- Home
- Destinations
- Levi
- Husky safaris in Levi for families
Husky safaris in Levi for families
Illustration photo: sled dogs at a kennel, not from one of the kennels named here.
The short answer
Start with your youngest child and whether you want to drive. With a toddler, choose a ride whose listing takes children from one or seats them in a sledge behind the guide. From four, the self-drive runs open up, with a child riding in the sled while a parent drives. If nobody wants to steer, pick the ride where the guide holds the sled.
How the operators compare
Prices are the operators' own published starting prices as of the date this guide was updated, and they change through the season.
| Levisafari & co: 5 km | Polar Lights Tours: combo | Arctic Circle Snowmobile Park: day | Lapland Safaris: 10 km | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Youngest child | 1 | Not stated | Not stated | 4 |
| Who steers the dogs | You | The guide | Not stated | You |
| Husky distance | 5 km | 1.5 km | 500 m | 10 km |
| Price | €150 – the lowest price per person | €169 | €198 | €247 |
| Four people at the listed price | €600 – the lowest total for four | €676 | €792 | €988 |
| Winter clothing | Bring your own | Not stated | Included | Not stated |
-
Levisafari & co: 5 km
- Youngest child
- 1
- Who steers the dogs
- You
- Husky distance
- 5 km
- Price
- €150 – the lowest price per person
- Four people at the listed price
- €600 – the lowest total for four
- Winter clothing
- Bring your own
A self-drive run whose listing turns away only babies under one. You bring the snow clothing, and the kennel is in Kittilä without a transfer.
-
Polar Lights Tours: combo
- Youngest child
- Not stated
- Who steers the dogs
- The guide
- Husky distance
- 1.5 km
- Price
- €169
- Four people at the listed price
- €676
- Winter clothing
- Not stated
The guide steers the dogs for 1.5 km, then a reindeer ride of 500 m, with pick-up from the centre. The listing sets no age.
-
Arctic Circle Snowmobile Park: day
- Youngest child
- Not stated
- Who steers the dogs
- Not stated
- Husky distance
- 500 m
- Price
- €198
- Four people at the listed price
- €792
- Winter clothing
- Included
A four-hour day with a 500-metre husky ride, a reindeer ride and a snowmobile, where children travel in a sledge behind the guide. Overalls and boots are lent.
-
Lapland Safaris: 10 km
- Youngest child
- 4
- Who steers the dogs
- You
- Husky distance
- 10 km
- Price
- €247
- Four people at the listed price
- €988
- Winter clothing
- Not stated
A longer self-drive safari with a child place from four to 14, sold on the operator's own site. The dearest of the four for a family.
Highlighted figures are the best in that row: the lowest price per person and the lowest total for four. All four price per person and our record of each listing holds one price, so the family total multiplies it by four; ask for a child fare. Only the prices are marked.
Where these figures come from
- Levisafari & co: 5 km getyourguide.com read Sep 22, 2026
- Polar Lights Tours: combo getyourguide.com read Sep 22, 2026
- Arctic Circle Snowmobile Park: day getyourguide.com read Sep 22, 2026
- Lapland Safaris: 10 km laplandsafaris.com read Sep 22, 2026
- Levisafari & co: 5 km: A self-drive run whose listing turns away only babies under one. You bring the snow clothing, and the kennel is in Kittilä without a transfer.
- Polar Lights Tours: combo: The guide steers the dogs for 1.5 km, then a reindeer ride of 500 m, with pick-up from the centre. The listing sets no age.
- Arctic Circle Snowmobile Park: day: A four-hour day with a 500-metre husky ride, a reindeer ride and a snowmobile, where children travel in a sledge behind the guide. Overalls and boots are lent.
- Lapland Safaris: 10 km: A longer self-drive safari with a child place from four to 14, sold on the operator's own site. The dearest of the four for a family.
A family choosing a husky ride in Levi usually has two questions the price cannot answer: will the kennel take our youngest, and does one of us have to drive the dogs? The listings answer both, but in different places and not always.
With a toddler
Levisafari & co’s five-kilometre run is the one self-drive ride here whose listing turns away only babies under one. It costs 150 euros a person, 600 for four, you bring your own snow clothing, and the kennel is in Kittilä with no transfer, so a family without a car needs a taxi. The listing does not say how a small child rides, so ask before booking.
Arctic Circle Snowmobile Park’s four-hour day is the other way in: its listing seats children in a sledge behind the guide’s snowmobile, and the husky part is a 500-metre ride. With overalls and boots lent and pick-up included, it costs 198 euros a person, 792 for four.
If nobody wants to drive
Polar Lights Tours’ combination puts the guide on the sled for a 1.5-kilometre husky run, then a 500-metre reindeer ride, with pick-up from the centre, for 169 euros a person, 676 for four. The listing sets no age, so check with the operator before booking with a very young child.
From four
The longer self-drive runs start here. Lapland Safaris sells a child place from four to 14 on its ten-kilometre safari, at 247 euros for an adult, and gives instructions on controlling the sled before you set off. Keo Wilderness and Polar Lights Tours’ fifteen-kilometre run also take children from four.
Which kennel suits your group on everything but age is argued in the best husky tour in Levi, and what each run costs per kilometre in husky safari prices in Levi. The rest of the resort is on the Levi destination page.
Tours you can book
5 km self-drive husky run by Lake Rautusjärvi, with transfer
Run by Keo Wilderness
From €150per person
Length2 h
Book now on GetYourGuide(opens in a new tab)Drive your own team for 5 km at a small kennel
Run by Levisafari & co
From €150per person
Length1.5 h
Book now on GetYourGuide(opens in a new tab)A 1.5 km husky ride steered by the guide, then 500 m by reindeer
Run by Polar Lights Tours
From €169per person
Length2 h
Book now on GetYourGuide(opens in a new tab)Huskies, reindeer and a shared snowmobile in four hours
Run by Arctic Circle Snowmobile Park Levi
From €198per person
Length4 h
Book now on GetYourGuide(opens in a new tab)A 10 km husky safari, booked with the operator directly
Run by Lapland Safaris
From €247per person
Length2.5 h
See it on the operator’s site(opens in a new tab)
Questions people ask
Can a child ride in the sled while a parent drives?
The listings do not describe it in those words, but two point that way. Lapland Safaris sells a child place from four to 14 on its ten-kilometre self-drive safari, and Polar Lights Tours puts two people on each team on its fifteen-kilometre run and takes children from four. Ask the kennel how a child rides before booking, because a sled carrying a child and an adult handles differently.
Is there an upper limit for grandparents?
On one listing. Keo Wilderness marks its five-kilometre ride as unsuitable for people over 70 and over 95 kg. Levisafari & co sets a weight limit of 140 kg and no upper age, and the other listings we read set neither. If a grandparent is coming, the rides where the guide steers are the gentler choice.
What should small children wear?
More than they need in the resort. Arctic Circle Snowmobile Park lends overalls, boots and gloves on its husky and reindeer day, and Levisafari & co asks you to bring snow clothing yourself. A sled ride is sitting still in moving air, so a child who is warm walking can be cold within minutes. Bring a spare pair of mittens for each child.