Santa Claus price from Utsjoki: what a family pays

Silver-wrapped presents with star patterns and a small silver reindeer figure standing in artificial snow among baubles

Illustration photo: Christmas decorations, not a real Santa visit.

The short answer

For a family of four, the private visit in Inari is both the cheapest paid meeting and the shortest drive. The Saariselkä afternoon costs more but fills an afternoon for children of four to fourteen, and the Ivalo reindeer farm costs most of the three for a sleigh ride to Santa. Rovaniemi's office is free, but from Utsjoki the drive makes it the dearest in time.

How the operators compare

Prices are the operators' own published starting prices as of the date this guide was updated, and they change through the season.

Inari: private visitSaariselkä: afternoonIvalo: reindeer farmRovaniemi: Santa Claus office
Priced Per family of four Per person Per group Free
Two adults, two children €275 €477 €490 Free
With a third child €325 €556.50 €980 Free
Snow gear Not stated Lent Not stated Not applicable
Drive from Utsjoki, each way 93 min – the shortest drive 149 min 125 min 320 min

Highlighted figures are the best in that row: the shortest drive. Only the drive is marked: the office is free at the door, so no total can be ranked fairly against it. Children counted here are aged four to twelve; fuel and a night away are left to you.

Where these figures come from
  • Inari: private visit: Twenty to forty minutes with Santa after a short walk, priced for a family of four.
  • Saariselkä: afternoon: Two and a half to three hours with an elf, reindeer and ten minutes with Santa, priced per person.
  • Ivalo: reindeer farm: A sleigh drawn by a snowmobile to Santa's secret spot, priced for two to four people or up to eight.
  • Rovaniemi: Santa Claus office: The office in the Santa Claus Village, free to walk into and open every day of the year.

From Utsjoki, meeting Santa costs a ticket and a drive, and the four options south price the ticket in four different ways.

Inari, priced for the family

The hotel in Inari prices its visit for two adults and two children together and adds a fixed sum for each further person, so a family knows its total before it writes to book.1

Saariselkä, priced per person

The afternoon in Saariselkä prints a fare for every age: a price for each adult, half that for a child from four to fourteen, and nothing for a child under four.2

Ivalo, priced per group

Ivalo Reindeer Farm charges one price for two to four people and double for five to eight, so a fifth person doubles the bill.3

The office that costs nothing

Rovaniemi’s Santa Claus office charges no entry at all, as meeting Santa Claus in Rovaniemi sets out. From Utsjoki it is 320 minutes away, so the free ticket comes with the longest road on this page. What else there is to do in Utsjoki is gathered on the Utsjoki destination page.

Tours you can book

Priced per person

Priced for the whole party

Questions people ask

Is anything extra to pay in Saariselkä?

The programme's page lists what the fare includes, from the elf guide and the thermal clothing to the gingerbread, both sleigh rides, the meeting in Santa's cabin and a symbolic gift, and names no extras. It does not mention photographs, so if a picture with Santa matters, ask whether you may take your own in the cabin or whether one is sold separately.

Does the Inari price cover grandparents too?

It covers a family of four, two adults and two children, and each extra person adds fifty euros, so two grandparents cost a hundred euros more between them. The page gives no maximum party size, so ask the hotel when you write to book how many people the visit can take.

Can we cancel if the road is bad?

None of the four pages shows cancellation terms for the Santa visit itself, so there is nothing published to rely on. Because the day depends on a long winter drive, ask before paying what happens if you cannot arrive, and whether the booking can be moved to another day instead of lost.

Written by

Lapland Handbook Staff

Lapland Handbook is written by its editorial staff in Rovaniemi. Every price, age limit and group size in a comparison is read from the operator's own page and marked "Not stated" when the operator does not publish it. Each guide names who should not book, and names the operator that suits each kind of group, whichever it is.

More about Lapland Handbook →