Northern lights tour price in Ylitornio: the figures that exist

A pink and violet aurora glowing above a dark treeline, with the silhouette of a parked car in the foreground

Illustration photo: an aurora seen from a car, not on the tour described here.

The short answer

Budget 99 euros a head for the car hunt that collects you in Ylitornio: pick-up is in the price, and so is a refund if bad weather stops the tour, which no other evening here offers. The local evening sled and snowmobile show their prices only in a dated booking calendar, so open it before you compare. Tornio's evenings cost 110 to 135 euros a head before the drive.

How the operators compare

Prices are the operators' own published starting prices as of the date this guide was updated, and they change through the season.

e-Coach aurora huntNordic Safaris: late watchNordic Safaris: island walk
Price per person €99 – the lowest price per person €110 €135
Two adults €198 – the lowest total for two adults €220 €270
Pick-up in Ylitornio Included Not stated Not stated
Bad-weather refund Yes – money back if the weather stops the tour Not stated Not stated
Free cancellation Up to 24 h before More than 48 h before More than 48 h before

Highlighted figures are the best in that row: the lowest price per person, the lowest total for two adults and money back if the weather stops the tour. All three print a price per person and no child price, so the totals are for adults only. The Ylitornio activity centre's evenings are left out because their prices appear only in a dated calendar.

Where these figures come from
  • e-Coach aurora hunt: Three to five hours by car, collected from your accommodation in Ylitornio, with money back if bad weather stops the tour.
  • Nordic Safaris: late watch: Two hours by a fire outside Tornio from ten until midnight, with sausages, for groups of four or more.
  • Nordic Safaris: island walk: Two hours on snowshoes over the ice to an island on the Swedish side, from eight in the evening, for two or more.

One aurora evening sold to Ylitornio publishes its price. Everything else is either behind a calendar or down the valley.

The one published figure

The car hunt from Kemi costs 99 euros a head. It is the cheapest of the priced evenings and the only one that comes to Ylitornio to collect you.1

The local evenings

The activity centre on Kopanmäentie sells its evening sled and evening snowmobile trip through a calendar that shows a price only for a chosen date. Open it for your date; there is nothing to compare until you do.

The Tornio evenings, and their terms

Tornio’s two evenings cost more and start 49 minutes away, and the company’s terms keep the whole price for a cancellation inside two days.2 The evenings themselves are compared on northern lights in Ylitornio and northern lights in Tornio.

Questions people ask

Is 99 euros what we will actually pay?

It is the starting price. The listing reads from 99 euros per person, which is the lowest figure it shows, and a particular date or option can cost more. The Tornio company prints a single price per person for each evening rather than a from-price. Check the figure for your own date on the booking page before you add it to a budget.

Is winter clothing in any of these prices?

None of the three priced evenings mentions clothing, and neither do the local activity centre's evenings, so plan on your own warm layers or ask when you book. The one aurora evening in the area that lends a full winter outfit is Sea Lapland Safaris' drive from Kemi at 115 euros a head, whose listing does not name Ylitornio among its pick-ups.

What does the drive to Tornio add?

About 49 minutes each way from Ylitornio, which is fuel and an evening that ends later, not a ticket. The late watch in Tornio ends at midnight Finnish time, so a Tornio evening from Ylitornio means getting home around one in the morning, and it needs four people to run. That cost does not appear in any price, but it belongs in the comparison.

Written by

Lapland Handbook Staff

Lapland Handbook is written by its editorial staff in Rovaniemi. Every price, age limit and group size in a comparison is read from the operator's own page and marked "Not stated" when the operator does not publish it. Each guide names who should not book, and names the operator that suits each kind of group, whichever it is.

More about Lapland Handbook →