Private snowmobile tour in Inari

A small islet of tall spruces and birches rising from a wide sheet of bare grey lake ice under a cloudy sky

Illustration photo: an islet on a frozen lake, not Lake Inari.

The short answer

For a trip that is yours alone, book Inari Onnela's day on Lake Inari from Nellim, the only one sold as private. If what you want is not to share a machine, Visit Inari's two-hour trip from the village sells that for a supplement. For two to four experienced drivers, Visit Inari's overnight and archipelago safaris are priced for small groups, but neither page calls them private, so ask.

How the operators compare

Prices are the operators' own published starting prices as of the date this guide was updated, and they change through the season.

Inari Onnela, NellimVisit Inari, two hoursVisit Inari, overnightVisit Inari, archipelago
Sold as private Yes No Not stated Not stated
Machine to yourself Extra; amount not stated €37 extra Always Always
Price per person €180 €125, or €162 alone €944 to €1,485 €430
Starts Nellim Inari village Inari village Inari village

Price is not marked: a four-hour private day, a two-hour shared trip and a night in the wilderness are not the same purchase.

Where these figures come from
  • Inari Onnela, Nellim: Four hours on Lake Inari for your group alone, sold as a private group, two to a machine unless you pay extra.
  • Visit Inari, two hours: The village's first-drive trip, with a machine to yourself for a supplement; other guests may share the departure.
  • Visit Inari, overnight: Two days with a night in a cabin, a machine each, priced per person by group size from two to four; sold by enquiry.
  • Visit Inari, archipelago: Six hours among the islands with a machine each, for at least two experienced adults, sold on request.

Near Inari, one snowmobile trip is sold as private. Several more give you a machine to yourself, which is a different thing.

The one private trip

Inari Onnela runs four hours on Lake Inari for a single group, starting from Nellim on the lake’s shore.1 Where it goes and how to get there are set out on snowmobile safaris in Inari.

A machine to yourself

In the village, Visit Inari’s two-hour trip seats two to a snowmobile and sells a machine for one at 37 euros more a person.2 That gives you the handlebar throughout, on a departure other guests can book.

Priced by the group

Visit Inari’s two-day safari, with a night in a cabin, is priced per person by the size of the group, from two drivers to four,3 and its six hours among the islands need at least two experienced adults and run on request.4 Both put a machine under every driver. Neither page says the trip is closed to other bookings, so ask the office to confirm it in writing if privacy is the reason you are paying.

Which Inari trip suits which driver is on the best snowmobile tour in Inari.

Tours you can book

Questions people ask

Why does the overnight safari cost less per person in a bigger group?

Visit Inari prices it per person by the minimum group size: 1,485 euros each for two, 1,129 for three and 944 for four. The totals are 2,970, 3,387 and 3,776 euros, so a third and fourth driver add little to the bill, which suggests the guide and the cabin are the fixed part. The page does not say whether a smaller booking is joined with others.

Can we have the guide to ourselves on the two-hour trip?

Visit Inari does not sell it that way, and in season the minimum is one adult, so a party of two could in principle be the only booking on a date. The safari office lists special requests among its winter programmes and takes enquiries by email and at its receptions; ask there for a private departure and a price before you count on one.

Does the fell lodge sell a private day?

Muotkan Ruoktu, the lodge on Route 92, sells a one-day snowmobile expedition on its own site beside its two- and three-hour trips, with its two guides promising to go at your pace. The page prints no price and no group size, and asks you to check availability through its contact form or by phone, so treat it as a request rather than a product.

Written by

Lapland Handbook Staff

Lapland Handbook is written by its editorial staff in Rovaniemi. Every price, age limit and group size in a comparison is read from the operator's own page and marked "Not stated" when the operator does not publish it. Each guide names who should not book, and names the operator that suits each kind of group, whichever it is.

More about Lapland Handbook →