Husky safari prices in Levi

A pale sled dog in a harness standing on snow with its eyes half shut and tongue out, chained beside other harnessed dogs and a water bowl

Illustration photo: sled dogs in harness, not from one of the kennels priced here.

The short answer

Price a husky ride by the trail it buys and by the whole party, not by one ticket. The short run looks cheap and costs the most for each kilometre; the long safaris cost the least per kilometre but the most in total. Check whether two people share a sled, because then two tickets buy one sled, and ask for a child fare before booking, since the listings show one per-person price.

How the operators compare

Prices are the operators' own published starting prices as of the date this guide was updated, and they change through the season.

Levisafari & co: 2 kmKeo Wilderness: 5 kmArctic Circle Snowmobile Park: 7 kmPolar Lights Tours: 15 km
Price €95 – the lowest price per person €150 €199 €368
Trail 2 km 5 km 7 km 15 km
Price per km of trail €47.50 €30.00 €28.43 €24.53 – the lowest price per kilometre
Length of the tour 1 h 2 h 3 h 3 h
People per team Not stated Not stated Two Two
Pick-up in Levi Not stated From a meeting point From set points From the centre
Winter clothing Not stated Not stated Included Not stated
Four people at the listed price €380 €600 €796 €1,472
Youngest allowed Not stated 4 Not stated 4

Highlighted figures are the best in that row: the lowest price per person and the lowest price per kilometre. All four price per person. The four-person total multiplies that price by four, because our record of each listing holds one per-person price; ask for a child fare before booking. Only the price and the price per kilometre are marked.

Where these figures come from
  • Levisafari & co: 2 km: The lowest ticket and the dearest kilometre: two kilometres for 95 euros, in a group of eight at most. A first taste rather than a ride; the listing does not say whether you drive alone or share.
  • Keo Wilderness: 5 km: Five kilometres with the van from a meeting point in the village to the kennel included. Its listing also sets personal limits: no one over 70 or over 95 kg.
  • Arctic Circle Snowmobile Park: 7 km: The ticket that includes most, pick-up and winter clothing, with two people to each team. Per kilometre it is cheaper than the five-kilometre run, but two tickets buy one sled.
  • Polar Lights Tours: 15 km: The longest run and the lowest price per kilometre, with pick-up from the centre. It is also the highest total: nearly 1,500 euros for four, and two people share each team.

A husky ticket in Levi is priced per person, and the listings put the price in large type and the distance in small. Read the other way round, the order of the four in the table reverses.

Per kilometre, the cheapest ticket is the dearest ride

Levisafari & co’s two-kilometre run costs 95 euros, which is 47.50 euros for each kilometre of trail. Keo Wilderness’ five kilometres come to 30 euros a kilometre, the Snowmobile Park’s seven to 28.43, and Polar Lights Tours’ fifteen to 24.53. Lapland Safaris’ ten-kilometre safari, sold on its own site at 247 euros, lands at 24.70. The longer the trail, the less each kilometre costs, and the gap between the shortest and the longest run is almost two to one.

That makes the short run the right buy only when a first taste is all you want. For anyone who already knows they like it, the ride is in the longer tickets.

Two to a team: two tickets, one sled

The Snowmobile Park and Polar Lights both put two people on each team. Each of you still pays the full ticket, so one sled costs 398 euros on the seven-kilometre run and 736 euros on the fifteen. Neither listing says how the driving is split between the two. The other two listings do not say whether you share, which is worth one question before you pay, because it decides what a kilometre really costs you.

What four people pay

Our record of the four listings holds one per-person price each, so the table multiplies that price by four: 380 euros for the short run, 600 for Keo, 796 for the Snowmobile Park and 1,472 for the fifteen kilometres. Lapland Safaris sells separate adult and child places, adults from 15 and children from four to 14, but its page shows the child price only once a date is chosen. Keo and Polar Lights take nobody under four, so with a toddler, ask the other two first.

What the ticket leaves out

Transport and clothing. Keo includes the van from a meeting point in the village; the Snowmobile Park and Polar Lights include a pick-up; the two-kilometre listing says nothing. Levisafari & co’s five-kilometre ride, from the same operator, lists the journey to the kennel in Kittilä as not included, so budget for a taxi if you have no car. Of the four, only the Snowmobile Park’s listing says winter clothing is included. If you have none, add the cost of hiring it to every other price here.

Which kennel suits which group, not what each costs, is argued on the best husky tour in Levi, and who runs the kennels, including the resort’s pure-bred Siberian teams, is on the husky kennels in Levi. The rest of the resort is on the Levi destination page.

Which ride takes a child of which age, and whether a parent has to drive the dogs, is set out in husky safaris in Levi for families.

The cheapest husky booking we have found in this corner of Lapland is not a safari at all: a 45-minute kennel visit about an hour away, at 20 euros a head, is on husky farm in Muonio.

Tours you can book

Questions people ask

Is there a weight or upper age limit on a Levi husky ride?

On some listings, and they differ more than you would expect. Keo Wilderness lists its five-kilometre ride as unsuitable for people over 70 and over 95 kg, as well as children under four. Levisafari & co's five-kilometre ride is marked unsuitable for people over 140 kg and babies under one. Our notes from the other listings record no weight rule, so ask if it matters.

What do I lose if I cancel?

It depends on where you book. Lapland Safaris, which sells its ten-kilometre safari on its own site, charges a 25-euro fee for each reservation cancelled 72 hours or more before departure, and keeps the full price if you cancel later or do not turn up. On GetYourGuide the terms are shown on each listing before you pay and are not the same for every tour, so read them there rather than assuming.

Does the price change from week to week?

Not on the dates we could see. Lapland Safaris' calendar for January 2027 showed 247 euros as the lowest price on every date it marked as bookable, the same figure as its headline price, with departures on Tuesdays, Thursdays and Saturdays at 9.45. The marketplace listings show a starting price rather than a calendar, so the figure for your date appears only when you choose one.

Written by

Lapland Handbook Staff

Lapland Handbook is written by its editorial staff in Rovaniemi. Every price, age limit and group size in a comparison is read from the operator's own page and marked "Not stated" when the operator does not publish it. Each guide names who should not book, and names the operator that suits each kind of group, whichever it is.

More about Lapland Handbook →