Snowshoeing in Pyhä-Luosto: which trip to book

Spruces and birches thickly covered in snow against a pale grey winter sky

Illustration photo: snow-laden trees, not from the Pyhä-Luosto trips.

The short answer

With children from five, take Bliss Adventure's walk from the top of Pyhä. After dark, choose Lapland Safaris in Luosto if everyone is twelve or older and you want clothing sorted, Kairankutsu if a child of eight or more is coming and you can commit a week ahead, or LuckyRanch for horses and a warm room by the lake.

How the operators compare

Prices are the operators' own published starting prices as of the date this guide was updated, and they change through the season.

Bliss AdventureLapland SafarisKairankutsuLuckyRanch
Price from €99 €99 €99 €108
When Not stated Evening Evening Evening
Youngest 5 12 8 Not stated
Winter clothing Extra Not stated €10 extra Warm underlayers
Cancellation 10% kept; all from 1 day Not stated All kept from 7 days Free until 24 h

Three prices tie, and a tie marks all three. Clothing and transport are extra on two of them, so the tie holds only for walkers who bring their own.

Where these figures come from
  • Bliss Adventure: A walk from the top of Pyhä, reached by chairlift when the weather allows, with a hot berry drink.
  • Lapland Safaris: An evening walk into the national park from Luosto, Monday to Saturday at half past seven.
  • Kairankutsu: An evening walk from Luosto at half past seven or half past eight; transport and clothing cost extra.
  • LuckyRanch: An evening walk past the ranch's horses to the frozen Lake Pyhäjärvi, ending in its heated saloon.

Pyhä and Luosto share a national park, and the four trips below are the guided snowshoe walks sold there on the pages we read.

From the top of Pyhä

Bliss Adventure sells the walk from the top. The price includes a ride on the PyhäExpress chairlift to the top of Pyhä when the weather allows, snowshoes and poles, and a hot berry drink, and the company grades it easy and takes children from five. Warm clothing, boots and transport to its rental shop in Pyhä cost extra.12

After dark, three ways

Lapland Safaris walks into the national park from Luosto at half past seven, Monday to Saturday, with nobody under twelve.3 Kairankutsu starts from its storage by the Luosto slopes at half past seven or half past eight, takes children from eight at a child price of 69 euros, and charges 20 euros for transport and 10 for winter clothing if you need them.4 LuckyRanch, in Pelkosenniemi, walks past its horses and other animals to the frozen Lake Pyhäjärvi and ends in the ranch’s heated saloon; its list of what is included names warm underlayers.5

Whether the aurora appears is not in anyone’s gift, and the best northern lights tour in Pyhä-Luosto sets out the other ways to look for it.

Tours you can book

Questions people ask

Can we rent snowshoes and go on our own?

Yes. Bliss Adventure rents snowshoes in Pyhä for one, three or five days, alongside its guided walks. Without a guide you choose your own route and your own weather, so keep to terrain you know, tell someone where you are going, and remember that the daylight in December is short enough to end a walk earlier than planned.

What if the chairlift is not running?

Bliss Adventure includes the PyhäExpress chairlift ticket to the top of the fell weather permitting, which means wind or cold can stop it. Its page does not say what the walk becomes on such a day, so if the view from the top is the reason you are booking, ask before you pay what happens to the route and the price when the lift is closed.

Do we need to book far ahead?

Not for Bliss Adventure, which takes bookings until the day before. The terms matter more than the date: Kairankutsu keeps the full price from seven days before, and Bliss keeps a tenth of it however early you cancel and all of it from the day before. On a trip where the weather might change your plans, book the one whose terms you can live with.

Written by

Lapland Handbook Staff

Lapland Handbook is written by its editorial staff in Rovaniemi. Every price, age limit and group size in a comparison is read from the operator's own page and marked "Not stated" when the operator does not publish it. Each guide names who should not book, and names the operator that suits each kind of group, whichever it is.

More about Lapland Handbook →