Get 10% off every booking with code LH10

Husky and snowmobile tours from Rovaniemi

A red and black snowmobile parked in deep snow at the edge of a spruce forest, with a wooden sleigh and a passenger in a helmet behind it

The short answer

Book a combination if the trip is short and trying both is the point: its published price is lower than two tours and it uses one day, at the price of shorter halves, typically five kilometres behind the dogs and around an hour on the snowmobile. Book two separate tours, on days that are not back to back, if either activity is something you want properly. Whichever you choose, check the snowmobile damage excess, which only one of these publishes, and whether children can join both halves.

How the operators compare

Prices are the operators' own published starting prices as of the date this guide was updated, and they change through the season.

StayLapland: Kuoksa comboLapland Royal: three-part daySnowtrail: two separate tours
Price for the pair €299 – the lowest price for both activities €449, with a reindeer ride €348 for both tours
Time it takes 5 h One day, from 11:00 to an evening snowmobile tour Two half-days of 4 h
Husky half 5 km, self-driven 5 km 45–60 min, distance not stated
Snowmobile half About 1 h driving, two to a machine About 1 h driving, two to a machine 8 km, riders per machine not stated
Snowmobile to yourself Not stated €50 extra Not stated
Damage excess €900, or €250 for €25 Not stated Not stated
Pickup Within 10 km €50 each way beyond 11 km Within 10 km

Highlighted figures are the best in that row: the lowest price for both activities. Only the price for the pair carries a mark. The halves describe different amounts of each activity rather than better or worse ones, and the damage excess cannot be ranked when only one operator publishes a figure.

Where these figures come from
  • StayLapland: Kuoksa combo: Both halves in one five-hour programme in the Kuoksajärvi forest, and a meal by a campfire in a teepee.
  • Lapland Royal: three-part day: Adds a short reindeer safari to the husky and snowmobile halves, with lunch included and a supplement for a snowmobile to yourself.
  • Snowtrail: two separate tours: Snowtrail's husky safari and snowmobile safari, booked as two half-days. Where that wins and where it loses is set out in its own section below.

Tripadvisor ratings, 18 Rovaniemi operators

Highest first
Snowtrail Safaris 5.0
Nordic Odyssey 5.0
Nordic Adventures 4.9
Arctic GM 4.9
Book Lapland 4.9
Bearhill Husky 4.9
Arctic Attitude 4.9
StayLapland 4.8
Wild About Lapland 4.7
Wild Nordic 4.7
Lapland Winter Park 4.6
Safartica 4.5
Nordic Unique Travels 4.5
Apukka Resort 4.4
Lapland Welcome 4.3
Arctic Circle Snowmobile Park 4.3
Arctic Circle Husky Park 4.2
Raitola 3.4

Ratings read from Tripadvisor. The shaded compartment left of the divider holds any score below 4.0. We record the score only; review counts and review text are not part of our comparison.

Wanting to drive both huskies and a snowmobile on one trip is common enough that operators package it. Before booking the package, it is worth pricing the alternative, because the combination and two separate tours are different purchases rather than the same one sold two ways.

The case against squeezing activities together, and against running two vehicle activities back to back, is made in things to do in Rovaniemi. This page does the arithmetic on the specific pair.

What a combination saves, and what it cuts

StayLapland’s combination has the lowest published price for doing both, and it takes one day instead of two. The trade is real: its husky half is a five-kilometre run and its snowmobile half about an hour at the handlebars, shared with a second rider. Both are proper first tastes and neither is a full safari.

For a short trip, or for a group who want to try both and have no strong feeling about either, that is the right purchase.

A day of three departures

Lapland Royal Adventures’ day adds a reindeer ride and spreads the three activities across separate departure times, ending with the snowmobile at five o’clock. In December and January that is well after dark, so the snowmobile half is a night ride whether or not you wanted one. It is also the dearest option on this page and the longest day, and suits a group that wants to tick all three animals and machines off in a single date rather than one that wants to rest between them.

Two separate tours

Booking Snowtrail’s husky safari and its snowmobile safari separately costs more than StayLapland’s combination and less than the three-part day, and takes two half-days. What it buys is more of each: a husky run given as up to an hour on the sled, and a published snowmobile route, each inside its own half-day with a stop by a fire.

Both of Snowtrail’s tours also include reindeer, so a family doing both will meet reindeer twice. That is a pleasant repetition for small children and a wasted hour for adults who came for the machines.

Where Snowtrail wins and where it loses

The two-tour route wins for a group who want each activity as a proper half-day, and it lets a family put a rest day between them, which a combination cannot.

It loses on price and on time against StayLapland’s combination, and on information against both: neither Snowtrail page says how far the husky run goes, who drives, how many share a snowmobile or what the driver owes if the machine is damaged. StayLapland publishes the last of those. If a trip has three days or fewer, the combination is the sounder booking.

Questions people ask

Can children do both halves?

On all three, yes, as passengers. StayLapland's combination is not suitable for children under three, and a child shorter than 140 cm rides in the sled pulled by the snowmobile. Lapland Royal Adventures' day is suitable for children over two. Snowtrail's tours both take children from three, and on its snowmobile safari children under 145 cm ride in the sleigh. Nobody under eighteen drives the snowmobile on any of them, and none of the three pages says a child may drive the husky sled.

Will it run if there are only one or two of us?

StayLapland needs at least two bookings on weekdays and Saturdays and four on Sundays and public holidays, and Lapland Royal Adventures needs two. Snowtrail's pages do not state a minimum. A solo traveller, or a couple travelling on a Sunday or a public holiday, should ask whether the date is confirmed before building the rest of the trip around it.

What if we have to cancel?

StayLapland refunds in full until 24 hours before and charges the whole price after that, and Lapland Royal Adventures' terms charge the full amount inside 24 hours. With two separate Snowtrail tours you have two bookings, each under terms that disagree with themselves: free cancellation until 24 hours before on the tour pages, half the price from seven days out in the general terms. Ask which applies, and cancel each tour separately if plans change.

Written by

Lapland Handbook Staff

Lapland Handbook is written by its editorial staff in Rovaniemi. Every price, age limit and group size in a comparison is read from the operator's own page and marked "Not stated" when the operator does not publish it. Each guide names who should not book, and names the operator that suits each kind of group, whichever it is.

More about Lapland Handbook →