Husky safari price in Enontekiö: per ride, per kilometre, per family

Several sled dogs resting in a raised wooden shelter in a snowy fenced yard, mountains behind

Illustration photo: a kennel yard in winter, not the Hetta kennel.

The short answer

Read the list by distance and the longer rides are better value: the six-kilometre ride costs about 16 euros a kilometre for an adult, the twenty and thirty-kilometre ones about 10. A family of two adults and two children aged three to twelve pays from 200 euros on the taster to 960 on the thirty-kilometre day. Treat the booking as final, because short tours are generally not refunded.

How the operators compare

Prices are the operators' own published starting prices as of the date this guide was updated, and they change through the season.

Taster Ride, 2 kmSilent Landscapes, 6 kmMagic of Winter, 20 kmCall of the Wild, 30 km
Adult price per km €30 about €16 about €10 – the lowest price per kilometre for an adult sharing a sleigh about €10 – the lowest price per kilometre for an adult sharing a sleigh
Two adults, two children €200 €330 €680 €960
Food on the way Not stated Not stated Cheese and forest cakes Drinks, sandwiches, snacks

Highlighted figures are the best in that row: the lowest price per kilometre for an adult sharing a sleigh. Per-kilometre figures divide each published adult price for a shared sleigh by the published distance. Family totals add two adult and two child fares (ages three to twelve) and are not marked, because a longer ride is a different outing, not a worse price.

Where these figures come from
  • Taster Ride, 2 km: Ten to fifteen minutes in the sleigh round the kennel's own land, with a guide to drive when one is free.
  • Silent Landscapes, 6 km: About three quarters of an hour of driving on the kennel's first full trail, in an hour and a half overall.
  • Magic of Winter, 20 km: About two and a half hours of driving with a stop for cheese and forest cakes in a wilderness cabin.
  • Call of the Wild, 30 km: Five hours, three and a half to four of them driving, with hot drinks, sandwiches and snacks in a cabin.

The kennel in Hetta publishes an adult price, a child price and a price for a sleigh to yourself on every ride, which lets the list be read two useful ways.

Per kilometre

Divided by distance, the adult price falls steadily as the rides get longer, so the taster is the dearest kilometre on the list and the two long days the cheapest. If the budget stretches, time on the runners is the cheaper thing to add.

Per family

For two adults sharing a sleigh and two children aged three to twelve, the published fares add up to between 200 euros on the taster and 960 on the thirty-kilometre day.1 The kennel publishes no fare for a child under three, who rides with a parent.

The rule that matters more

Short tour bookings are generally non-refundable, and payment is taken at the kennel before the tour.2 Book the date you are sure of. The rides themselves are compared on husky safari in Hetta.

Questions people ask

Is Hetta cheaper than the kennels in Muonio?

For a shared sleigh, yes, on the figures published. Muonio's private eight-kilometre ride costs 160 euros a head and its private thirteen-kilometre ride 200, against 95 for six kilometres and 160 for twelve on a shared sleigh in Hetta. The Muonio rides are private and include transport from accommodation in Muonio, which the Hetta day tours do not, so the gap buys something.

Are there costs on top of the price?

Possibly clothing. The kennel's own questions page says your own winter clothing is often fine on the shorter rides and that its multi-day safaris include clothing and boots, and it refers day guests to a separate hire page, which did not load when we read it. Transport to the farm is not mentioned in the day prices, so budget for getting there.

What does a sleigh to yourself add?

Between 40 and 145 euros a head, depending on the ride. The kennel prices a solo or guide-driven sleigh at 100 euros on the taster against 60 shared, 170 against 95 on the six-kilometre ride, 350 against 205 on the twenty and 375 against 305 on the thirty. On the longest day the supplement is the smallest share of the price, which is where going alone costs least in proportion.

Written by

Lapland Handbook Staff

Lapland Handbook is written by its editorial staff in Rovaniemi. Every price, age limit and group size in a comparison is read from the operator's own page and marked "Not stated" when the operator does not publish it. Each guide names who should not book, and names the operator that suits each kind of group, whichever it is.

More about Lapland Handbook →