Husky safari prices in Saariselkä

A long line of dog sled teams seen from above, crossing a wide snowy plain between low hills in low sunlight

Illustration photo: dog sled teams on open snow, not on any of the tours priced here.

The short answer

Price a Saariselkä husky ride by the time it gives you on the sled, not by the ticket. The long day with lunch costs the most in total but the least per minute; the short family ride is the dearest minute but the only one a toddler can join, and a toddler is listed at no charge. If you are sharing a ticket with a child, add the child fare before comparing, because it is well below the adult price on every tour that shows one.

How the operators compare

Prices are the operators' own published starting prices as of the date this guide was updated, and they change through the season.

Lapland Safaris: 5 kmLapland Safaris: 10 kmLapland Safaris: 20 kmArctic Timetravels: 10 km
Adult price €169 – the lowest adult price €236 €287 €249
Child price €127 (4–14), €0 (2–3) €177 (4–14) €215 (12–14) Not stated
Time on the sled About 30 min About 50 min About 2 h 45 min, half as passenger
Adult price per minute on the sled €5.63 €4.72 €2.39 – the lowest price per minute on the sled €5.53
Adult price per km €33.80 €23.60 €14.35 €24.90
Length of the tour 2 h 30 min 3 h 5 h 4 h
Two adults and two children aged 12–14 €592 €826 €1,004 €996 at the adult price

Highlighted figures are the best in that row: the lowest adult price and the lowest price per minute on the sled. All four include the transfer and winter clothing, so neither is a row. Time on the sled is the listing's own figure. Lapland Safaris' child fares appear on its page only when a child is added to the participants; Arctic Timetravels' family figure uses the adult price four times.

Where these figures come from
  • Lapland Safaris: 5 km: The dearest minute on the sled and the only ride here that takes children from two, who are listed at 0 euros until they turn four. Children from four to fourteen pay 127 euros.
  • Lapland Safaris: 10 km: Fifty minutes on the sled for 236 euros, with a child fare of 177 from the age of four. Per minute it sits between the short ride and the long day.
  • Lapland Safaris: 20 km: The highest ticket and the cheapest minute by a wide margin: about two hours on the sled and lunch by the fire. Children must be twelve, and pay 215 euros.
  • Arctic Timetravels: 10 km: Close to the short ride per minute, because only 45 minutes of the four hours are on the sled and you spend half of them as passenger. No child fare in our record.

A husky ticket in Saariselkä buys the same things around the ride wherever you book it: the transfer to the kennel and a warm outfit. What the tickets do not buy in equal measure is time behind the dogs, and dividing by it changes the order of the four in the table.

What a minute on the sled costs

Lapland Safaris’ five-kilometre ride gives about half an hour on the sled for 169 euros, 5.63 euros a minute. Its ten-kilometre safari comes to 4.72 a minute and the twenty-kilometre day, with about two hours on the sled, to 2.39: less than half of what the short ride charges for the same minute. Arctic Timetravels’ ten kilometres land at 5.53 a minute, because its four hours include a visit to the kennel and the listing puts 45 minutes on the trail. Half of those you spend as the passenger, so a minute with the reins in your own hands costs 11.07 euros.

Per kilometre the order is the same, from 33.80 euros on the short ride to 14.35 on the long day.

What the children pay

Lapland Safaris sells separate child places, and its page shows the fare only once a child is added to the participants. On the five-kilometre ride children from four to fourteen pay 127 euros and children of two and three are listed at 0 euros, so two adults with a six-year-old and a three-year-old pay 465 euros. The ten-kilometre child fare is 177 euros from the age of four, and the twenty kilometres take children only from twelve, at 215 euros.

For two adults and two children of twelve to fourteen, the one group all four tours accept, that makes 592 euros on the short ride, 826 on the ten kilometres and 1,004 on the long day. Arctic Timetravels’ listing shows one price, so the same family pays 996 euros at the adult rate unless the operator quotes a child fare when you ask.

The evening rides, priced by the kilometre

Star Arctic’s two evening tours do not state a time on the sled, so they cannot go in the per-minute row. By the kilometre, the five-kilometre run at 215 euros costs 43 euros a kilometre, the dearest kilometre on this page, and the eight-kilometre run at 260 euros costs 32.50. Two people share each sled on the longer one, so one sled costs 520 euros. What these tickets buy over the daytime rides is the dark and the chance of the aurora, not more trail.

Which tour suits which group, and what the cancellation terms are, is argued on the best husky tour in Saariselkä. Why the husky trips up here are built around longer days is the subject of what a husky safari in Saariselkä is like, and the rest of the resort is on the Saariselkä destination page.

Tours you can book

Questions people ask

Does the price change from date to date?

Not in the month we checked. On Lapland Safaris' January 2027 calendar the five-kilometre ride showed 169 euros for one adult on every bookable date, and the ten-kilometre safari showed the same 413 euros for one adult and one child on every date it listed. We read January only, so ask for other months before you plan around these figures.

What is the lunch on the 20 km day?

Lapland Safaris lists the menu on the tour page: soup, bread and a table spread, then coffee or tea with a sweet pastry, eaten by an open fire at the kennel. The listing does not say what it serves for special diets, so if anyone in your party needs one, tell the operator when you book rather than on the day.

When does the 20 km day run?

On Tuesdays and Thursdays at 8.30 in the morning, as a five-hour programme, so it takes the morning and the early afternoon. On the January 2027 calendar the first dates that could be booked were the 12th and the 14th; the earlier January dates were crossed out. If your stay ends before mid-January, check that it runs at all.

Written by

Lapland Handbook Staff

Lapland Handbook is written by its editorial staff in Rovaniemi. Every price, age limit and group size in a comparison is read from the operator's own page and marked "Not stated" when the operator does not publish it. Each guide names who should not book, and names the operator that suits each kind of group, whichever it is.

More about Lapland Handbook →