Santa Claus price from Tornio: what a family actually pays

A small figurine of a girl in a red dress and gold crown sitting on wrapped presents with red ribbons in the snow, a large pine cone behind

Illustration photo: a Christmas figurine and gifts in the snow, not at the places named here.

The short answer

Budget 47 euros for everyone aged four or over at Ylitornio, nothing for the under-fours, and more if you add the craft session or a printed photo. Book on the platform if you want free cancellation up to a day before, since the station's own page gives no refund terms. If the price matters most, Rovaniemi's office is free for everyone and charges only for the photographs, which you do not have to buy.

How the operators compare

Prices are the operators' own published starting prices as of the date this guide was updated, and they change through the season.

Santa Station, own booking pageSanta Station, on GetYourGuideSanta Claus Office, Rovaniemi
Entry €47 per person €47 per person Free
Under-fours Free (0–3) Not stated Free
Two adults, a child of 6, a child of 2 €141 Not stated Free
Extras with prices Craft session €15–18; cooking for two €59 Five extras listed, no prices Photos from €55 for up to 5
Free cancellation Not stated Up to 24 h before Nothing to book

The family row is worked out only where a page prints the rule for children. The office's photo prices come from its own pricing page as recorded on this site's Rovaniemi Santa guide.

Where these figures come from
  • Santa Station, own booking page: The station's own page: the day ticket, free entry for children up to three, and two extras with prices.
  • Santa Station, on GetYourGuide: The same day ticket on the booking platform, with free cancellation and a list of extras that may cost more, without their prices.
  • Santa Claus Office, Rovaniemi: Free to walk into every day of the year. The office sells photographs and video of the meeting, with no obligation to buy.

The Santa bill from Tornio has three parts: the ticket, the extras, and which channel you buy through.

One ticket, two channels

The Santa station in Ylitornio charges 47 euros a head on its own site and on the booking platform alike. What differs is what each channel tells you. The station’s own page prints the rule for children, that under-fours go free, and the prices of its two paid sessions.1 The platform listing gives the refund terms and names five things that can cost extra, from skating to a printed photo, without saying what they cost.2 A family needs both pages open to know the full bill.

Where the extras add up

The day ticket already covers Santa, the reindeer, gingerbread and crafts, so nothing on the list of extras is necessary. The ones most likely to be spent on a family day are the café and the photograph, and the photograph is the one with no published price. Take your own camera and the cost of the day is close to the ticket price.

The free option

Rovaniemi’s office costs nothing to enter, and its only sale is the photographs. How the meeting works is on meeting Santa Claus in Rovaniemi.

Tours you can book

Questions people ask

Is the drive the biggest cost?

For the free office in Rovaniemi it is the only cost unless you buy photographs: 123 kilometres each way from Tornio, against 63 to Ylitornio. This site does not put a figure on fuel, which depends on your car, but the Rovaniemi round trip is roughly twice the Ylitornio one in distance, and that is worth setting against three or four Ylitornio tickets.

Can we buy the Ylitornio ticket at the gate?

Neither the station's own booking page nor the platform listing says whether tickets are sold on the day at the gate. The platform sells a dated ticket with free cancellation up to 24 hours before, which is the safest option if your plans might change. If you want to decide on the morning, ask the station directly, using the sales contact on its booking page.

Do the Rovaniemi photographs have to be bought?

No. The office states that there is no obligation to buy them. A downloadable set starts at 55 euros for up to five people, with each extra person at 5 euros, an extra photo file at 25 euros, a printed A4 at 40 euros and a set of five A6 prints at 50 euros. Decide before you go which, if any, you want, so the moment does not make the decision for you.

Written by

Lapland Handbook Staff

Lapland Handbook is written by its editorial staff in Rovaniemi. Every price, age limit and group size in a comparison is read from the operator's own page and marked "Not stated" when the operator does not publish it. Each guide names who should not book, and names the operator that suits each kind of group, whichever it is.

More about Lapland Handbook →