Get 10% off every booking with code LH10

The Electric Reindeer safari, and what you are actually booking

Three riders on tracked electric sleds with red tail lights following a lit snow trail at night, a green aurora band arcing across the black sky above

Three Electric Reindeer on a night trail: tracks, handlebars and tail lights, with the aurora overhead.

The short answer

An Electric Reindeer is an electric sled, not a reindeer: Snowtrail's own name for the e-Scort Comfort, made by eDream in Finland, which it describes as near-silent and fume-free and which you drive yourself on guide-led trails. The safari runs four hours from a pickup within 10 km of Rovaniemi centre, costs from €139, takes children from three, and ends at a farm with real reindeer, hot glögi and a snack. No driving licence is needed, but the minimum age to drive is fifteen and drivers under eighteen must have a responsible adult with them.

How the operators compare

Prices are the operators' own published starting prices as of the date this guide was updated, and they change through the season.

Electric Reindeer safariElectric Reindeer to SantaSnowmobile safari
Price €139 – the cheapest of the three €149 €149
Length 4 h 4 h 4 h
Youngest accepted 3 3 3
Youngest who may drive 15 15 18
Driving licence Not needed Not needed Required
Trail distance Not stated Not stated 8 km
Ends at Reindeer farm Santa's Hidden Cabin Reindeer farm

Highlighted figures are the best in that row: the cheapest of the three. Only the price is marked. A lower driving age is not better, it is different – a family with a teenager and a family with two adults want opposite rows here – and the snowmobile's 8 km is the only trail distance any of the three publishes, which makes it the one figure that cannot be compared.

Where these figures come from
  • Electric Reindeer safari: The standard four-hour tour: forest trails to a log cabin, then the reindeer farm.
  • Electric Reindeer to Santa: The same machine on a different errand, sold as a private tour, ending at Santa's Hidden Cabin rather than at the farm.
  • Snowmobile safari: The tour this one is most often weighed against: the same length, the same farm at the end, a licence and eighteen years to drive.

Tripadvisor ratings, 18 Rovaniemi operators

Highest first
Snowtrail Safaris 5.0
Nordic Odyssey 5.0
Nordic Adventures 4.9
Arctic GM 4.9
Book Lapland 4.9
Bearhill Husky 4.9
Arctic Attitude 4.9
StayLapland 4.8
Wild About Lapland 4.7
Wild Nordic 4.7
Lapland Winter Park 4.6
Safartica 4.5
Nordic Unique Travels 4.5
Apukka Resort 4.4
Lapland Welcome 4.3
Arctic Circle Snowmobile Park 4.3
Arctic Circle Husky Park 4.2
Raitola 3.4

Ratings read from Tripadvisor. The shaded compartment left of the divider holds any score below 4.0. We record the score only; review counts and review text are not part of our comparison.

Electric Reindeer is a product name, and it is the only one in Rovaniemi that reads as an animal and turns out to be a vehicle.

That is worth clearing up before anything else, because people book it expecting to sit behind a reindeer and because the two ages on the page – three and fifteen – mean different things and get read as one.

What the machine is

Snowtrail is direct about it on its own page: Electric Reindeer is its name for an electric sled, the e-Scort Comfort made by eDream in Finland, near-silent and fume-free, which you drive yourself on guide-led trails.

So it is a small tracked vehicle with handlebars. The quiet is the point of choosing it: a snowmobile convoy is audible from a long way off and this is not, which changes what four hours in a forest sounds like more than it changes what they look like.

The reindeer on the tour are real, and they are at the far end of it. The safari finishes at a farm where you meet them, with hot glögi and a snack. If what you pictured was being pulled through snow by an animal, that is a reindeer sleigh ride, and the reindeer farm guide sets out which farms sell one and what a visit costs without a ride.

Three to come, fifteen to drive

The tour takes children from three. Nobody under fifteen may drive, and a driver under eighteen must have a responsible adult with them.

Those are two separate rules and the gap between them is where families get caught. A five-year-old is welcome and will not be driving. A fifteen-year-old can drive, which is unusual – the snowmobile safari sets its driver at eighteen with a licence, and that single difference is the reason to choose between the two tours rather than a matter of taste.

What the page does not say is how a child under fifteen travels: with an adult on the same machine, in a towed sleigh, or with the guide. That is the question to ask before booking with a small child, and it is not answered anywhere we have looked.

