Husky safari prices in Sodankylä

Three Siberian huskies resting and sitting on packed snow beside bare trees, with a wire fence running behind them

Illustration photo: huskies resting in the snow, not from one of the visits priced here.

The short answer

If you want to meet the dogs and are driving yourself, the 41-euro farm visit at Vuojärvi is the whole of what most families need, and 125 euros adds a hike with a husky of your own. Paying for a sled is a separate decision: it starts at 205 euros for a ten-minute ride from the bus station, and a real run of eight to ten kilometres with a pickup from your address is 300. Only above 200 euros does anything here include the ride.

How the operators compare

Prices are the operators' own published starting prices as of the date this guide was updated, and they change through the season.

Huskygorod: farm visitHuskygorod: forest hikeArctic SISU: farm visitArctic SISU: 10 km safari
Price €41 – the lowest price per person €125 €205 €300
Duration 1.5 h 2.5 h 2 h 3 h
On a sled None None 10 minutes 8–10 km
What you do with the dogs Guided walk among them A husky each on the hike Meet and pet, then ride Ride or drive the sled
Youngest child Not stated 10 years 5 years 4 years
Getting there Your own car, Vuojärvi Your own car Sodankylä bus station Pickup from your address

Highlighted figures are the best in that row: the lowest price per person. All four price a child the same as an adult, so a family total is the price times the number of heads. The sled column reports what the listing itself puts on the sled, not the length of the visit.

Where these figures come from
  • Huskygorod: farm visit: Ninety minutes at a family farm in Vuojärvi with a guided walk among the dogs, drinks and treats. No sled, and you drive yourself there.
  • Huskygorod: forest hike: The only listing here that gives each guest a dog of their own, on a hands-free belt for a 2.5 to 3 km walk, with a campfire after.
  • Arctic SISU: farm visit: The cheapest way onto a sled, though the ride is ten minutes. Meets at the bus station, so no car is needed, and it hands out a certificate.
  • Arctic SISU: 10 km safari: Two hours of it on the trail, with the chance to drive, and a pickup from your accommodation. The dearest ticket and the only long run here.

Huskies in Sodankylä are sold at four levels, and the step that costs the most is the sled. Forty-one euros buys ninety minutes at a farm; the first ticket with a sled in it is 205.

What each level adds

At 41 euros the Vuojärvi farm visit is a guided walk among the dogs with drinks and treats, and nothing more is promised. At 125 the same farm adds a real outing: a husky each on a hands-free belt for two and a half to three kilometres of forest, then a campfire. At 205 the dogs pull instead of walk, though only for ten minutes, and at 300 they pull for two hours over eight to ten kilometres with the chance to take the reins.

Where the money goes

Between the 41-euro visit and the 205-euro one there is 164 euros, and what it buys is ten minutes behind a team plus a meeting point in the village rather than a farm you must drive to. That is the honest shape of husky pricing here: the dogs are cheap to meet and expensive to harness. If the ride is the point, the 300-euro safari gives two hours of it and a pickup from your accommodation, and Arctic Wonders sells a ten-kilometre run of its own for 297.

What none of them include

Warm clothing. Arctic SISU marks thermal layers as not included on both of its listings, and neither Huskygorod listing mentions clothing at all. Nor does any of the four cut the price for a child, so a family of four pays four full fares, which is worth working out before booking the level above the one you wanted.

Which of the long rides suits you is set out on husky safari in Sodankylä, and the rest of what the village sells is on the Sodankylä destination page.

Tours you can book

Questions people ask

Is the 41-euro price a discount?

On the day we read it the listing showed a struck-through 45 euros beside the 41, which is how that platform marks a reduced price, so the higher figure is the one to expect if the offer ends. Either way the farm is at Vuojärvi and the listing does not include transport, so a taxi or a hire car is part of the real cost for anyone without a vehicle.

Which of these lend winter clothing?

None of the four. Arctic SISU lists thermal layers as not included on both its visits, and the two Huskygorod listings say nothing about clothing at all, which in our reading means you should assume your own. The one husky trip in Sodankylä that does lend overalls, boots and gloves is Arctic Wonders' ten-kilometre safari at 297 euros, which is three euros under the SISU run of the same length.

How young can a child be?

The sled rides take the youngest guests: Arctic SISU sets four as the minimum on its safaris and five on the farm visit with the short ride. The forest hike is the strictest at ten years, which makes sense when each walker holds a dog on a belt for two and a half to three kilometres. The Vuojärvi farm visit states no minimum age in the listing we read.

Written by

Lapland Handbook Staff

Lapland Handbook is written by its editorial staff in Rovaniemi. Every price, age limit and group size in a comparison is read from the operator's own page and marked "Not stated" when the operator does not publish it. Each guide names who should not book, and names the operator that suits each kind of group, whichever it is.

More about Lapland Handbook →