Snowmobile safari price in Utsjoki: three ways to pay

A black two-seat touring snowmobile parked in fresh snow above a frozen river, a small yellow hut to one side

Illustration photo: a touring snowmobile in Canada, not one of the machines described here.

The short answer

Share a machine if you can: at the holiday village two people sharing pay 225 euros each, one driving alone pays 300, and a seat in the sled costs 170. For a family, the holiday village's three-hour fell trip in a sled is the one with a printed child price, 90 euros. The village company's prices carry no basis, so ask what its figure covers. Check the damage excess before you drive.

How the operators compare

Prices are the operators' own published starting prices as of the date this guide was updated, and they change through the season.

Valle: driving safariValle: fell sleigh tripTravel Utsjoki: Paistunturi drive
Two adults €450 sharing a machine €340 Not stated
Two adults and two children under 12 Not stated €520 Not stated
Driving alone €300 Sled trip, no driving Not stated
Wilderness permit Not stated Not stated Included

Totals are worked out only from prices printed per person. The village company prints one figure per trip without saying whether it is per person, so its cells say Not stated.

Where these figures come from
  • Valle: driving safari: Two hours of driving lessons over fells and lakes, with fuel, taxes, drinks, a snack and insurance written into the price.
  • Valle: fell sleigh trip: Three hours in a sleigh behind the guide, with warm clothes, a helmet and a hot drink, and a child price under twelve.
  • Travel Utsjoki: Paistunturi drive: Two hours driving in the wilderness area with a pick-up, clothing, helmets and the wilderness permit; one figure, no basis.

The holiday village prints three prices for one snowmobile safari, and the difference between them is the whole lesson in how snowmobiling is priced.

Sharing, alone or towed

Two people sharing a machine pay 225 euros each, one person driving alone pays 300, and a seat in the sled behind the guide costs 170. Fuel, taxes, drinks, a snack and insurance are inside all three.1 Sharing saves 75 euros a head against driving alone, and costs 55 more than sitting in the sled.

The family figure

The holiday village’s three-hour sleigh trip is the one snowmobile outing in Utsjoki with a printed child price: 90 euros under twelve, against 170 for an adult.2 Its driving safari has no child price at all.

The village company’s terms

Its trips cost 180 to 250 euros with no basis printed. Its terms give children under twelve a 30 per cent discount, set a minimum of two participants and let you cancel free up to seven days before, after which the whole price is due.3

The trips themselves are compared on snowmobile safari in Utsjoki.

Questions people ask

What would damage to the snowmobile cost us?

At the holiday village, at most 1,400 euros: its price includes insurance with a personal liability capped at that figure. The village company's page does not mention insurance or an excess at all. Ask it in writing before you drive what you would owe if the machine is damaged, and check separately whether your own travel insurance covers driving a snowmobile.

Is there a deadline for booking?

The holiday village asks for bookings by six in the evening the day before, by phone or email. The village company sells through its own web shop and by email. Neither sells its snowmobile trips on the booking platforms, as far as this site found, so there is no platform price or platform cancellation policy to compare.

Why does the village company's trip cost more than it seems to include?

It may not. Its 230 euros covers a pick-up within five kilometres of the village, winter clothing, a helmet and the licence to enter the Paistunturi wilderness area, which the holiday village's safari does not list. What it does not say is whether that figure is per person or per machine, which is the question that decides whether it is dearer or cheaper.

Written by

Lapland Handbook Staff

Lapland Handbook is written by its editorial staff in Rovaniemi. Every price, age limit and group size in a comparison is read from the operator's own page and marked "Not stated" when the operator does not publish it. Each guide names who should not book, and names the operator that suits each kind of group, whichever it is.

More about Lapland Handbook →