Snowmobile safari prices in Levi

Two people riding one snowmobile across an open snowy slope, with skis strapped to the back and a few skiers on the ridge behind

Illustration photo: two riders on one snowmobile, not on one of the safaris priced here.

The short answer

Price a snowmobile safari by the hour of driving and by the machine, not by the ticket. The full-day safari costs the least per hour at the handlebars, the one-hour beginners' ride the most for each hour out. On most, two riders share each machine, so two tickets buy one snowmobile, and driving alone costs extra where it is sold at all. A child in the guide's sled pays a fare the listings do not show.

How the operators compare

Prices are the operators' own published starting prices as of the date this guide was updated, and they change through the season.

Wild Nordic: 1 hourArctic Circle Snowmobile Park: 2 hoursSafartica: 2 hoursSafartica: full day
Price €99 – the lowest price per person €129 €126 €249
Length 1 h 2 h 2 h 6 h
Driving time stated Not stated 2 h Not stated About 4–5 h
Price per hour of driving Not stated €64.50 Not stated €49.80–62.25
Riders per machine Two Not stated Two Two
One machine for two riders €198 Not stated €252 €498
Four people at the listed price €396 €516 €504 €996

Highlighted figures are the best in that row: the lowest price per person. All four price per person. The per-hour row divides by driving time only where the listing states it; for the other two, dividing by the whole length would count briefing and dressing as driving. Only the price is marked.

Where these figures come from
  • Wild Nordic: 1 hour: The lowest ticket and the dearest hour: 99 euros for one hour, two adults to a machine. The listing does not say how much of the hour is spent driving.
  • Arctic Circle Snowmobile Park: 2 hours: The only listing here that promises its whole length as driving, with the dressing and briefing done beforehand. It does not say whether two share a machine.
  • Safartica: 2 hours: Two to a machine, and children from four ride in a sledge behind the guide, which makes it the two-hour safari a family can take. The driving time inside the two hours is not stated.
  • Safartica: full day: The dearest ticket and the cheapest hour of driving: about four to five hours on the machine in six, with a soup lunch. Nobody under 13.

A snowmobile safari in Levi is sold by the seat, and the hours on the listing are the length of the outing, not the time you spend driving. Put those two facts together and the tickets rank differently.

What an hour of driving costs

Only two of the four listings say how long you actually drive. Arctic Circle Snowmobile Park promises two full hours, with the dressing and the safety briefing done before the clock starts, which is 64.50 euros an hour for its 129-euro ticket. Safartica’s full day puts about four to five hours on the machine for 249 euros, 49.80 to 62.25 euros an hour. The full day is the dearest ticket and the cheapest way to buy time at the handlebars.

Wild Nordic’s one-hour ride and Safartica’s two-hour safari do not say how much of their time is driving. Divided by their whole length they come to 99 and 63 euros an hour, but the listings do not say how much of that time goes on dressing and the briefing.

Two tickets, one machine

On three of the four, two people share each snowmobile and each pays the full fare, so one machine costs 198 euros on Wild Nordic’s hour, 252 on Safartica’s two hours and 498 on the full day. The listings do not say how the driving is shared between the two.

Driving alone, where it is sold, costs extra. Safartica adds 90 euros a person to its five-hour ice fishing safari for a machine to yourself, taking it from 209 to 299 euros.

What a family of four pays

At the listed prices four people pay 396 euros for the hour, 504 for Safartica’s two hours, 516 for the Snowmobile Park’s and 996 for the full day. That assumes every child pays the adult fare, which the listings neither confirm nor rule out. Of the four, Safartica’s two-hour safari is the one that states it takes children from four, in a sledge behind the guide.

Which safari suits a first-timer, whatever it costs, is argued on snowmobile safaris in Levi, and where a child sits from what age on family snowmobile safaris in Levi. The rest of the resort is on the Levi destination page.

Tours you can book

Questions people ask

Is the discounted price on a listing the real one?

It may be on the day, but do not budget on it. Arctic Circle Snowmobile Park's two-hour ride showed 129 euros struck through and 116 as an offer on the day we read it, and several of its other listings did the same. This page uses the regular price throughout, because an offer on one day says nothing about the week you travel, and a family pays any difference four times over.

What does a child in the sled pay?

The listings we read do not show it. Safartica seats children from four to 14 in a sledge behind the guide's snowmobile on its two-hour safari, and Lapland Safaris sells separate places for children from two to three and from four to 14 on its own site. Neither listing shows a child price as we recorded them, and Lapland Safaris' booking page, as we saw on its husky safari, shows child prices only once a date is chosen. Ask before booking, because a child fare changes the family total more than any other figure here.

What do I need to drive?

A driving licence and, on the listings that say so, an age of 18. Wild Nordic asks for a valid B-category licence, and Arctic Circle Snowmobile Park and Tokka Safaris ask for the same on their other rides. A passenger needs neither. Without a licence you can still come, as the second rider or, on some trips, in the sled behind the guide.

Written by

Lapland Handbook Staff

Lapland Handbook is written by its editorial staff in Rovaniemi. Every price, age limit and group size in a comparison is read from the operator's own page and marked "Not stated" when the operator does not publish it. Each guide names who should not book, and names the operator that suits each kind of group, whichever it is.

More about Lapland Handbook →