Private northern lights tour in Kilpisjärvi: three ways to have the night alone

A single small figure standing in snow between birch trees under a wide green aurora, a white peak behind

Illustration photo: someone alone under the aurora, not in Kilpisjärvi.

The short answer

For two to four people, the tundra guide's single price for the whole party is the clearest deal, with a winter outfit and photographs included. For five or six, or a family with children over ten who want a campfire and a sledge ride, ask the small agency for its price for your party, since its starting figure does not say what it covers. Making a shared evening private costs 660 euros on top of the seats, which only pays for a larger group.

How the operators compare

Prices are the operators' own published starting prices as of the date this guide was updated, and they change through the season.

Grayling LandDestination KilpisjärviKilpissafarit, made private
Two people €450 Not stated €890 in the sleigh
Four people €450 Not stated €1,120 in the sleigh
Largest party 4 6 Not stated
Self-driving +€100 per snowmobile Not offered Seat prices apply
Minimum age Not stated Over 10 8

Totals for the whole party, worked out from published prices. The agency prints only a starting figure of 150 euros without saying what it covers, so its totals are left blank rather than guessed.

Where these figures come from
  • Grayling Land: A local guide's private tundra evening at one price for one to four people, with sleigh transport and photographs.
  • Destination Kilpisjärvi: An evening private by default for up to six: a sledge ride to a campfire, with food, hot drinks and a phone tripod.
  • Kilpissafarit, made private: The shared snowmobile evening on a tundra lake run for your group alone, at the seat prices plus a flat surcharge.

Kilpisjärvi sells a private aurora evening three ways, and each prices it differently.

One sum for up to four

The tundra guide charges a single price whether you are one or four, which makes it the simplest private evening to budget. It includes a full winter outfit, sleigh transport and photographs by the guide.1

Private by default, up to six

The small agency runs its evenings for one party at a time and takes up to six guests, children over ten among them. Its starting figure of 150 euros does not say whether it is per person or for the party, and the full price appears only once a date is chosen.2

A shared evening, made private

The safari company will run its snowmobile evening for your group alone for 660 euros on top of the seat prices.3 For a couple it turns two sleigh seats costing 230 euros into 890; the surcharge only starts to make sense for a larger group that wants the snowmobile ride.

The shared evenings are compared on best northern lights tour in Kilpisjärvi.

Questions people ask

Where do the evenings start?

The safari company meets at its office in the village and sells a pick-up from accommodation within five kilometres for eight euros a person. The small agency's evening, as Visit Finland describes it, begins with a snowmobile transfer from the village centre to its wilderness camp. The tundra guide's page does not say where his evening starts, so agree a meeting point when you book.

What happens to the money if the sky stays cloudy?

Nothing comes back for cloud alone. All three say the aurora cannot be guaranteed, and the small agency's terms state that it is not responsible for losses caused by the absence of the northern lights. The safari company refunds in full only when it cancels a tour itself for dangerous weather, which is a different thing from a clear-but-empty or cloudy sky.

How far ahead can we cancel?

It differs. The safari company refunds everything if you cancel at least seven days before the start and nothing after. The small agency keeps the advance payment, 30 per cent or 50 euros a person whichever is higher, if you cancel more than eight days ahead, and the full price after that. The tundra guide's page does not print terms, so ask for them.

Written by

Lapland Handbook Staff

Lapland Handbook is written by its editorial staff in Rovaniemi. Every price, age limit and group size in a comparison is read from the operator's own page and marked "Not stated" when the operator does not publish it. Each guide names who should not book, and names the operator that suits each kind of group, whichever it is.

More about Lapland Handbook →