Husky safari price in Muonio: what the money buys

Two huskies resting in the snow beside a tall wire fence, bare trees and a misty field behind

Illustration photo: two huskies by a fence, not at the kennels named here.

The short answer

Expect 160 euros a head for the shortest ride that goes anywhere, Wildmaker's private eight kilometres with transport from your lodging. Its thirteen kilometres cost 200, and a full day alone on a sled 450. Nivunki Village's three-hour half day costs 440 a head and includes lunch in a kota. Nobody publishes a child price for a sled ride, so a family's total is a question to ask.

How the operators compare

Prices are the operators' own published starting prices as of the date this guide was updated, and they change through the season.

Wildmaker: 8 kmWildmaker: 13 kmNivunki: half day
Price per person €160 – the lowest price per person €200 €440
Two adults €320 €400 €880
Distance 8 km 13 km 18 km
Per kilometre €20.00 €15.38 – the lowest price per kilometre on the sled €24.44
Transport from lodging Included Included Not stated
Meal Coffee Coffee Salmon soup

Highlighted figures are the best in that row: the lowest price per person and the lowest price per kilometre on the sled. All three print a price per person. Totals multiply that price by the number of adults; the per-kilometre row divides it by the distance each seller prints. Wildmaker's full day, 450 euros with lunch and a sled each, is left out because it gives no distance.

Where these figures come from
  • Wildmaker: 8 km: Private, two of your group to a team taking turns, with transport from your lodging and coffee by a fire.
  • Wildmaker: 13 km: The same private ride with five more kilometres on the trail and the same transport and coffee.
  • Nivunki: half day: Three hours behind your own team, with salmon soup and hot drinks in a kota halfway round.

The price of a husky ride in Muonio depends first on whether it is a ride at all: the resort’s cheapest husky booking is a kennel visit, and its sled rides are sold only inside holidays.

What the private rides include

Wildmaker’s prices cover a private ride, a guide, the transfer from your accommodation in Muonio, coffee by a fire and time with the dogs.1 The longer of the two short rides is the better value by distance, which the table shows.

What the half day includes

Nivunki Village’s 440 euros buy three hours and eighteen kilometres with your own team and a kota lunch of salmon soup.2 Its card mentions no transport, so a guest without a car should ask.

For a group of four

Four adults pay 640 euros on the private eight kilometres, 800 on the thirteen and 1,760 on the village half day.

For Levi’s prices, 46 minutes away, see husky safari price in Levi; the kennel visit is on husky farm in Muonio.

Questions people ask

Can two of us book the village half day on our own?

Its terms set a minimum group of four persons unless a tour says otherwise, and the half-day page does not say otherwise. A couple should therefore ask whether a departure will run, or whether they would be joined to other guests, before counting on it. The private rides have no such minimum, since they are sold to your party alone.

What does cancelling cost?

Nivunki Village refunds the whole price if you cancel more than 24 hours before departure and charges it all inside that. Wildmaker's husky page prints no cancellation terms, so ask for them when you book. Harriniva's holidays, which include their own husky rides, take the full amount at booking and keep it as the cancellation fee.

Are the resort's husky rides cheaper inside a holiday?

There is no way to tell. Harriniva sells its sled rides only as part of holidays of three nights and more, priced per person for the whole stay with meals, clothing and transfers included, and it gives no separate price for the ride. The only husky booking it sells on its own is the kennel visit without a ride.

Written by

Lapland Handbook Staff

Lapland Handbook is written by its editorial staff in Rovaniemi. Every price, age limit and group size in a comparison is read from the operator's own page and marked "Not stated" when the operator does not publish it. Each guide names who should not book, and names the operator that suits each kind of group, whichever it is.

More about Lapland Handbook →