Santa Claus price from Ivalo: what each visit costs a family

Close-up of a present wrapped in pale blue paper printed with snowflakes and the words Let it snow, tied with brown twine

Illustration photo: a wrapped present, not from a visit described here.

The short answer

For two adults and two children, the husky farm's Santa added to its self-guided farm visit is the cheapest paid meeting, then the Saariselkä afternoon, then the reindeer farm's sleigh ride. The order changes with the size of your group, because the farms charge per group. The Rovaniemi office charges nothing for the meeting, but the drive there and back takes most of a day.

How the operators compare

Prices are the operators' own published starting prices as of the date this guide was updated, and they change through the season.

Husky farmReindeer farmSaariselkä programmeRovaniemi office
2 adults + 2 children (4–12) €415 €490 €477 €0 – the lowest total for this family
2 adults + 4 children €440 €980 €636 €0 – the lowest total for six
Priced Per group, plus farm entry Per group Per person Free
Included besides Santa The farm visit Sleigh ride, a gift each Reindeer, sleigh, baking Nothing; photos sold
Refund None Not stated Not stated Nothing to refund

Highlighted figures are the best in that row: the lowest total for this family and the lowest total for six. Totals use the printed prices; the husky farm's uses its family ticket, the cheapest visit Santa can be added to. Travel is not included anywhere, and Rovaniemi's costs a day of driving.

Where these figures come from
  • Husky farm: Santa in the farm's cabin, priced per group and added to a farm visit, here the self-guided one with its family ticket.
  • Reindeer farm: A private sleigh ride to Santa with a gift for each visitor, priced for groups of two to four and five to eight.
  • Saariselkä programme: An afternoon of activities in Saariselkä ending in Santa's cabin, priced per person with a child fare and infants free.
  • Rovaniemi office: The walk-in meeting at the Arctic Circle, free, with official photographs sold separately and a long drive each way.

The Santa visits within reach of Ivalo are priced on three bases, and the family size decides which is cheapest.

Per group or per person

The husky farm charges one price per group for Santa, on top of a farm entry, and its family ticket covers two adults and up to three children.1 The reindeer farm charges one price for two to four people and double for five to eight.2 Saariselkä charges each person, with a lower fare for children and infants free. So a family of four pays much the same everywhere, while a family of six pays twice as much at the reindeer farm as a family of four.

What cannot be refunded

The husky farm’s terms make every booking binding and non-refundable, and exclude illness and weather as reasons.3 The reindeer farm does not publish its terms, so ask before paying. In December, with children who catch colds, that difference is worth as much as the price.

Tours you can book

Priced per person

Priced for the whole party

Questions people ask

Can we book the husky farm's Santa without another visit?

Not as the farm describes it: Santa is sold as an addition, to be booked together with one of its experiences. The cheapest of those is the self-guided farm visit, which is why the family total here uses it. Sending Santa to your cabin is mentioned on the same page without a separate price, so ask what that costs on its own.

Is a photo with Santa included?

At the reindeer farm, photo opportunities are part of the visit, and you take your own. The husky farm does not mention photos. At the Rovaniemi office the meeting is free and the official photographs are what you pay for, from 55 euros a set, with no obligation to buy.

Are these this winter's prices?

They are the prices on the pages in September 2026. The reindeer farm's other visits still show last winter's season on the same page, so its Santa price may also be last year's; the husky farm prints no season at all. Ask for the price in writing when you book, and compare it with the figures here before paying.

Written by

Lapland Handbook Staff

Lapland Handbook is written by its editorial staff in Rovaniemi. Every price, age limit and group size in a comparison is read from the operator's own page and marked "Not stated" when the operator does not publish it. Each guide names who should not book, and names the operator that suits each kind of group, whichever it is.

More about Lapland Handbook →