Snowmobile safari prices in Pyhä-Luosto: per hour and per machine

A snowmobile rider in a blue suit airborne above a resort, with mountains behind

Illustration photo: a snowmobile jump, not in Pyhä-Luosto.

The short answer

For the most riding per euro, book the full day over the fells or the guided tour with pick-up; both cost far less per hour than the short trip to the amethyst mine. If you want a machine of your own, price it before you choose, because the supplement differs by trip and is not always printed. Where a trip sells a damage waiver, it costs little next to what you could owe without it.

How the operators compare

Prices are the operators' own published starting prices as of the date this guide was updated, and they change through the season.

Guided tour, with pick-upAmethyst mineDay over the fellsPrivate farm ride
Adult ticket From €99 – lowest adult ticket From €163 From €257 From €259
Length 2 to 3 h 2 h 6.5 h 4 h
Per hour €33 to €50 €82 €40 €65
Own snowmobile Offered, price not printed €50 extra €85 extra One more place booked
Damage liability Not stated Up to €980; waiver sold Not stated Not stated

Highlighted figures are the best in that row: lowest adult ticket. The hour figures include stops at the mine, the farm and lunch, not only time riding. The guided tour's range comes from its two-to-three-hour length, so the per-hour row carries no mark.

Where these figures come from
  • Guided tour, with pick-up: Two to three hours on a shared snowmobile with gear lent and a warm drink, collected from your door.
  • Amethyst mine: Two hours with a visit to the amethyst mine and a stone to dig out, entrance included.
  • Day over the fells: Six and a half hours and about 100 km of track between Luosto and Pyhä, with lunch.
  • Private farm ride: Four hours for one group, with a reindeer farm and a stew in a restaurant on the way.

Divided by its hours, the cheapest ticket is not the only good buy.

The short trips

AapaMoments’ guided tour lends the gear and collects you.1 Lapland Safaris’ trip to the amethyst mine includes the entrance and a guided tour of the mine, so part of its time is spent off the machine.2

The long ones

Lapland Safaris’ day over the fells stops for lunch on the way,3 and UniQ Lapland’s private ride includes the reindeer farm and a meal in a restaurant for a group of up to seven.4

Children’s fares on the Luosto trips are on the family snowmobile safari in Luosto.

Tours you can book

Questions people ask

Is fuel included?

On the Lapland Safaris trips and on the private farm ride, yes: both list fuel or petrol among what the price covers. The guided tour with pick-up lists the ride, the guide, thermal gear and a warm drink, and says nothing either way about fuel, so ask.

What can we cancel for free?

The guided tour with pick-up and the private farm ride are sold through a booking platform with free cancellation until a day before. Lapland Safaris charges 25 euros for a cancellation eight days or more ahead and the full price from seven days before, so book its trips once your dates are firm.

Does the price change on busy dates?

Lapland Safaris' booking calendar shows a higher price on some days around New Year than on the rest of January, so the lowest price is for ordinary dates. Check the calendar for your own days rather than relying on the price shown first, and book early if you travel over New Year.

Written by

Lapland Handbook Staff

Lapland Handbook is written by its editorial staff in Rovaniemi. Every price, age limit and group size in a comparison is read from the operator's own page and marked "Not stated" when the operator does not publish it. Each guide names who should not book, and names the operator that suits each kind of group, whichever it is.

More about Lapland Handbook →