Private husky tour in Inari: the options for one group

Two thick-coated sled dogs standing head to head against a pale winter sky, one with its eyes closed

Illustration photo: two sled dogs, not at a kennel near Inari.

The short answer

If the point is not sharing a sled, ask Visit Inari for its own-sleigh option, which it sells on request at a higher price, on a ride that other guests can still join. If the point is having the dogs and the guide to yourselves, book the private farm visit at Ilonka in Ivalo, about half an hour's drive away, which is mostly short sled runs for children.

How the operators compare

Prices are the operators' own published starting prices as of the date this guide was updated, and they change through the season.

Visit Inari, own sledWilderness Hotel InariIlonka, Ivalo
Sold as private No No Yes
Sled to yourself Yes, on request Not stated Short runs with 1 or 2 dogs
Price per person €260 €230, shared sled €235
Starts Inari village Inari village Ivalo, about 32 min

Price is not marked: a shared sled, a sled of your own and a private group are three different purchases, and the cheapest is not the most private.

Where these figures come from
  • Visit Inari, own sled: The village ride with a sled to yourself, sold on request at a higher price; other guests can still be on the same outing.
  • Wilderness Hotel Inari: Priced for two sharing a sled, one driving and one seated. The page prints no single or private option for the ride.
  • Ilonka, Ivalo: Sold as a private group: family sledding on the farm's own tracks or a husky walk, about half an hour's drive from Inari.

Neither husky ride that leaves from Inari village is sold as private. What you can buy is a sled to yourself, on one of them.

A sled of your own

Visit Inari sells its three-hour outing with a shared sled as standard, and with a sled of your own on request, for 62 euros more a person.1 That buys the handlebar for the whole hour on the runners. It does not keep other guests off the trail.

Wilderness Hotel Inari prices its safari for two people sharing a sled, one driving and one seated, and the page offers no other arrangement.2

The nearest private visit

About half an hour’s drive away in Ivalo, Ilonka sells a farm visit for one group alone, as sled runs on the farm’s own tracks or as a husky walk.3 It is built mostly for children, which makes it the private choice for a family rather than for two adults after a long run. The Ivalo outings are compared in the Ivalo husky guide, and which Inari ride suits which party is on the best husky tour in Inari.

Tours you can book

Questions people ask

Can one person book the Visit Inari ride alone?

From 1 December to 7 April the minimum is one adult, so a solo traveller can book; at other times it is two adults. The page does not say whether a guest on their own shares a sled with someone else or with the guide, so ask when booking, and ask for the own-sleigh price if you would rather drive the whole way yourself.

Is the private visit in Ivalo a proper sled safari?

Not in the usual sense. Ilonka sells it as either family sledding or a husky walk for your group alone. The sledding is mainly designed for children and teenagers from four to seventeen, who drive short runs with one or two dogs on the farm's own tracks, and adults may also try short runs. For a long run behind a full team, it is the wrong booking.

What does a whole private stay at Inari Onnela include?

Inari Onnela, on the eastern shore of Lake Inari, sells tailored stays for one group, reached from Nellim by snowmobile in winter. Its fullest winter package includes the airport transfer, lodging, meals, basic activities, wilderness skills, photos and a daily sauna, with a husky ride and a reindeer farm visit available as extras. No price is published; you plan it with the host.

Written by

Lapland Handbook Staff

Lapland Handbook is written by its editorial staff in Rovaniemi. Every price, age limit and group size in a comparison is read from the operator's own page and marked "Not stated" when the operator does not publish it. Each guide names who should not book, and names the operator that suits each kind of group, whichever it is.

More about Lapland Handbook →