Reindeer safari price in Ylitornio, added up for a family

A pale reindeer lying on a snowy slope with bare twigs, white fells rising under a blue sky behind

Illustration photo: a reindeer resting in the snow in Norway, not in Ylitornio.

The short answer

For two adults and two children aged four to fourteen, the half-hour sleigh ride in Aavasaksa comes to about 234 euros and the longer programme to about 461, with clothing rental on top if you need it. The Santa station's day ticket, with reindeer feeding included, comes to 188. The Raanujärvi farm does not show an adult fare online, so its total cannot be worked out, and its bookings are final.

How the operators compare

Prices are the operators' own published starting prices as of the date this guide was updated, and they change through the season.

Team Rudolf: sleigh rideTeam Rudolf: Full Rudolf ExperienceSanta Station
2 adults + 2 children (4–14) €233.74 €461.16 €188 – the lowest total for this family
Infants free up to 2 2 3
Clothing Not included €18 a person to rent Not stated
Fees Included Included Not stated

Highlighted figures are the best in that row: the lowest total for this family. Totals are the published per-person fares multiplied out, with nothing added. The Raanujärvi farm is left out because its shop did not show an adult fare.

Where these figures come from
  • Team Rudolf: sleigh ride: Half an hour in the sleigh, two adults to a sleigh, with winter clothing not included.
  • Team Rudolf: Full Rudolf Experience: The ride with feeding, an introduction to herding and a hot drink, with a clothing set to rent.
  • Santa Station: A day ticket in which seeing and feeding the reindeer sits beside Santa, gingerbread and crafts.

A per-person fare tells you little until you multiply it by your party, and in Ylitornio the multiplication gives three very different answers.

What the totals leave out

The two Aavasaksa totals include the booking fees, which the page says are built into its prices.1 They do not include warm clothing: the short ride leaves it out and the longer programme rents a set for 18 euros a person, which adds 72 euros for a family of four. The Santa station’s figure buys a whole day in which the reindeer are one part.

The farm whose total cannot be worked out

The Raanujärvi farm’s shop showed a child’s price of 90 euros and no adult fare, and it says every sale is final.2 Ask the farm for the full price for your party before you book, since there is no changing your mind afterwards.

Before you choose on price

The cheapest total is a Christmas day rather than a reindeer visit. What each farm actually does with your time is set out on reindeer farm in Ylitornio.

Questions people ask

Why are the Aavasaksa prices in odd cents?

The booking page states that its prices include fees, and a figure like 135.82 euros is what it shows. The page does not say how large the fee is or what the price would be without it, so the uneven cents cannot be explained from it. Whatever the reason, the figure shown is what you pay per person, and it is the one this page adds up.

What if we have to cancel?

It depends on the farm. The Raanujärvi farm's online shop says bookings are non-refundable and all sales final. The Aavasaksa booking page did not show cancellation terms for its reindeer rides, although it does print a two-day free cancellation rule for the Santa visit it also sells, so ask before paying. The Santa station ticket sold on the booking platform can be cancelled free up to 24 hours before.

Is the longer programme worth twice the short ride?

It buys more than twice the time, 75 to 90 minutes against 30, and adds feeding the reindeer, an introduction to herding and a hot drink by the fire. Per minute it is the cheaper of the two. If the ride is the only thing the children will remember, the short one does that job; if the adults want the explanation, the longer one earns its price.

Written by

Lapland Handbook Staff

Lapland Handbook is written by its editorial staff in Rovaniemi. Every price, age limit and group size in a comparison is read from the operator's own page and marked "Not stated" when the operator does not publish it. Each guide names who should not book, and names the operator that suits each kind of group, whichever it is.

More about Lapland Handbook →