Private Santa visit from Muonio: who sells one

A red-brown log cabin behind snow-laden pine trees, with a stack of logs capped in snow in the foreground

Illustration photo: a log cabin in snow in California, not Santa's cabin.

The short answer

If you are staying for Christmas, book the local package and you get a private meeting without asking: Santa sees one family at a time in his cabin. If you only want the afternoon, book one of the two private visits in Levi, 46 minutes away; the longer of them gives about half an hour with Santa, the most time with him that anyone near Muonio publishes.

How the operators compare

Prices are the operators' own published starting prices as of the date this guide was updated, and they change through the season.

Harriniva Christmas packageArctic Shaman Adventures, LeviPolar Lights Tours, Levi
What you must buy A 3–4 night Christmas package One visit One visit
Private One family at a time Private group Private group
Time with Santa Not stated, within 2 h About 30 min Not stated
Gifts A small gift for each child You bring or arrange them Not stated
Pick-up Package transfers Not stated From Levi centre

Nothing is ranked here: the three differ in what you have to buy and how the private part is arranged, not in a single measure where one is better.

Where these figures come from
  • Harriniva Christmas package: A two-hour Santa visit in which each family goes in alone, sold only inside a Christmas stay of three or four nights.
  • Arctic Shaman Adventures, Levi: A private group trip by snowmobile sleigh, with about thirty minutes with Santa, who greets the children by name.
  • Polar Lights Tours, Levi: One private hour with a husky or snowmobile sleigh to Santa's hidden cabin, with transfers from the centre of Levi.

Near Muonio, meeting Santa privately is the ordinary way to meet him rather than an extra you have to ask for.

In Muonio: private by design

The Christmas package’s Santa sees one family at a time in his cabin.1 You do not have to ask for it. The catch is that the visit comes only with the package, so it is private Santa for families who have booked the whole stay.

In Levi: private as a product

Two of Levi’s Santa visits are sold as private groups. The longer one, by snowmobile sleigh, promises one family or group at a time and about half an hour with Santa.2 The shorter one goes by husky or snowmobile to a hidden cabin in a private hour, and does not say how long the meeting lasts.3

Choosing

Book the package if you are staying for Christmas, and the longer Levi visit if you want only the afternoon and a stated half hour with Santa. Rovaniemi’s private visits are on private Santa visit in Rovaniemi, and every Santa option near Muonio on Santa Claus in Muonio.

Questions people ask

How are the private visits in Levi priced?

Per person, even though the group is private: from 150 euros a head for the longer sleigh visit and 201 for the hour at the cabin. Neither listing prints a child price, so ask what a child costs before you total it up for your family. The Muonio package starts at 1,124 euros a head for the whole Christmas stay, and its Santa visit is not priced on its own.

What else comes with the Christmas package?

Three more activities on other days: a husky ride of five to six kilometres in which a musher drives and each family has its own team, a reindeer visit with a museum, a lasso and a short sleigh ride, and a snowmobile trip on which adults drive and children ride in a sleigh behind the guide. Meals, winter clothing and the airport or station transfer are included too.

Is Rovaniemi's private option worth the drive?

Only if you want to be in Rovaniemi anyway. Private Santa visits there are compared on this site's Rovaniemi page for them, but from Muonio the town is two and three quarter hours each way, and the private visits in Levi and in the Muonio package give the same thing, Santa and your family alone, for far less time in the car.

Written by

Lapland Handbook Staff

Lapland Handbook is written by its editorial staff in Rovaniemi. Every price, age limit and group size in a comparison is read from the operator's own page and marked "Not stated" when the operator does not publish it. Each guide names who should not book, and names the operator that suits each kind of group, whichever it is.

More about Lapland Handbook →