Husky safari price in Utsjoki: included, extra and refundable

A red and white husky standing in deep snow in front of a frosted forest, snow falling

Illustration photo: a husky in winter, not at the farms described here.

The short answer

Every ride here includes the transfer to the farm in Norway and warm gear, so the price is closer to all-in than it looks. The holiday village's safari is the only one where a family can work out the bill in advance. The village company's cheaper rides need a question before you pay: its prices carry no basis, and its child discount lives in the terms. Cancel more than a week ahead to get your money back.

How the operators compare

Prices are the operators' own published starting prices as of the date this guide was updated, and they change through the season.

Travel Utsjoki: easy 5 kmTravel Utsjoki: Teno valleyHoliday Village Valle
Printed price €180 €260 €300 adult, €240 child
Two adults and one child under 12 Not stated Not stated €840
Two adults and two children under 12 Not stated Not stated €1,080
Warm clothing If needed If needed Included
Food Not stated Hot drinks and snacks Hot drink and snack

Family totals are given only where the seller prints a child price. The village company's listing does not say what its figure covers, so no total is worked out from it.

Where these figures come from
  • Travel Utsjoki: easy 5 km: One printed figure for three hours, transfer and extra winter gear if needed; no basis and no child figure on the listing.
  • Travel Utsjoki: Teno valley: One printed figure for five hours, with the transfer, winter gear if needed and hot drinks by a fire.
  • Holiday Village Valle: An adult price and a child price under twelve, with clothing, transfers, a snack by the fire and guidance written into both.

The two sellers of husky rides in Utsjoki could hardly publish their prices more differently.

The price that tells you everything

The holiday village prints 300 euros for an adult and 240 for a child under twelve, and writes into the price the clothing, the transfer to the farm in Norway, a hot drink and a snack by the fire, and the guide.1 For a family that is enough to add up the day before booking.

The price that needs a question

The village company’s web shop shows a single figure for each ride and says nothing about whether it is per person.2 Its terms add a 30 per cent discount for children under twelve, a minimum of two participants and free cancellation until a week before the tour, with the whole price due after that.3 Ask it to confirm on the booking what the figure covers for your party.

What is missing from both

The holiday village does not say how long its safari spends on the trail, and the village company prints no child figure of its own. The rides themselves are compared on husky safari in Utsjoki.

Questions people ask

Is any of these rides sold on the booking platforms?

Not that this site found. The supply survey of 21 September listed the village company's aurora evening, reindeer farm visit and walks on the booking platform, but no husky ride under Utsjoki, so the rides are booked in the company's own web shop or by email, and the holiday village's safari by email or phone. There is no platform price to compare against.

Is the transfer included if we stay outside Utsjoki village?

It depends on the ride. The village company's pages promise a pick-up from your accommodation in Utsjoki on the half-day rides, and in Utsjoki or Nuorgam on the spring day. The holiday village lists transfers in its price without saying from where, so if you are staying anywhere but the holiday village itself, ask both sellers whether they will collect you and at what cost.

How do we pay?

The village company's online bookings go through a Finnish payment service, and if it cancels a tour itself it refunds by bank transfer. The holiday village takes activity bookings by email or phone and does not describe payment on its husky page. Its accommodation terms ask for a deposit, so if you book a stay and a safari together, ask how the two are billed.

Written by

Lapland Handbook Staff

Lapland Handbook is written by its editorial staff in Rovaniemi. Every price, age limit and group size in a comparison is read from the operator's own page and marked "Not stated" when the operator does not publish it. Each guide names who should not book, and names the operator that suits each kind of group, whichever it is.

More about Lapland Handbook →