Get 10% off every booking with code LH10

A private Santa Claus visit in Rovaniemi

A man, a woman and a young boy in blue winter overalls sitting beside Santa Claus in a log cabin hung with fairy lights, a woven wall hanging and a green painted cupboard behind them

The short answer

Work out the price for your whole family before comparing, because one private visit charges each person, one charges a family package plus a fee, and our own supplier charges one sum for the whole party. For a family of four the cheapest is the short per-person visit and the dearest the family package. Then decide how much you want around the meeting: a short visit with a gift for each child, a two-hour visit with elves, or a six-hour evening with a sleigh ride, dinner and a look for the northern lights.

How the operators compare

Prices are the operators' own published starting prices as of the date this guide was updated, and they change through the season.

Snowtrail: Private Evening with SantaStayLapland: private Santa visitJoulukka: Christmas Command Center
Price from €1540 €249 €2159
What the price covers The whole party, size not stated Not stated Up to 6 guests, plus a 6% fee
Two adults and two children €1540 €996 if priced per person €2289–2543 with the fee
Length 6 h 1.5 h 2 h, with transport
Time with Santa Not stated 30 min Not stated
Around the meeting Sleigh ride, reindeer, salmon dinner in a kota, aurora watching An elf guide, berry juice and cookies Elves, a forest path and the Command Center
Gift for each child Not stated Yes — a gift from Santa for every child Yes — a gift from Santa for every child
Photo with Santa Yes — a photo with Santa in the price Not stated Not stated

Highlighted figures are the best in that row: a gift from Santa for every child and a photo with Santa in the price. The price rows carry no mark because the three are not priced in the same unit, and the per-person total is conditional. Use the family row for your own group size rather than the starting price.

Where these figures come from
  • Snowtrail: Private Evening with Santa: Our own supplier. Where the evening wins and where it loses is set out in its own section below.
  • StayLapland: private Santa visit: The only one of the three that says how long you are with Santa, and the only one that lends winter clothing in the price.
  • Joulukka: Christmas Command Center: Runs all year on request, lets children under two in free, and asks for the children's names, ages and hobbies in advance so the elves can use them during the visit.

A private meeting with Santa Claus means no queue and no other families in the room, and every operator who sells one prices it differently. Whether a private visit is worth paying for at all, and why the meeting itself is free at Santa Claus Village, is covered in the meet Santa Claus guide. This page is for the family that has decided on a private visit and wants to know which.

Turn every price into your family’s price

The three visits compared here charge in three different ways, so their starting prices say almost nothing on their own.

StayLapland’s starting price is the lowest, and on the evidence of its page it is charged for each person, so it multiplies by the size of the family. Joulukka charges a family package for up to six, then adds a service fee at checkout and a higher package price over Christmas and New Year. Snowtrail charges one sum for the whole party, which it has confirmed to us, so the price for each person falls as the party grows: for a family of four it is €385 a head.

For a family of four, that puts StayLapland well below the other two, Snowtrail in the middle and Joulukka at the top. For a family of six the order holds, but the gaps close, because two of the three do not charge more for the extra guests.

Half an hour, two hours or an evening

The visits also differ in how much of the time is Santa and how much is around him.

StayLapland’s is the shortest and the only one that says how long you spend with Santa: half an hour of a visit lasting an hour and a half, with an elf, a drink and a gift for each child. For small children that is often the right size.

Joulukka’s two hours include the drive both ways, a walk along a forest path and an elf-led visit as well as the meeting, and a gift for every child. It is the one to choose if the build-up, rather than the meeting, is what the children will remember.

Snowtrail’s private evening is a different purchase: six hours with a sleigh ride through the forest to Santa’s cabin, reindeer, a salmon dinner in a kota and a look for the northern lights afterwards. It is the most for the money if the family wants a whole evening, and too much if the youngest will fade after an hour.

The cheaper private tours

Snowtrail also sells two shorter tours to the same cabin that it calls private, at a fraction of the evening’s price. Their pages do not say whether the price is for each person or for the group, so they cannot be set against the visits above, and the meet Santa Claus guide explains how they compare with Snowtrail’s group tours.

Arctic Circle Snowmobile Park lists a private Santa experience with a reindeer sleigh ride from €250, but its page states neither what that price covers nor how long the experience lasts.

Where Snowtrail wins and where it loses

Snowtrail supplies this site. Its private evening wins on what surrounds the meeting: a sleigh ride, reindeer, dinner and a chance of the northern lights on one night, with a photo with Santa in the price. Because it is priced for the party, it becomes better value with every extra person, provided the party fits.

It loses on the details a parent needs to book with confidence. The page does not say how large the party can be, how long you spend with Santa, whether winter clothing is provided, or whether there is a gift for the children, which both of the other visits promise. It does not take children under three, and six hours is long for a small child.

Questions people ask

Can grandparents or a larger party come?

Yes, on different terms. Joulukka's family price covers up to six guests and charges €102 for each additional person, with children under two free. StayLapland charges by the person and needs at least two bookings on weekdays and four on Sundays and public holidays. Snowtrail's private evening is priced for the whole party, but its page does not say how large the party can be, so ask before assuming a family of eight pays the same as a family of four.

Can we bring a toddler or a baby?

It depends on which visit. Joulukka lets children under two in free. StayLapland sets no minimum age on the page but says children under thirteen must come with adults paying the full price. Snowtrail's private evening takes children from three, so a family with a two-year-old cannot book it. A six-hour evening that ends after dark is also long for a child of three or four, which is worth weighing against the shorter visits even when the age limit allows it.

What if we have to cancel?

StayLapland refunds in full until seven days before and keeps the whole price after that. Snowtrail's tour page promises free cancellation until 24 hours before, but its general terms charge half from seven days out and all of it in the final day, so ask which applies to a four-figure booking. Joulukka's experience page does not state its cancellation terms, so read them before paying. With sums this large, check whether your travel insurance covers a cancelled excursion.

Written by

Lapland Handbook Staff

Lapland Handbook is written by its editorial staff in Rovaniemi. Every price, age limit and group size in a comparison is read from the operator's own page and marked "Not stated" when the operator does not publish it. Each guide names who should not book, and says so when a competitor is the better choice.

Ready to look at dates?

See dates and prices