the booking platform set a self-liability of 1,000 euros per accident for anyone driving, and the same company runs this trip, so a driver should ask what applies. In the towed sleigh there is nothing to drive and the question does not arise.

How much is the lake permit if we need one?

The Käsivarsi-Tarvanto area permit, which grants fishing on the Finnish part of Lake Kilpisjärvi, costs 15 euros a day for an adult and 7.50 for anyone under eighteen, or 100 and 50 euros for the 2026 season. The national fisheries management fee applies only to anglers aged eighteen to sixty-nine. Neither company says whether its guests need the area permit.

Written by

Lapland Handbook Staff

Lapland Handbook is written by its editorial staff in Rovaniemi. Every price, age limit and group size in a comparison is read from the operator's own page and marked "Not stated" when the operator does not publish it. Each guide names who should not book, and names the operator that suits each kind of group, whichever it is.

More about Lapland Handbook →