Snowmobile safari price from Posio: what a family pays, and the deductible

A black-and-white view of a snowy track running between pine trees in bright winter light.

A route network is free to look at; a guide, fuel and a deductible are what the price is made of.

The short answer

For two adults sharing a machine and two children aged three to eleven, Kemijärvi's one-hour ride comes to 270 euros and Salla's two-hour ride to the fell hut 334. Ranua prints no child fare, so its family total cannot be worked out. Check the damage deductible as well: on every option it can cost more than the ride itself.

How the operators compare

Prices are the operators' own published starting prices as of the date this guide was updated, and they change through the season.

Suomu Safaris, KemijärviSallatunturin Tuvat, SallaLupland Adventures, Ranua
Length 1 h About 2 h 1 h
2 adults on one machine €190 – the lowest price for a couple sharing €220 Not stated
Child fare €40 (3–11) €57 (3–11) Not stated
2 adults + 2 children €270 €334 Not stated
Damage deductible Not stated €890 per machine €980, or €150 with a €50 waiver

Highlighted figures are the best in that row: the lowest price for a couple sharing. Totals use only published prices. Ranua prices per person without saying whether two can share a machine, so its couple and family totals are left blank rather than guessed.

Where these figures come from
  • Suomu Safaris, Kemijärvi: A one-hour safari on the Suomutunturi fell, equipment, guiding and insurance included; 85 minutes from Posio.
  • Sallatunturin Tuvat, Salla: About two hours to the Ruuhitunturi fell hut with coffee and a bun; 92 minutes from Posio.
  • Lupland Adventures, Ranua: A one-hour safari with winter outerwear and a hot drink; about an hour from Posio.

A family staying in Posio pays for a snowmobile safari twice: once at the counter, and once in the risk of damaging the machine.

What the neighbours charge a family

Kemijärvi’s fell company prices a shared machine and a child fare on every ride.1 Salla prices by the machine, with a child fare on top. Ranua prints a price per person and nothing for children, so its family total stays blank.

The number under the price

Each operator counts the deductible differently: Salla per machine, Ranua per driver and incident, and only Ranua sells a waiver that shrinks it. The Kemijärvi page says insurance is included without giving a figure, so ask what you would pay if a machine were damaged.

A day on a rental

A rental near Posio is 350 euros a day with a 1,300-euro deductible.2 For a family it buys a machine but no guide, no sled for the children and no clothing in the listing.

Where each operator puts a child is set out on family snowmobile safari from Posio.

Tours you can book

Questions people ask

Are fuel and clothing in the price?

On the safaris, mostly yes. Salla's company says every safari includes the machine, fuel, equipment, a guide and a driving lesson, and that you can arrive in everyday clothes. Kemijärvi's fell company includes equipment, guiding and insurance, and Ranua lends winter outerwear. The Posio rental listing mentions none of these, so ask about fuel, a helmet and clothing before you collect the machine.

Is the rental cheaper by the weekend or the week?

Per day, yes. The same machine is listed at 650 euros for a weekend and 1,500 for a week, against the daily rate for a single day. Each day includes 200 kilometres of riding, and every kilometre beyond that costs 60 cents, so a long day on Posio's route network can add to the bill. The deductible stays the same whatever the rental period.

When do we pay, and what if we cancel?

Each company sets its own rules and not all of them print them on the ride's page. Ranua's listing allows free cancellation up to 24 hours before on the booking platform. The Kemijärvi and Salla pages quoted here do not state cancellation terms, so ask when you book and get the answer in writing before paying.

Written by

Lapland Handbook Staff

Lapland Handbook is written by its editorial staff in Rovaniemi. Every price, age limit and group size in a comparison is read from the operator's own page and marked "Not stated" when the operator does not publish it. Each guide names who should not book, and names the operator that suits each kind of group, whichever it is.

More about Lapland Handbook →