Family snowmobile safari in Levi: which one takes your children

Two people on a white snowmobile in the foreground of a snowfield, with more riders and machines behind them under a pale sky

Illustration photo: snowmobiles on a snowfield, not on one of the safaris compared here.

The short answer

If your children want to drive, book Arctic Circle Snowmobile Park's family safari: after an hour in a sled behind the guide, children aged 4 to 12 get ten minutes on mini snowmobiles on a track. For a toddler, the same company's ice fishing trip takes children from one. Safartica's two hours seat children from four in a sledge behind the guide. Lapland Safaris sells child fares from two but does not say how children travel, so ask.

How the operators compare

Prices are the operators' own published starting prices as of the date this guide was updated, and they change through the season.

Arctic Circle Snowmobile Park: 1.5 hLapland Safaris: 2 hSafartica: 2 hArctic Circle Snowmobile Park: 3 h
Adult price €109 – the lowest adult price €120 €126 €189
Length 1.5 h 2 h 2 h 3 h
Youngest child From 4 From 2 From 4 From 1
Where children ride Sled behind the guide Not stated Sledge behind the guide Sled behind the guide
Children drive 10 min on a mini snowmobile, ages 4–12 Not in the listing Not in the listing Not in the listing
Winter clothing Included Not stated Included Included

Highlighted figures are the best in that row: the lowest adult price. All four price per adult with two adults sharing a snowmobile; child fares are shown only once you choose a date. Only price is marked, and a youngest age is a limit, not a recommendation.

Where these figures come from
  • Arctic Circle Snowmobile Park: 1.5 h: The one that lets children drive: ten minutes on mini snowmobiles on a track for ages 4 to 12 and up to 135 cm, after an hour in which they ride in a sled and the adults drive. The lowest adult price.
  • Lapland Safaris: 2 h: Labelled family friendly and sold with child fares from age two, the youngest of the three day safaris. Its page does not say how children travel or show the child price until you choose a date.
  • Safartica: 2 h: Two hours in the forest with children aged 4 to 14 in a sledge behind the guide, and winter clothing for everyone.
  • Arctic Circle Snowmobile Park: 3 h: The youngest age of all, from one, in a sled behind the guide with a parent beside a small child, and three hours with fishing on a frozen lake in the middle.

No child drives a full-size snowmobile on these tours, so a family safari is two adults sharing a machine while the children ride in a sled towed behind the guide’s snowmobile. The listings differ on the age at which a child may come, and one adds a short turn at the controls of a machine built for children.

If the children want to drive

Arctic Circle Snowmobile Park’s family safari is the one. The adults drive for an hour with the children in a sled behind the guide, then children aged 4 to 12, up to 135 centimetres tall, get ten minutes on mini snowmobiles on a track at its park. Winter clothing is lent to everyone, and an adult without a driving licence may ride in the sled if there is room.

With a toddler

The youngest children are taken on the same company’s snowmobile ice fishing trip, from age one, in a sled with a parent recommended beside a small child. It lasts three hours, which is long for a small child in the cold, so it suits a family that already knows how its youngest copes. Lapland Safaris sells child fares from age two on its two-hour safari, the youngest of the day safaris, but the page does not say how they travel.

In the evening

Two aurora snowmobile evenings take children too, listed under the table. Tokka Safaris sells a child ticket that is a seat in a sleigh, from age three, and Safartica seats children aged 4 to 14 in a sledge. They are compared, with what the evening includes, in northern lights snowmobile tours in Levi.

The same day safaris for adults are compared in snowmobile safaris in Levi, and the fishing trip in snowmobile and ice fishing in Levi. What a family snowmobile safari involves in general is in family snowmobile safaris in Rovaniemi. The rest of the resort is on the Levi destination page.

What an hour of driving costs on each safari, what one machine costs for two riders and what a family of four pays are worked out in snowmobile safari prices in Levi.

Which aurora evening takes a child of which age, from babies to twelve, and what a family of four pays, is set out in northern lights tours in Levi for families.

Tours you can book

Questions people ask

What does a child pay?

The listings do not say on the parts of the page that open without a date. The GetYourGuide tours show the adult price and ask you to choose participants, and Lapland Safaris lists separate fares for children aged 4 to 14 and 2 to 3 without printing them until you pick a day. Add the children to the booking form before you compare, because the adult price alone is not the family's price.

Can an older child sit on the snowmobile behind a parent?

Sometimes. Safartica and Arctic Circle Snowmobile Park both mention the option for a child over 140 centimetres instead of the sled, and Safartica adds that the child must be strong enough to hold on. On the Kinos Safaris ice fishing trip a child of 12 or older and over 120 centimetres may ride behind the driving adult. Ask on the day if your child is close to the limit.

Where does a parent sit?

With two adults, one drives and the other can swap in when both hold a licence, while the children ride in the guide's sled. Arctic Circle Snowmobile Park recommends on its ice fishing trip that a parent sits in the sled with a small child, and on its family safari an adult without a licence may ride in the sled, subject to space. Ask when booking if you want to sit with your child.

Written by

Lapland Handbook Staff

Lapland Handbook is written by its editorial staff in Rovaniemi. Every price, age limit and group size in a comparison is read from the operator's own page and marked "Not stated" when the operator does not publish it. Each guide names who should not book, and names the operator that suits each kind of group, whichever it is.

More about Lapland Handbook →