The best snowmobile tour in Ranua, by how long you want

A single track through snow on a frozen lake, lit gold by a low sun over a dark far shore

Illustration photo: a trail across a frozen lake, not in Ranua.

The short answer

For a first hour on a snowmobile, book Lupland's one-hour safari on its own site, the cheapest guided hour in Ranua. For a longer ride, the two-hour safaris at Lupland and Ranua Resort are close in price. For a real day in the forest, only Ranua Resort goes further, with a four-hour wilderness ride, a six-hour day with lunch, and an overnight trip to Iso-Syöte from mid-February.

How the operators compare

Prices are the operators' own published starting prices as of the date this guide was updated, and they change through the season.

Lupland: 2 hRanua Resort: 2 hRanua Resort: 4 hRanua Resort: 6 h
Price per adult €149 €160 €215 €349
Length 2 h 2 h 4 h 6 h
Riding alone Not stated +€49 +€89 +€129
Food Hot drink Not stated Hot drink and roll Soup lunch

Nothing is marked: a longer ride costs more and is not better for a first try. Lupland's price is its own site's.

Where these figures come from
  • Lupland: 2 h: A guided ride across Ranua's winter lakes with instruction, outerwear and a hot drink. The own-site price is well below the platform's.
  • Ranua Resort: 2 h: Two hours with a stop in the silence of the wilderness, from the resort's Safari House. Two guests share each machine and take turns.
  • Ranua Resort: 4 h: Into the forest for four hours with a break for a hot drink and a bread roll. The longest ride with no minimum group printed.
  • Ranua Resort: 6 h: A day across forests, fells and frozen lakes with a soup lunch by the fire, from January to April, for at least two people.

Snowmobile safaris in Ranua come from two places: Lupland Adventures, whose rides are also on the booking platforms, and Ranua Resort’s Safari House, which sells through the resort’s reception.

A first try

Lupland’s one-hour ride teaches the basics on a winter lake and costs 99 euros on its own site, the lowest price for a guided hour in the village.1 It is the ride to book if nobody in the party has driven before.

Two hours

For a second hour, Lupland and Ranua Resort are eleven euros apart. The difference is in the format: at the resort two guests share each machine and take turns driving.2

A day in the forest

Only Ranua Resort goes beyond two hours: four hours into the wilderness, six hours with a soup lunch, or two days to the Iso-Syöte fell with a hotel night. These are the rides for someone who already knows they like the machine.

Where children ride on each safari is set out in family snowmobile safari in Ranua.

Tours you can book

Questions people ask

Can we combine the ride with the aurora or ice fishing?

Yes, at both companies. Lupland sells a four-hour night ride with a campfire dinner from 225 euros and a five-hour trip to ice fishing with a soup dinner, about two hours of it on the machine, for 198. Ranua Resort has a three-hour aurora ride at 179 euros, a two-hour ride to a lakeside hut at 170 and a three-hour ride to ice fishing at 169.

What happens on the two-day trip?

Ranua Resort's overnight safari leaves at eleven, crosses lakes, bogs and hills to Iso-Syöte with a light lunch on the way, and stays the night at a hotel there with a sauna and dinner before riding back the next day. It runs from 15 February to 5 April, needs at least two people, and drivers must be eighteen. It costs 599 euros each, and 100 more to ride alone.

How do we book Ranua Resort's safaris?

By email to the resort's reception, which sends a payment link; the booking is valid once paid. The safaris leave from the reception, and the long ones depart daily at nine or ten in the morning during their season. Lupland's rides are booked on its own site or on the platforms, with a pick-up from some Ranua addresses by arrangement.

Written by

Lapland Handbook Staff

Lapland Handbook is written by its editorial staff in Rovaniemi. Every price, age limit and group size in a comparison is read from the operator's own page and marked "Not stated" when the operator does not publish it. Each guide names who should not book, and names the operator that suits each kind of group, whichever it is.

More about Lapland Handbook →