No licence, which is not nothing

An Electric Reindeer needs no driving licence. A snowmobile does: Finland’s transport agency sets fifteen as the minimum age to drive one and requires a tractor-class licence on official routes.1

Snowtrail’s claim is about its own machine, and we report it as the operator’s claim rather than as a reading of the law – we have not found a Traficom page that classifies the e-Scort, and this page does not pretend one exists. What it means practically is that a party with no driving licences between them has one self-driven option in Rovaniemi and this is it.

The same machine, a different errand

There is a second Electric Reindeer tour, and it goes somewhere else: Santa’s Hidden Cabin rather than the reindeer farm, sold as a private tour at €149 rather than €139.

Ten euros is not the decision. The destination is. One afternoon ends with reindeer and the other ends with Santa, and a family doing both would be driving the same trails twice – worth knowing, because the two listings look like variants of one product and are not.

Where the private version sits among the other tours Snowtrail sells privately, and which of those publish a price at all, is on private tours in Rovaniemi.

Which of the two four-hour safaris to book

A teenager who wants to drive: this one. Fifteen against eighteen is the whole answer, and there is no other tour in the comparison where it goes the other way.

Nobody with a driving licence: this one, for the same reason in reverse.

An adult who wants to drive something with power: the snowmobile. It is the same length, the same price as the private version of this, and it publishes its trail distance, which this does not.

A small child and no interest in driving at all: neither, necessarily. The reindeer farm on its own costs less and asks nothing of anyone, and the four hours here are mostly the getting there.

What is not published

The maximum group size, beyond the words small group. How many share a sled. How under-fifteens travel. The season. The guiding language. The route length, and how much of the four hours is spent driving.

And the insurance excess, which on a tour where you drive something is the figure worth having in writing. Rovaniemi’s snowmobile operators publish self-liabilities in the hundreds and occasionally the thousands; the absence of a number here is not the absence of a liability, and the snowmobile guide sets out what those figures look like when operators do publish them.

Snowtrail supplies this site, and this is its product and its name for it.

Questions people ask

Is an Electric Reindeer a reindeer?

No, and the name is the single most common misunderstanding about this tour. It is Snowtrail's own name for an electric sled – the e-Scort Comfort, made by eDream in Finland – which the operator describes as near-silent and fume-free and which you drive yourself along guide-led trails. The reindeer on the tour are real and they are at the other end of it: the safari finishes at a farm where you meet them. If what you wanted was to be pulled through the forest by an animal, that is a reindeer sleigh ride and it is a different product entirely, sold by the farms rather than as a safari.

Do we need a driving licence, and who can drive?

No licence is needed, which is the practical difference between this and a snowmobile. The minimum age to drive an Electric Reindeer is fifteen, and a driver under eighteen has to be accompanied by a responsible adult. Those two rules sit on top of the tour's own minimum age of three, and conflating them is how families get caught out: a five-year-old is welcome on the tour and will not be driving anything. What the page does not say is how a child under fifteen travels – whether they ride with an adult, in a sleigh, or in the guide's machine – so ask before booking if that decides your day.

How is it different from the snowmobile safari?

Both are four-hour small-group tours that end with the reindeer, and both include the transfer, winter clothing and a guide. What differs is who can drive and how it feels. A snowmobile needs a driver of eighteen with a valid driving licence; an Electric Reindeer needs no licence and can be driven from fifteen, which brings a teenager into the front seat rather than the sleigh. The machine is also chosen for being quiet, so the forest stays audible. If the reason for the trip is power under the handlebars, book the snowmobile; if it is the forest, book this.

What does the tour page not tell us?

More than most. Snowtrail does not publish the maximum group size beyond the words small group, how many people share one sled, how children under fifteen travel, the season or the dates it runs, the guiding language, the route length or how much of the four hours is spent driving, or the insurance and damage liability. That last one matters on any tour where you drive something: on snowmobiles in Rovaniemi the self-liability runs into the hundreds and occasionally the thousands, and the absence of a figure here is not the same as the absence of a liability. Ask for it in writing.

Written by

Lapland Handbook Staff

Lapland Handbook is written by its editorial staff in Rovaniemi. Every price, age limit and group size in a comparison is read from the operator's own page and marked "Not stated" when the operator does not publish it. Each guide names who should not book, and says so when a competitor is the better choice.

Ready to look at dates?

See dates and prices