Northern lights tour price in Kilpisjärvi: what a family actually pays

Faint green aurora rising above snowy peaks and a shoreline, with orange-lit clouds low in the sky

Illustration photo: the aurora over mountains in Norway, not in Kilpisjärvi.

The short answer

For a family of four, the private tundra evening at one price for up to four is the cheapest on paper, ten euros under four sleigh seats on the snowmobile evening, but its page prints no age limit, so check it takes your children. For two people, the sleigh seats are far cheaper. Book the snowmobile evening on the platform instead of directly if your dates might move: it refunds up to a day ahead, while the operator's own terms need a week.

How the operators compare

Prices are the operators' own published starting prices as of the date this guide was updated, and they change through the season.

Snowmobile evening, own siteMinivan chaseGrayling Land
Family of four €460 all in the sleigh €600 €450 – the lowest total for four people
Two adults €230 in the sleigh Needs four people €450
Free cancellation 7 days ahead 7 days ahead Not stated
Pick-up within 5 km €8 per person €8 per person Not stated

Highlighted figures are the best in that row: the lowest total for four people. Totals worked out from published prices, with children paying the adult price as the safari company states. The same snowmobile evening on the booking platform opens at 190 euros, the own site's figure for driving alone.

Where these figures come from
  • Snowmobile evening, own site: The tundra-lake evening booked directly: three seat prices, pick-up at eight euros a head, refund only a week ahead.
  • Minivan chase: Four hours by road following the forecast, the same price for every seat and a minimum of four people.
  • Grayling Land: A private tundra evening at one price for one to four people, sleigh transport included and driving extra.

The price of an aurora evening in Kilpisjärvi depends on the seat, the channel and the size of your party more than on the evening itself.

The seat

On the snowmobile evening the towed sleigh is the cheapest seat, sharing a machine costs 25 euros more a head and driving alone 75 more.1 The outfit, the photographs, the hot drink and the pastry are the same whichever seat you take.

The channel

Booked on the operator’s own site, the evening is refunded in full only if you cancel at least seven days before, and not at all after that; the company refunds everything if it cancels for dangerous weather.2 The platform listing allowed cancellation up to a day ahead when this site read it.

The party

Children pay the adult price, so a family’s total is simply the seats. The private tundra guide charges one sum for one to four people,3 which makes him the cheapest option for four and one of the dearest for two.

The evenings themselves are compared on best northern lights tour in Kilpisjärvi.

Questions people ask

Why does the same evening cost 190 euros on the platform?

The platform listing opens at 190 euros, the figure the operator's own page gives for driving a snowmobile alone. The own page lists all three seats: 115 euros in the towed sleigh, 140 each for two sharing a machine and 190 for one person driving alone. If you want the sleigh or a shared machine, check which seat the platform is charging for before you pay.

Are there extras to budget for?

A pick-up from accommodation within five kilometres is extra on the safari company's evenings: eight euros a person on its own site, and five on the platform when this site read it. Anyone driving a snowmobile on the platform listing accepts a self-liability of 1,000 euros per accident. The tundra guide charges 100 euros per snowmobile if you want to drive rather than ride in the sleigh.

What does the private sledge evening cost?

The agency's list shows a starting figure of 150 euros and does not say whether that is per person or for the party; the full price appears only once a date is chosen, which this site did not do. Its terms keep the advance payment, 30 per cent or 50 euros a person, if you cancel more than eight days ahead, and the full price after that.

Written by

Lapland Handbook Staff

Lapland Handbook is written by its editorial staff in Rovaniemi. Every price, age limit and group size in a comparison is read from the operator's own page and marked "Not stated" when the operator does not publish it. Each guide names who should not book, and names the operator that suits each kind of group, whichever it is.

More about Lapland Handbook →