Husky safari prices in Ranua

A brown and white husky in a collar looking towards the camera on trodden snow, with a wooden building blurred behind

Illustration photo: a husky between runs, not from one of the outings priced here.

The short answer

A family should price Arctic Borealis first: children ride in the parents' sled at a printed child fare, and on its one-hour ride two adults and two children aged three to eleven pay 462 euros. At Trott Husky the platform charges 200 euros a place to sit and 285 to drive, and prints no child fare. Per hour, Trott Husky's three-hour driving safari is the cheapest ride in Ranua, at 95 euros.

How the operators compare

Prices are the operators' own published starting prices as of the date this guide was updated, and they change through the season.

Trott Husky: seated, 2 hTrott Husky: driving, 3 hArctic Borealis: 1 hArctic Borealis: 2 h
Adult price €200 €285 €154 – the lowest adult price €198
Duration 2 h 3 h 1 h 2 h
Price per hour €100.00 €95.00 – the lowest price per hour €154.00 €99.00
Child price Not stated No children €77 (3 to 11) €98 (3 to 11)
Two adults, two children Not stated No children €462 €592

Highlighted figures are the best in that row: the lowest adult price and the lowest price per hour. Adult prices per person. Trott Husky's platform listings print no child fare, so a family total there is not stated rather than guessed.

Where these figures come from
  • Trott Husky: seated, 2 h: A musher drives and you sit, with time among the dogs and a hot drink by the fire. One price for every place on the platform.
  • Trott Husky: driving, 3 h: Your own team and the runners under your feet for the driving part. The longest ride here and the cheapest by the hour.
  • Arctic Borealis: 1 h: Two adults share a sled and the driving, with the children aboard at a printed child fare. The dearest hour, and the lowest family total printed.
  • Arctic Borealis: 2 h: The same shared sled for two hours, with child fares printed for ages three to eleven and a teenager fare above that.

Ranua’s two husky kennels charge in different ways, and the difference shows as soon as children come along.

Sitting and standing

Trott Husky’s two-hour ride is 200 euros on the platform and puts you in the sled while a musher drives, with time to meet the dogs and a hot drink by the fire afterwards. Its three-hour safari is 285 and gives you a team of your own, standing on the sled for the driving. Both listings expect you to arrive dressed for the weather, and neither prints a child fare.

Sharing a sled

Arctic Borealis prices its one-hour ride at 154 euros an adult and 77 for a child of three to eleven, and its two-hour ride at 198 and 98. The children travel in the parents’ sled, so a family of four books one shared outing rather than four separate places.

The hour that costs less

Because the dearest of Trott Husky’s outings is also the longest, the per-hour figures cross over: 95 euros an hour for the driving safari, 99 for Arctic Borealis’ two-hour ride and 100 for the seated ride. The one-hour ride is the dearest hour but the cheapest outing. Neither kennel says how much of its time is actually on the sled, so the comparison is between whole outings rather than between runs.

What the rides are like, and how the kennels run them, is on husky safari in Ranua, and the rest of the village’s winter is on the Ranua destination page.

Tours you can book

Questions people ask

Why does the longest ride cost the least per hour?

Because Trott Husky's extra 85 euros buy an extra hour as well as the reins: three hours against two. Divided out, the driving safari is 95 euros an hour, Arctic Borealis' two-hour ride 99 and Trott Husky's seated ride 100. None of the listings says how much of the time is spent on the sled rather than with the dogs or by the fire, so treat all the figures as the whole outing.

What does a family of four pay at Trott Husky?

The platform listings print one price per place and no child fare, so the children's price there is not stated: two adults on the seated ride pay 400 euros, and you should ask what the children cost. The kennel's own site prints 140 euros an adult and 100 a child aged three to ten for the same seated ride, which comes to 480 for two adults and two children.

Who cannot take the three-hour safari?

The listing rules out children under sixteen, pregnant women and people with back problems, which follows from what it asks of you: standing on the runners of your own sled for the driving part rather than sitting in one. The seated ride has none of those restrictions beyond a minimum age of five, since a musher does the work.

Written by

Lapland Handbook Staff

Lapland Handbook is written by its editorial staff in Rovaniemi. Every price, age limit and group size in a comparison is read from the operator's own page and marked "Not stated" when the operator does not publish it. Each guide names who should not book, and names the operator that suits each kind of group, whichever it is.

More about Lapland Handbook →