Reindeer safari price in Salla: what each outing costs a family

Two reindeer on a snowfield, one grazing and one with large antlers, below snowy mountains and a fjord

Illustration photo: reindeer near Tromsø in Norway, not in Salla.

The short answer

For a family on a budget, the feeding ride costs almost nothing and gets the children close to the reindeer. The three-hour safari, where you drive the reindeer yourselves, is the best value for a first real outing. The one-day safari costs about twice as much again. The farm safari by snowmobile cannot be priced for a family until you ask.

How the operators compare

Prices are the operators' own published starting prices as of the date this guide was updated, and they change through the season.

Feeding rideReindeer safariOne-day safariFarm by snowmobile
Adult €15 €116 €226 €167
Child Not stated €58 €113 Not stated
Two adults, two children €60 €348 €678 Not stated
Length 30 min 3 h 5–6 h 5–6 h

Nothing is marked: a half-hour visit and a full day are different outings, so the cheapest is not the best buy. The feeding ride's family total assumes children pay the adult price. The farm safari's adult price is for two to a sledge.

Where these figures come from
  • Feeding ride: Half an hour by sleigh to the park's corral, priced per person with no separate child fare.
  • Reindeer safari: Three hours driving your own reindeer, with warm clothing lent and children from three at half price.
  • One-day safari: Five to six hours with the reindeer and lunch in a kota, children from three at half price.
  • Farm by snowmobile: Five to six hours on a snowmobile to a reindeer farm, priced per rider with no child fare.

Reindeer outings in Salla are priced per person, and the range runs from a small fee to a full day’s outlay.

The short and the half-day

Salla Wilderness Park charges 15 euros a person for its half-hour feeding ride.1 Its three-hour safari costs 116 euros an adult and half that for children from three to twelve, with warm clothing lent.2

The full day

The park’s one-day safari costs 226 euros an adult, again with children at half price, for five to six hours with lunch in a kota.3 The fell resort’s farm safari is priced like its other snowmobile days, per rider and with no child fare.

Tours you can book

Priced per person

Price not stated

Questions people ask

Do children pay full price on the feeding ride?

The park prints 15 euros a person for it and no child fare, unlike its other outings. The family total in the table assumes the children pay the same as adults. Ask when you book: at that price the difference is small either way, but it is worth knowing before you arrive.

Is the farm safari cheaper riding two to a machine?

Yes. The fell resort charges 167 euros each with two to a sledge and 218 riding alone, and names an excess of 890 euros per snowmobile in an accident. The ride is five to six hours and about 70 km, so most of the price pays for the snowmobile rather than the reindeer.

What does a summer visit cost?

In the snow-free season the park runs a two-hour programme instead, with a talk on the reindeer year, a drive in your own car to a feeding place and coffee in a hut, for 37 euros. None of the sleigh outings in this table runs in summer, when there is no snow for them.

Written by

Lapland Handbook Staff

Lapland Handbook is written by its editorial staff in Rovaniemi. Every price, age limit and group size in a comparison is read from the operator's own page and marked "Not stated" when the operator does not publish it. Each guide names who should not book, and names the operator that suits each kind of group, whichever it is.

More about Lapland Handbook →