Private husky tour in Enontekiö: a sleigh, a week or Muonio

A husky sitting alone on a snowy path by a wire fence as snow falls among bare trees

Illustration photo: a husky in winter, not at the kennels named here.

The short answer

For a day in Hetta, the closest thing to private is a solo or guide-driven sleigh on a normal tour: nobody shares your sleigh, but other guests share the trail. For a trip with no strangers at all, the Hetta kennel sells private multi-day safaris for one to five people at the price of six places. For a private day ride, drive to Muonio, where a small company sells them from 160 euros a head.

How the operators compare

Prices are the operators' own published starting prices as of the date this guide was updated, and they change through the season.

Hetta: sleigh to yourselfHetta: private safariMuonio: private day
Other guests on the trail Can be No No
Length 6 to 20 km 2 to 8 days 8 km to a full day
Price €170 to €350 Six places, whatever the group €160 to €450 per person
Available Not stated Mainly late March and April Not stated

Nothing is marked: the three are different things sold under one word, and a lower figure here does not buy the same privacy.

Where these figures come from
  • Hetta: sleigh to yourself: A normal scheduled day tour from the Hetta kennel, with a sleigh that you do not share or that a guide drives for you.
  • Hetta: private safari: Two to eight days with your own group only, from late March into April, priced as if six people had booked.
  • Muonio: private day: A private eight or thirteen-kilometre ride or a full day, collected from accommodation in Muonio, 54 minutes from Hetta.

Asking for a private husky tour in Hetta gets you one of three things, and only one of them keeps other people off the trail for a day.

A sleigh to yourself

On any of the kennel’s day tours you can pay for a sleigh you do not share, or one a guide drives. You ride alone, but the tour runs with whoever else has booked it; the kennel describes its private trips as ones no other participants join, which is what a day tour does not promise. It is the only private element on sale for a single day in Hetta.

A private safari, for several days

The kennel’s private trips are multi-day, for one to five people, and priced at what six would pay, or four in April.1 Its booking terms confirm the rule for private bookings and set out a cancellation scale for longer trips.2

A private day, in Muonio

Wildmaker Lapland in Muonio sells husky rides for your own party only, with transport from accommodation in Muonio.3 From Hetta that means driving there first. The standard Hetta rides are compared on husky safari in Hetta.

Questions people ask

What does a private safari include?

More than the dogs. The kennel's private trips last two to eight days with two to five of them on the runners, around thirty to forty kilometres a day, and include a team of your own, clothing, guiding, accommodation on the farm or in wilderness cabins, and transfers from Enontekiö airport, and it asks every guest to fill in a form on kit, diet and health before the trip, as for its other multi-day safaris.

What if we cancel a private safari?

The kennel's booking terms for multi-day trips refund everything but the 30 per cent deposit if you cancel more than thirty days ahead, half the cost between thirty and twenty days, and nothing inside twenty days or for a no-show. Those are its terms for longer tours; it says separately that short tour bookings are generally non-refundable.

Do the Muonio private rides collect us in Hetta?

Their listing offers transport from your accommodation in Muonio, not from Hetta, so plan on driving the 54 minutes yourselves or ask the company whether it will collect further afield. The eight and thirteen-kilometre rides have two of your party sharing a sleigh and swapping drivers halfway; the full day puts one person on each sleigh and starts at fifteen.

Written by

Lapland Handbook Staff

Lapland Handbook is written by its editorial staff in Rovaniemi. Every price, age limit and group size in a comparison is read from the operator's own page and marked "Not stated" when the operator does not publish it. Each guide names who should not book, and names the operator that suits each kind of group, whichever it is.

More about Lapland Handbook →