Reindeer safari price from Tornio: what the money covers

Reindeer grazing in a snowy farmyard at dusk, with a snow-covered snowmobile in front and a pale farmhouse and forested hill behind

Illustration photo: a reindeer farmyard in winter, not one of the places priced here.

The short answer

Compare what each price buys rather than the figure. The Kemi farm visit is the dearest and the only one with a sleigh ride and a full outfit lent. The Ylitornio ticket is the cheapest per head and the only one where a family total can be worked out, because it prints its child rule. The Ranua park sits between them and lends outerwear. Booked on the platforms, all three refund in full up to a day before.

How the operators compare

Prices are the operators' own published starting prices as of the date this guide was updated, and they change through the season.

Kemi farm visitYlitornio Santa stationRanua activity park
Price €125 €47 – the lowest price per person €119
Child price Not stated Free up to 3, then €47 Not stated
Family of four, one child under 4 Not stated €141 Not stated
Length 2 h 1 day 3 h
Sleigh ride behind reindeer Yes, 1.5 km Not stated No
Clothing lent Yes Not stated Outerwear
Free cancellation Up to 24 h, on the platform Up to 24 h on the platform; own site not stated Up to 24 h, on the platform

Highlighted figures are the best in that row: the lowest price per person. All three price per person. The family row is two adults, one child aged four or over and one under four, worked out only where the operator prints its child rule.

Where these figures come from
  • Kemi farm visit: Two hours from the safari house in Kemi: a winter outfit lent, feeding the herd, a sleigh ride of a kilometre and a half, a hot drink.
  • Ylitornio Santa station: A day ticket for a converted railway station, with Santa, gingerbread and crafts, and feeding the reindeer among them.
  • Ranua activity park: Three hours of an activity park where you feed a reindeer and lead it on a walk, with sledging, skating, snowshoes and a sauna.

The three reindeer outings within reach of Tornio publish prices that look comparable and are not.

What each figure buys

The dearest ticket, at Kemi, pays for two hours that are all about the reindeer, and it is the only one that puts you in a sleigh behind them. The Ranua park spreads its price over three hours in which reindeer are one activity among several. The cheapest, in Ylitornio, is a day ticket, and the reindeer are one small part of it. Measured by time with the animals, the order runs the other way round from the price list.

Why only one family total

The Santa station is the only one of the three that prints a rule for children: the youngest go free and everyone else pays the adult price.1 That is why the table can show a family total for Ylitornio and not for the others. Kemi and Ranua print no child price at all, so any total for them would be a guess. The Kemi visit itself is described on reindeer farm from Kemi.

Tours you can book

Questions people ask

Is it cheaper to book the Kemi visit on the company's own site?

There is no way to tell from the page. The company's own site describes the farm visit and its Wednesday-to-Sunday afternoon start, but prints no price, so the 125 euros on the booking platform is the only published figure. If you book direct, ask for the price and the cancellation terms in writing, since the refund terms in the table belong to the platform booking.

What costs extra at the Ylitornio station?

Its own booking page sells a craft session at 15 to 18 euros a head and a cooking experience at 59 euros for two, and the platform listing names skating, the café, the souvenir shop, handicraft sessions and a printed photograph with Santa as things that may cost more. None of those is needed to feed the reindeer, which the day ticket already covers.

Are the drives part of the price?

No. None of the three includes transport from Tornio: the Kemi visit starts at the company's safari house in Kemi and drives you on from there, the Ylitornio ticket starts at the gate, and the Ranua park starts at its base in the village. The road distances from Tornio are 28, 63 and 144 kilometres, which is worth counting into the cost of the Ranua day.

Written by

Lapland Handbook Staff

Lapland Handbook is written by its editorial staff in Rovaniemi. Every price, age limit and group size in a comparison is read from the operator's own page and marked "Not stated" when the operator does not publish it. Each guide names who should not book, and names the operator that suits each kind of group, whichever it is.

More about Lapland Handbook →