- Home
- Destinations
- Ylitornio (Aavasaksa)
- Husky safari price in Ylitornio: the same kennel, two price lists
Husky safari price in Ylitornio: the same kennel, two price lists
Illustration photo: dogs in a kennel, not at the kennels named here.
The short answer
Book on the kennel's own site if your party has proper winter clothing: the trails are cheaper there and children have their own fare. Book on the platform if you need overalls and boots, which its price includes. Both allow cancellation up to a day before. A family of two adults and two children pays 544 euros on the kennel site for the lake trail; the platform prints no child fare to compare.
How the operators compare
Prices are the operators' own published starting prices as of the date this guide was updated, and they change through the season.
| Kennel site: Lake Trail | Platform: Lake Trail | Kennel site: Logging Camp | Platform: Logging Camp | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Adult | €160 | €179 | €180 | €239 |
| Child | €112 | Not stated | €126 | Not stated |
| Two adults, two children | €544 | Not stated | €612 | Not stated |
| Two adults | €320 | €358 | €360 | €478 |
| Winter clothing | Bring your own | Included | Bring your own | Included |
-
Kennel site: Lake Trail
- Adult
- €160
- Child
- €112
- Two adults, two children
- €544
- Two adults
- €320
- Winter clothing
- Bring your own
Two hours on forest trails and the frozen shore, ending by a fire; bring your own winter clothing.
-
Platform: Lake Trail
- Adult
- €179
- Child
- Not stated
- Two adults, two children
- Not stated
- Two adults
- €358
- Winter clothing
- Included
An hour and a half with about half an hour on the sled, overalls and warm footwear included.
-
Kennel site: Logging Camp
- Adult
- €180
- Child
- €126
- Two adults, two children
- €612
- Two adults
- €360
- Winter clothing
- Bring your own
Three hours along historic logging trails with stories of the people who worked them.
-
Platform: Logging Camp
- Adult
- €239
- Child
- Not stated
- Two adults, two children
- Not stated
- Two adults
- €478
- Winter clothing
- Included
Three hours with 45 to 50 minutes on the sled, overalls and warm footwear included.
No row is ranked, because the platform price includes clothing the kennel's own price does not, and the two list different lengths for the lake trail. All four are per person; the totals are the published prices added up.
Where these figures come from
- Kennel site: Lake Trail mataracreek.com read Sep 23, 2026
- Platform: Lake Trail getyourguide.com read Sep 22, 2026
- Kennel site: Logging Camp mataracreek.com read Sep 23, 2026
- Platform: Logging Camp getyourguide.com read Sep 22, 2026
- Kennel site: Lake Trail: Two hours on forest trails and the frozen shore, ending by a fire; bring your own winter clothing.
- Platform: Lake Trail: An hour and a half with about half an hour on the sled, overalls and warm footwear included.
- Kennel site: Logging Camp: Three hours along historic logging trails with stories of the people who worked them.
- Platform: Logging Camp: Three hours with 45 to 50 minutes on the sled, overalls and warm footwear included.
The Meltosjärvi kennel has two price lists, and the difference between them is mostly a pair of overalls.
Cheaper direct, if you are dressed for it
On its own site the kennel charges 160 euros for the lake trail and 180 for the logging camp trail, with fares for children, and asks every guest to arrive dressed for the cold.1 On the booking platform the same trails cost 19 and 59 euros more per adult, and the overalls and warm footwear come with them.2
The cheapest way in
The kennel visit without a ride is 40 euros for an adult and 28 for a child, so 136 euros for a family of four: the lowest published price for meeting a husky team near Ylitornio.
The rides themselves are described on best husky tour in Ylitornio, and the ages each kennel takes on family husky safari in Ylitornio.
Questions people ask
Why is the lake trail two hours on one site and an hour and a half on the other?
The kennel's own programme page lists the lake trail at two hours and the platform listing at an hour and a half, with about half an hour of that on the sled. Neither page explains the difference. Ask the kennel how long you will actually spend on the runners, since that, rather than the total, is what the price mostly pays for.
What does the full-day ride cost for a child?
The kennel prints the wilderness church ride at 370 euros per person and gives no child fare for it, unlike its four shorter programmes. With children sixteen and under riding as passengers on every trail, ask the kennel whether a lower price applies before you add up a family day in the wilderness.
Is anything extra to pay on the day?
Neither price list names extras. Every kennel programme includes a professional guide, meeting the dogs and a hot drink by the fire, and the full day adds lunch in a kota; the platform listings include warm drinks, a small snack, overalls and footwear. Transport to Meltosjärvi is in neither, so the drive is your own cost.